Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
UMW Libraries
Simpson Library | Special Collections

Library Services - Summer 2022

UMW Libraries COVID-19 Frequently Asked Questions

Availability of Services

Public Health and Safety Guidelines

Enhanced Hygiene and Cleaning Practices


Availability of Services

Is the library open?

  • Summer Semester Hours ( May 16 - July 21)

    • Monday - Friday: 8 am - 5pm
    • Saturday & Sunday: CLOSED

  • Simpson Library will be closed on the following dates:

    • Monday, May 30 (Memorial Day)
    • Monday, June 20 (Juneteenth obs.)
    • Monday, July 4 (Independence Day)

 

  • Please note that the hours are subject to change.
  • For most accurate building and department hours, visit our Hours and Directions page.
  • Over the summer, access to Special Collections and University Archives is available by appointment only. Email archives@umw.edu with questions or to set up an appointment.
  • The Digital Archiving Lab in the HCC is available by appointment only. Contact archives@umw.edu for an appointment or to request assistance.

 

 

Can I get help from a reference librarian?

  • Yes! You can reach a librarian via email (refdesk@umw.edu) or by phone (540-654-1148).

  • You can also schedule a consultation with a reference librarian for help with research or citing sources. Find your subject librarian on this list and make an appointment, or email refdesk@umw.edu and we'll forward your request to the appropriate person.

 

Will I be able to reserve a study room?

  • Yes! Use 25 Live to reserve a study room.
  • To schedule a space, visit 25Live.

 

Can I use a public computer, printer, or scanner?

  • Computers, scanners, and printers are all available on the first floor of the library. Check with library staff if you need assistance.

 

How do I access my course materials on reserve?

  • Electronic reserves are available through the Library Reading List link in every Canvas course.
  • Physical reserves are at the Circulation Desk, and may be checked out. Please contact Olivia Key, Reserves & Reading Lists Supervisor, or email umwlibraries@umw.edu with any questions.

 

Can I request items through ILL?

I'm not affiliated with UMW but would like to use the library as a guest. Is the library open to me?

  • Yes! Appointments are no longer required.
  • Visitors must observe all posted safety procedures.
  • Please note that guest computer access is first come, first served.

 

Public Health and Safety Guidelines

Do I have to wear a mask?

  • As of March 11, masks are optional in the library. People with symptoms, a positive test, or exposure to someone with COVID-19 should still wear masks.

  • Per UMW policy, masks are still required in classrooms and labs, which includes classes meeting in the Simpson Library Classroom (225B) or Special Collections & University Archives.

  • For more information on this change, view the official announcement.

 

What does social distancing look like in the library?

  • Please observe all floor markers to help keep appropriate distance while waiting for desk service, water fountains, or printer use.
  • A plexiglass barrier at the Circulation desk helps keep all of us safe.

 

Can I bring food or drinks into the library?

  • Yes! Food and beverages are allowed in the library.

 

Enhanced Hygiene and Cleaning Practices

Will hand sanitizer be available?

  • Definitely! All around the library, you'll see touchless dispensers for hand sanitizer. These are positioned in the highest traffic areas: near stairwells, doors, and public service points.

 

What increased cleaning measures are in place?

  • Housekeeping is doing additional disinfecting throughout the day at high touch points, but we all need to do our part to make sure the library stays clean!
  • Disinfecting wipes are available throughout the library; please use them to wipe down your area before you leave. For keyboards and other electronics, wring out the wipe to remove excess liquid first, then wipe the equipment.
    • Do not use the wipes on touch screens, please! Hand sanitizer is available for you to clean your hands after touching shared screens.
    • Please notify staff if you see areas in the library that need to be cleaned.