Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Start with overviews
The best way to start a research project is by reading overviews of your topic. An overview is a text that summarizes the basic facts about your topic.
Examples of overviews:
- Encyclopedia articles
- Study guides
An overview is just a starting point. Don't cite overviews. The reason why we don't cite overviews is that they don't provide any original information -- they only give you a condensed summary of what other people have said about the topic. Instead of citing an overview, read the overview and write down clues that you could search for in Quest or the library databases, to find sources that you can cite.
Clues you might find in overviews:
- The names of important people, places, and things.
- Other sources that you could cite (listed as citations).
A reference book is a book that contains short overviews or summaries of many topics. Encyclopedias are the most common type of reference book. You can find reference books in the Reference section, which is on the first floor of Simpson Library.
Fashions in Hair by
Call Number: Simpson Stacks GT 2290 .C6 2001
Publication Date: 2001
Available on the 3rd floor in the Stacks
History of Beauty by
Call Number: Simpson Stacks BH 81 .H57 2004
Publication Date: 2004
Available on the 3rd floor in the Stacks
International Encyclopedia of Dance by Since the dawn of human history, dance has been a vital form of expression in virtually every culture. From the minuet to the tango to kabuki theater to square dancing, it is a part of the social fabric of all societies, as well as an important art form. Now, Oxford presents the firstreference to document all types of dance around the world and throughout history.In six volumes, with nearly 2,000 articles written by scholars from over fifty countries, the International Encyclopedia of Dance offers authoritative coverage of the full spectrum of dance, including theatrical dance, ritual dance-drama, folk, traditional, ethnic, and social dance. Extensivehistorical and cultural overviews of many nations appear along with articles on specific dance forms, music and costumes, dance performances, biographies of dancers and choreographers, and much more. The set is alphabetically arranged, with an exhaustive index, full cross-references, and more than2,000 illustrations.Amazing in its scope and dazzling in its diversity, the International Encyclopedia of Dance is like no other reference work on dance. Accessibly written and arranged for use by a wide audience, it will be an essential addition to any arts and humanities collection.
Call Number: Simpson Reference GV 1585 .I586 1998
Publication Date: 1998-03-26
The Oxford Dictionary of Dance by Over the last twenty years the boundaries of dance have been radically redrawn. There has been an explosion of new activity within traditional forms like ballet, a stream of new dance languages invented by fresh generations of choreographers, and there is a growing appreciation in the West ofdance forms from the rest of the world. Fans today are likely to attend performances in classical ballet, Spanish flamenco, Indian Bharata Natyam, Japanese Butoh, jazz, modern and post-modern dance. In classical ballet they may see companies as varied as the New York City Ballet, Bolshoi, or ParisOpera. In modern dance they may see work that stems from the Graham or the Cunningham schools of movement; while in post-modern dance they may be watching choreographers who mix influences as varied as folk dance, T'ai Chi, Balanchine, and Mary Wigman, or who may be practitioners of Eurocrash,minimalism, contact improvisation or release.This new dictionary by two leading and authoritative writers on dance will provide the information necessary for dance fans to navigate the diverse modern dance scene. With an emphasis on performance the dance we see in theatres today - readers will find both fact and analysis on a wide range ofsubjects from dancers and choreographers to dance styles and technical terms.
Call Number: Simpson Reference GV 1585 .C78 2000
Publication Date: 2000-12-07
Costume Design and Fashion
The Berg Companion to Fashion by An essential reference for students, curators and scholars of fashion, cultural studies, and the expanding range of disciplines that see fashion as imbued with meaning far beyond the material. - Over 300 in-depth entries covering designers, articles of clothing, key concepts and styles. - Edited and introduced by Valerie Steele, a scholar who has revolutionized the study of fashion, and who has been described by The Washington Post as one of "fashion's brainiest women." Derided by some as frivolous, even dangerous, and celebrated by others as art, fashion is anything but a neutral topic. Behind the hype and the glamour is an industry that affects all cultures of the world. A potent force in the global economy, fashion is also highly influential in everyday lives, even amongst those who may feel impervious. This handy volume is a one-stop reference for anyone interested in fashion - its meaning, history and theory. From Avedon to Codpiece, Dandyism to the G-String, Japanese Fashion to Subcultures, Trickle down to Zoot Suit, The Berg Companion to Fashion provides a comprehensive overview of this most fascinating of topics and will serve as the benchmark guide to the subject for many years to come.
