Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Finding videos in the library catalog
Simpson Library's video collection includes not only our DVD collection, but also databases that provide streaming videos online. Follow these steps to find videos in your chosen language:
1. Starting at the UMW Libraries home page, click on the Catalog tab. Then, click "Advanced Search."
2. On the Advanced Search page, choose "Audio Visual" from the Material Type menu, and choose your language from the Language menu.
3. Enter your search terms in the boxes, and then click Search. Note that you may want to enter search terms in both English and your target language. See Choosing search terms for more information.
Online videos in other languages are available through the library's streaming video databases:
Academic Video Online (AVON) This link opens in a new window
Provides streaming access to over 72,000 videos spanning a wide range of subject areas including anthropology, business, counseling, film, health, history, music, and more. Most films on the Alexander Street Press platform have closed captioning and transcripts. A small, but growing, number of films have audio description.
Docuseek This link opens in a new window
Streaming documentary films on a variety of subjects, including education, healthcare, science and technology, and critical thinking. Most films on the Docuseek platform have closed captioning.
Films on Demand Master Academic This link opens in a new window
Streaming video collection of over 30,000 titles. Most films on the Infobase platform have closed captioning and transcripts.
Kanopy This link opens in a new window
Streaming video collection with over 20,000 films from leading producers such as Criterion Collection, The Great Courses, New Day Films, HBO, California Newsreel, PBS, BBC, and First Run Features. Kanopy makes it easy to share films, create clips, and embed videos. Most films on the Kanopy platform have closed captioning and transcripts. Please use your UMW email address when requesting access to a film not currently in our collection. It is also helpful to include the course number the film will support.
You can also find videos in other languages for free on the Internet. Try the sites listed on the Arabic, Chinese, French, German, Italian, and Spanish pages of this guide.
If you're looking for videos in some other language, try Google Videos. It searches millions of sites, including YouTube, and its Advanced Search page has a Language menu that you can choose from.