Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
UMW Libraries
Simpson Library | Special Collections

Special Collections Exhibit Companion Guide: Home

This guide provides accessible content to accompany the material featured in the exhibit "Banned Books: A Century of Challenges, Censorship, and Court Cases"

Banned Books: A Century of Challenges, Censorship, and Court Cases

This guide provides complementary content to the exhibit Banned Books: A Century of Challenges, Censorship, and Court Cases. This exhibit features materials from UMW Special Collections and University Archives and is currently installed on the second floor of Simpson Library outside of the Special Collections Reading Room.

Please use the links below to access audio narration of context provided about each author featured in our exhibit. We also have a pdf transcript of the author information featuring citations and all source material.

Research and writing by Jamie Van Doren '23 and SCUA staff
Exhibit installation by Jamie Van Doren '23, Kathleen Martin '23, and SCUA staff
Audio narration by SCUA staff

Contact Us

Photograph of a first edition of Ulysses by James Joyce, 1922

Contact UMW Special Collections and University Archives

Angie Kemp, Interim Head & Sarah Appleby, Records Coordinator

archives@umw.edu
540-654-2045
Simpson Library, Room 217

Please let us know if you have questions, comments, or would like to visit our Rare Books Room!

Image credit: Geoffrey Barker, CC BY-SA 4.0, via Wikimedia Commons

Audio Narration

Please click the links below for brief biographical information on each author and a short discussion of their challenged works.

Transcript and References