Call Number: Simpson Reference GT 511 .B47 2010
Publication Date: 2010-09-01
The Chronicle of Western Costume by Here, in more than one thousand full-colour illustrations, is the history of Western costume, from ancient Egypt to Paris fashion. John Peacock's meticulous drawings are organized in chronological sections and accompanied by detailed descriptions of each figure, including the individual items of costume shown and the many types of fabric, cut, pattern and colour that have been used over the centuries. An illustrated glossary gives additional information on technical terms. The Chronicle of Western Costume is the unrivalled reference work on its subject. No student or designer in the performing arts, costume and fashion enthusiast, collector or social historian will want to be without it.
Call Number: Simpson Reference GT 511 .P42 2010
Publication Date: 2010-09-01
The Greenwood Encyclopedia of Clothing Through American History, 1900 to the Present by Find out what we wore and why we wore it in The Greenwood Encyclopedia of Clothing in American History-Twentieth Century to the Present. This fascinating reference set provides two levels of information: descriptions of styles of clothes that Americans have worn and, as important, why they wore those types of clothes. With volume one covering 1900-1949 and volume two covering 1950 to the present, the first half of each volume provides four chapters that each examine the impact that political and cultural events, arts and entertainment, daily life, and family structures have on fashion. The second half of each volume describes the important and everyday fashion and styles of the period, decade by decade, for women, men, and children. The set also includes helpful timelines; resource guides listing web sites, videos, and print publications; an extensive glossary; and illustrations. Fashion influences how we view other people and how we view ourselves. Find out what we wore and why we wore it in The Greenwood Encyclopedia of Clothing in American History - Twentieth Century to the Present. This fascinating reference set provides descriptions of styles of clothes that men, women, and children have worn in the U.S. since 1900, and, as important, why they wore them. In addition to chapters describing fashion trends and types of clothes, this work examines the impact that cultural history has on fashion and how fashion may serve as an impetus for change in society. With volume one covering 1900-1949 and volume two covering 1950 to the present, the first half of each volume provides four chapters that examine the impact that political and cultural events, arts and entertainment, daily life, and family structures have on cultural life and fashion. The second half of each volume describes the important and everyday fashion and styles of the period, decade by decade, for women, men, and children. The set also includes helpful timelines; resource guides of web sites, videos, and print publications; an extensive glossary; and illustrations. Fashion is not for the exclusive use of the social elite and the rich, nor can it be simply dismissed as just showing off. We use fashion to express who we are and what we think, to project an image, to bolster our confidence, and to attract partners. Pictures, extensive glossaries, and timelines help bring information into sharper focus Resource guides featuring print materials, websites, and videos offer selected works for further research and inquiry A comprehensive general bibliography also provides a large number of publications essential to the study of clothing and social history in the United States from 1900 to the present
Call Number: Simpson Reference GT 615 .G74 2008
Publication Date: 2008-10-30
The Complete Costume Dictionary by While there are costume and fashion dictionaries tied to specific countries or periods, none have been comprehensive. In The Complete Costume Dictionary, Elizabeth Lewandowski has collected from a variety of sources--including costume history texts, journal articles, historical publications, autobiographies, biographies, foreign language dictionaries, and contemporary publications--to create a resource that spans the globe, from the earliest record of fashion to the 21st century. Including more than 20,000 fashion and costume terms, this volume also features more than 300 illustrations. The first section of the book is an alphabetical listing of these words with their definitions, period, and country of origin. This volume also contains appendixes that list the terms by country of origin, period, and type of clothing. The book is not limited to the Western World and includes both archaic and current terms. Significantly greater in scope than anything currently available--online or in print--this one-of-a-kind publication is an invaluable resource for costume and fashion historians, textile preservationists, period re-enactors, and history and theatre scholars, as well as theatre professionals.
