Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
UMW Libraries
Simpson Library | Special Collections

Library Services - Fall 2022

SC&UA On-site Appointment Guidelines

In accordance with University and Commonwealth policies, Special Collections and University Archives has instituted guidelines to help protect the health and safety of our patrons and staff. Please read the information below before your visit and feel free to contact us with any questions or concerns.

Appointment Guidelines: 

  • Masks are no longer required for entry to Special Collections & University Archives, but masks are still recommended when in close proximity of others for a prolonged period of time, particularly indoors. For the most up-to-date information on campus policies regarding masking, vaccinations, and testing, visit the Fall 2022 - Return to Campus page.

  • Everyone who has COVID symptoms, regardless of their vaccination status, should stay away from others and get tested. If you have symptoms or a positive test, reach out to Special Collections & University Archives about our remote services.

  • Staff will pull the requested items ahead of your appointment. Before arriving for your appointment, please make every effort to inform staff of all materials you think you may require. If you find you need additional materials during your research appointment, please alert staff and allow time for staff to locate and deliver materials safely. 

  • Please come prepared for your appointment with the materials you will need to do your research. You may find it helpful to bring your laptop. If you prefer to hand write your notes, only pencil is permitted at the Reading Room table.

  • No food or drink is allowed in the Special Collections Reading Room or the Digital Archiving Lab. 

  • Please note that most scanning requests will be completed within 5 business days. Large scanning requests or special circumstances may require additional time.

Enhanced Hygiene Measures: 

  • Please wash your hands thoroughly with soap and water prior to arriving to your appointment. Alcohol-based hand sanitizers can leave a residue on hands that can damage rare and historical materials, so we request that you refrain from using hand sanitizer for the duration of your research appointment. 

  • Conventional hand sanitizer will be available for use at the conclusion of your visit. 

Please note that policies and procedures are subject to change at any time. Thank you for your patience as we adapt our services to our community's changing needs. 

For Visitors to the Digital Archiving Lab

In addition to the above safety measures, please note the following guidelines applicable to on-site appointments in the DAL:

  • Please use one of the small pencils to sign in and out for your appointment. You should keep the pencil when you leave.
  • Disinfectant wipes are available to wipe down your keyboard and mouse before and after use. Please squeeze the excess liquid out over the trashcan before wiping down computer accessories. Do not wipe down scanning surfaces.