Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
When looking for background information on your research topic, you can find the following reference books on the first floor of Simpson Library.
American Nursing: A Biographical Dictionary. Vol. 3 by From the frontier to the university, this exciting collection traces the development of the nursing profession through the biographies of individual nurses since 1925 that helped to create its unique history. Among the notable nurses featured in this volume are Faye Abdellah, Virginia Henderson, Margaret Kerr, Thelma Schorr, and many more.
Publication Date: 2000-01-01
Early Black American Leaders in Nursing by In celebrating the history of the black nursing experience, the author (a RN and EdD) relates the role model-worthy biographies of three Nursing Hall of Fame women: Mary Eliza Mahoney, Martha Minerva Franklin, and Adah Belle Samuels Thoms. Includes substantial appendices on the National Association
Publication Date: 1999-03-11
The Gale Encyclopedia of Nursing and Allied Health by
Call Number: RT21 .G353 2002 REF
Publication Date: 2001-12-01
Historical Encyclopedia of Nursing by This unique reference work traces the story of nursing from Roman times to the present, including the evolution of military nursing. The book's numerous biographies of health care pioneers include many first-person narratives and eyewitness accounts, from Mother Teresa to Walt Whitman. A timeline of landmarks in nursing offers a concise overview of the profession, and the book also includes a detailed bibliography and index. * Numerous biographies of healthcare pioneers, including many first-person narratives and eyewitness accounts, from Mother Teresa to Walt Whitman * Provides a timeline of landmarks, a detailed bibliography, and a comprehensive index
Call Number: RT31 .S66 1999 (REF)
Publication Date: 1999-10-25
Nursing Theorists and Their Work by A classic text is back with fresh, comprehensive nursing theories, critiques, and philosophies. Nursing Theorists and Their Work, 9th Edition provides you with an in-depth look at 39 theorists of historical, international, and significant importance. This new edition has been updated with an improved writing style, added case studies, critical thinking activities, and in-depth objective critiques of nursing theories that help bridge the gap between theory and application. In addition, the six levels of abstraction (philosophy, conceptual models, grand theory, theory, middle-range theory, and future of nursing theory) are graphically depicted throughout the book to help you understand the context of the various theories. Each theorist chapter is written by a scholar specializing in that particular theorist's work, often having worked closely with the theorists, to provide the most accurate and complete information possible. A case study at the end of each theorist chapter puts the theory into a larger perspective, demonstrating how it can be applied to practice. Critical Thinking Activities at the end of each theorist chapter help you process the theory presented and apply it to personal and hypothetical practice situations. Diagrams for theories help you visualize and better understand inherently abstract concepts. A Brief Summary in each theorist chapter helps you review for tests and confirm their comprehension. A Major Concepts & Definitions box included in each theorist chapter outlines the theory's most significant ideas and clarifies content-specific vocabulary. Points for Further Study at the end of each chapter directs you to assets available for additional information. Quotes from the theorist make each complex theory more memorable. An extensive bibliography at the conclusion of each theorist chapter outlines numerous primary and secondary sources of information for further study. NEW! Improved writing style and increased use of subheadings make the narrative more concise, direct, and accessible. NEW! Updated research and findings incorporate new content along with more examples and clinical correlations. NEW! History of Nursing Science chapter emphasizes nursing science updates UNIQUE! Graphical depiction of the six levels of abstraction (philosophy, conceptual models, grand theory, theory, middle-range theory, and future of nursing theory) helps you to understand the context of the various theories.