Call Number: Simpson Reference GT 507 .L49 2011
Publication Date: 2011-06-01
Complete Fashion Sourcebook by The renowned costume drawings of John Peacock, charting the development of women's and men's clothing from the 1920s onward, now brought together in one volume.This beautifully illustrated, easy-reference volume, with its year-by-year format, allows changes in fashion to be shown in fascinating detail: from the boyish silhouette of the 1920s and the sophisticated outlines of the 1930s through the plain utilitarian 1940s and the new femininity of the 1950s, to the radical styles of the 1960s, the vintage and ethnic trends of the 1970s, and the structured "power dressing" of the 1980s. Day wear, evening wear, sports and leisure wear, accessories, underwear, and wedding wear are all included, and complete descriptions of each garment accompany the drawings, itemizing color, cut, necklines, lapels, sleeves, pockets, fastenings, buttons, and belts.The reference section includes a chart that summarizes the evolution of fashion and garment shapes through the decades, as well as biographies of outstanding designers of each era and a full bibliography. It will become an indispensable part of the library of fashion enthusiasts, historians, and collectors, and is sure to provide inspiration to any designer or student working in the performing arts.
Call Number: Simpson Reference GT 596 .P393 2005
Publication Date: 2006-02-17
Encyclopedia of Clothing and Fashion by From diapers to Dior, saris to serapes, the world of clothing is nearly as vast and as ancient as the human race. Tracing the stylistic and functional threads that unite clothing across time and cultures, as well as delving into the divergent styles and significance of apparel, this A to Z encyclopedia is the essential resource for exploring the relationship between culture and couture. A new addition to the Scribner Daily Life series, which includes the best-selling Encyclopedia of Food and Culture, this broad-based encyclopedia surveys clothing and body adornment, and examines the origins of clothing, the development of fabrics and technologies, and the social meanings of dress. It also presents information on representative costumes from a wide variety of historical eras. Topics range from the bustle, sari, and toga to Polyester and body piercing. cocktail dress, bathing suit, burqua, Nehru jacket), techniques and manufactures (batik, dry cleaning, zipper, stone washing), body adornment (makeup, mask, tattoo, wig), and important persons and institutions (Coco Chanel, Edith Head, Yves Saint-Laurent, Fashion Institute of Technology). The longer essays provide cultural context: class, gender, sumptuary laws, costume design for stage and screen, advertising; fashion careers; ecclesiastical dress; military uniforms; etc. The Encyclopedia of Clothing and Fashion includes a comprehensive general index in the last volume, a timeline, and a topical outline. From the secondary school student writing a paper on dress among Native Americans to the university student interested in the underpinnings of clothing design, this set represents a unique and valuable source.
Call Number: Simpson Reference GT 507 .E53 2005
Publication Date: 2004-09-22
Encyclopedia of World Dress and Fashion by Publishing in summer 2010 in print and online, the 10-volume Encyclopedia of World Dress and Fashion is the first comprehensive reference work to explore all aspects of dress and fashion globally - from pre-history to the present day. Arranged geographically and written by an internationalteam of experts, the Encyclopedia will serve as the go-to source for all issues relating the art and anthropology of costume, dress, and fashion the world over for students, scholars, members of the design and fashion industries, and fashion aficionados for years to come.The Encyclopedia of World Dress and Fashion brings together for the first time the work of over 600 renowned scholars from every part of the globe. All articles have been specially commissioned and particular effort has been made to commission articles by indigenous scholars with in-depth localknowledge.
Call Number: Simpson Reference GT 507 .E54 2010
Publication Date: 2010-07-15
Fashion, Costume, and Culture by For assignments requiring research on culturesand customs, fashion and costume information through the erasis frequently needed by middle school students. U · X · L 's "Fashion, Costume, and Culture: Clothing, Footwear, Hairstyles, and Body Decorations Through the Ages" has all the answers in a comprehensive, chronologically based, affordablypriced, 5-vol. set. With typical U · X · L high quality, "Fashion, Costume, and Culture" providesfacts and information about the cultural, religious and social implicationsof human decoration andadornment throughout history, with a particular emphasis on thedecades of the 20th century. In500 entries, detailed informationabout clothing, hairstyles, tattoos, jewelry, body piercing, feet binding and othertypes of fashion or style is examined. Additionally, entries explainthe fashion or style within the context of the traditions, customs, rituals or practices it relates to, as well as its significance to societyor culture. Entries follow astandardized format to ensure that students caneasily do comparisons. Arranged chronologically, each era, centuryor decade begins with a short synopsis of the historical highlights.With further division of the information by region, similar nations, countries and cultures are presented together and include anoverview broken up with numerous subheads leading studentsdirectly to the information they need. For additional ease-of-use, information on specific fashion items and the country or culturethat used them is divided into four main topics areas including: ClothingFootwearHairstyles and headgearBody adornment To ensure relevancy for student research needs, entries wereselected based onmiddle school curriculum, as well as theirimportance to a particular culture or country. Additionally, "Fashion, Costume, and Culture" is written at a seventh-grade readinglevel with difficult terms or concepts explained in each e
Call Number: Simpson Reference GT 511 .P46 2004
Publication Date: 2003-12-05
The Guide to Historic Costume by "With 270 photographs and the discussion of 250 categories of costume, The Guide to Historic Costume provides the most detailed, comprehensive and up-to-date survey of surviving historic costume in a single volume." "Fabric, colour, shape, social and historical context - all give weight and substance to this authoritative source of factual information."--BOOK JACKET.Title Summary field provided by Blackwell North America, Inc. All Rights Reserved
Call Number: Simpson Reference TT 503 .B33 1995
Publication Date: 1995-01-01
Illustrated Encyclopedia of World Costume by This authoritative resource presents a comprehensive history of clothing and accessories. "A mine of information" (Choice), the book covers every world culture with 650-plus entries, more than 2,100 black-and-white drawings, and eight pages of color illustrations. A detailed index makes it easy to locate garments from any era.
Call Number: Simpson Reference GT 507 .Y37 2011
Publication Date: 2011-06-16
World Clothing and Fashion by Taking a global, multicultural, social, and economic perspective, this work explores the diverse and colourful history of human attire. From prehistoric times to the age of globalization, articles cover the evolution of clothing utility, style, production, and commerce, including accessories (shoes, hats, gloves, handbags, and jewellery) for men, women, and children. Dress for different climates, occupations, recreational activities, religious observances, rites of passages, and other human needs and purposes - from hunting and warfare to sports and space exploration - are examined in depth and detail. Fashion and design trends in diverse historical periods, regions and countries, and social and ethnic groups constitute a major area of coverage, as does the evolution of materials (from animal fur to textiles to synthetic fabrics) and production methods (from sewing and weaving to industrial manufacturing and computer-aided design). Dress as a reflection of social status, intellectual and artistic trends, economic conditions, cultural exchange, and modern media marketing are recurring themes. Influential figures and institutions in fashion design, industry and manufacturing, retail sales, production technologies, and related fields are also covered.
Call Number: Simpson Reference GT 507 .S6 2013
Publication Date: 2013-11-30
Publication Date: 2014
This textbook is available as as a free online ebook. Click to view it in PDF format.
Critical Survey of Drama, Fourth Edition by The new fourth edition of The Critical Survey of Drama contains over 650 new and updated essays--over 550 discuss individual dramatists and nearly 100 cover important overview topics that are critical to the study of drama as a whole. This new edition is newly arranged by World Region and essay type to further enhance its ability to help students and researchers expand their study of dramatists around the globe.
Call Number: Simpson Reference PN 1625 .C68 2018
Publication Date: 2017-12-29
The Oxford Encyclopedia of Theatre and Performance by From ancient Greek theatre to the latest developments in stage design, from the trance-dances of Sumatra to an extensive biography of the legendary actor-manager Eleonore Duse, the Encyclopedia provides unrivaled information across the broad sweep of theatrical activity. The Encyclopedia's inclusive approach encompasses opera and film, dance and radio, and para-theatrical, non-dramatic performances including circuses and carnivals, and parades and public executions--providing truly extensive coverage from ancient Greek theatre to the latest developments in London, Paris, New York, and around the globe. The Encyclopedia pays special attention to non-Western styles through articles on theatre and performance throughout the many countries and traditions of Asia and Africa. Numerous biographical entries cover the lives and work of major figures: actors, playwrights, directors, designer, company managers, and critics. A unique feature of the Encyclopedia is the series of articles on concepts, theories, and critical approaches, ranging from short definitions of terms like catharsis and monologue to more lengthy considerations of farce and tragedy. Race and theatre, the nature of acting, censorship, safety, special effects, and media and performance are all debated. In all, the 4,300 entries by renowned contributors remain accessible in language and approach and take advantage of the theoretical and historiographical developments in the field. The combination of rich detail and accessible language and style make The Oxford Encyclopedia of Theatre and Performance the resource of choice for readers interested in theatre and performance, from occasional playgoers to newspaper critics, students, and scholars.
Call Number: Simpson Reference PN 2035 .O94 2003
Publication Date: 2003-05-01
Play index by
Call Number: Simpson Reference PN 1655 .P57x
Show Tunes by This majestic reference book fully chronicles the shows, songs, and careers of the major composers of the American musical theater, from Jerome Kern's earliest interpolations to the latest hits on Broadway. Gershwin, Rodgers, Porter, Berlin, Bernstein, Loesser, Sondheim, Kander, Finn,Flaherty, and more--this book covers their work, their innovations, their successes, and their failures. Show Tunes is simply the most comprehensive volume of its kind ever produced, and this newly revised and updated edition discusses over 900 shows and almost 8,000 show tunes. The book has beencalled "a concise skeleton key to the Broadway musical" (Variety) and "a ground-breaking reference work with a difference" (Show Music)--or, as the Washington Post observed, "It makes you sing and dance all over your memory."The eagerly anticipated Third Edition, updated through January 1999, features the entire theatrical output of thirty-six of Broadway's leading composers, in addition to a wide selection of work by other composers. The listings include essential production data and statistics, the most extensiveinformation available on published and recorded songs, and lively commentary on the shows, songs, and diverse careers.Based on meticulous research, the book also uncovers dozens of lost musicals--including shows that either closed out of town or were never headed for Broadway--and catalogs hundreds of previously unknown songs, including a number of musical gems that have been misplaced, cut, or forgotten. The bookalso includes a detailed chronology of the musicals and a show-by-show guide to the careers of Broadway's most important lyricists, librettists, producers, directors, and choreographers.Informative, insightful, and provocative, Show Tunes is an essential guide for anyone interested in the American musical.
Call Number: Simpson Reference ML 128 .M78 S86 2000
Publication Date: 1999-12-16
Twentieth-Century American Drama by There was a vast array of activity in American theatre during the twentieth century, when work produced in the United States reached the height of its significance and influence within the world repertoire. Presenting an overview of criticism on the full range of twentieth-century American drama as well as a substantial anthology that reflects the changing critical perspectives that have been trained on the area, this extensive collection performs two much-needed functions. Covering a variety of themes from the battles over realism and expressionism at the beginning of the century, to the emergence of Freudian and myth criticism, the response to post-structural theory in the seventies and eighties, and the intense focus on issues of gender, sexual identity and ethnicity toward the end of the century, this is a fascinating and unique collection for both student and scholar alike.
Call Number: Simpson Reference PS 350 .T93 2006
Publication Date: 2006-09-22
Vaudeville, Old and New by This is a one-of-a-kind reference work to the history of vaudeville, performance art, burlesque, revue, and comic opera. Most of these artists are not profiled in other reference books and the author has done deep research, including archival work and personal interviews, to uncover the rich history of this American artform. This will be a must-have for students of theater history and performance art, but it is also essential for anyone insterested in the cultural history of America.
Call Number: Simpson Reference PN 1968 .U5 C85 2007
Publication Date: 2006-10-16
World Encyclopedia of Contemporary Theatre by The World Encyclopedia of Contemporary Theatre:Europe covers theatre since World War II in forty-seven European nations, including the nations which re-emerged following the break-up of the former USSR, Czechoslovakia and Yugoslavia. Each national article is divided into twelve sections - History, Structure of the National Theatre Community, Artistic Profile, Music Theatre, Theatre for Young Audiences, Puppet Theatre, Design, Theatre, Space and Architecture, Training, Criticism, Scholarship and Publishing and Further Reading - allowing the reader to use the book as a source for both area and subject studies.
Call Number: Simpson Reference PN 1861 .W67 1994
Publication Date: 1995-01-20
Play Reviews and Criticism
What about Wikipedia?
Is it okay to use Wikipedia for a college research project?
Yes, but only as a starting point.
Wikipedia is an excellent starting point. You should use Wikipedia! Read Wikipedia articles, and write down clues that you find. Follow the citations at the bottom of Wikipedia articles. Use these clues to find sources you can cite.
Don't cite Wikipedia.
Don't assume that everything you read in Wikipedia is true. Treat Wikipedia as a collection of valuable rumors. Follow up on each rumor, using trustworthy sources, to see whether the rumor is true.