Call Number: RT84.5 .N9 2018 (REF)
Publication Date: 2017-08-15
American Women of Nursing by
Call Number: RT34 .Y7 (REF)
Women in Medicine by The definitive compilation of the inspiring and educational stories of women in medicine through the ages and around the world. Women in Medicine: An Encyclopedia tells the hidden history of healing practitioners. Since ancient times, and in every human society, women have played a critical, if unheralded, role in the practice and progress of the medical arts and sciences. From the 11th century German nun Hildegarde of Bingen to early 20th century radiology pioneer Marie Curie to controversial Surgeon General Jocelyn Elders, Women in Medicine portrays the struggles, the skills, the science, and the inspiring stories of more than 200 of history's great women physicians and medical researchers. Not just a biographical compendium, Women in Medicine also includes entries on the key universities, institutes, and foundations of this illustrious history. Chock full of unique illustrations and complete with extensive bibliography and index, this one volume encyclopedia is the most comprehensive and accessible reference work on the history of women in medicine. A must buy for any library looking to round out its women's history or history of science reference shelf. More than 250 A_Z entries focusing primarily on women pioneers and mentors in medicine, from Rebecca Lee Crumpler, the first black female physician in the United States, to Flossie Wong-Staal, who codiscovered and cloned the HIV virus Additional entries on organizations such as the Medical Women's International Association, the Media Act of 1858 and other legislative acts, and universities and institutions that have shaped the role of women in medicine Over 60 photographs and portraits of key nurses, physicians and scientists, including Louise Bourgeois, Florence Nightingale, and Marie Curie Extensive bibliography with websites listed wherever possible for easy access
Publication Date: 2002-11-14
Taber's Cyclopedic Medical Dictionary by Must-know, rarely memorized information. Appendices for normal reference laboratory values and prefixes, suffices, and combining forms, as well as abbreviations, symbols, and units of measurement, documentation system definitions, and complementary and alternative medicine. Full-color illustrations of anatomy and physiology, and photographs of diseases and disorders. Translations of common healthcare terms and phrases in English, French, and Spanish. The tools for success. Patient Care Statements summarize assessment, treatment, and patient teaching requirements. Caution/Safety Statements set in red bars with an easy-to find icon highlight information critical to safe patient care. Nursing-focused appendices include all NANDA-approved diagnoses organized alphabetically and by diseases/disorders, NIC intervention labels and definitions, and NOC outcome labels and definitions.
Publication Date: 2013-05-14
Davis's Drug Guide for Nurses by SAFETY FIRST! Davis''s Drug Guide for Nurses®, Fifteenth Edition delivers all of the information you need to administer medications safely across the lifespan--well-organized monographs for hundreds of generic and thousands of trade-name drugs. BONUS! FREE DIGITAL ACCESS www.DrugGuide.com Redeem the access code inside to unlock your one-year, free subscription to Davis''s Drug Guide Online, powered by Unbound Medicine. It''s accessible from your desktop, laptop, or any mobile device with a web browser 5,000-drug database and appendices Cross-referencing of drugs FDA drug news LIFE-SAVING GUIDANCE ... AT A GLANCE Red tab for high alert medications, plus in-depth high alert and patient safety coverage Red, capitalized letters for life-threatening side effects NEW! REP heading for use of drugs in males and females of reproductive age Drug-drug, drug-food, drug-natural product interactions Pedi, Geri, OB, and Lactation cautions IV administration subheads REMS (Risk Evaluation and Mitigation Strategies) icon Pharmacogenomic content and icon Canadian-specific content Much more! LEARNING, CARE-PLANNING, AND PATIENT EDUCATION TOOLS Online at DavisPlus (Redeem the Plus Code on the inside front cover of a new, printed text to access your DavisPlus resources.) Audio library for 1,200+ drug names Three tutorials, each with a self-test Calculators for body mass index (BMI), metric conversions, IV drip rates, dosage/kg, and Fahrenheit/Celsius Interactive case studies, brief, real-life scenarios that are followed by a series of question Med-Deck-style cards Video clips illustrating the safe administration of medications Animations demonstrating the administration and absorption of oral drugs Schematic brain illustrations depicting the impact of certain DSM disorders and the effect of psychotropic medications on patients Reviews for Davis''s Drug Guide for Nurses, 14th Edition: "I''m a BSN student, and this book has been an excellent resource. When my instructors ask me questions about medications, I know I will be able to answer any questions they have with this book... This was the book my toughest clinical instructor recommended to me, and my classmates who have other drug manuals wish they had this one." - Honor F., Nursing Student "As a student nurse, I spend more time with this book than I do with my family. Easy to read, good layout, informative, to the point. It was required by my program and I have found it to be a wonderful resource." - Jen S., Nursing Student "I am able to write nursing plans, understand disease process, and proper administration of drugs all because of this one book." - Kia S. "Simply put, the best drug guide out there." - Amazon Reviewer
Publication Date: 2016-05-25
Nursing Drug Guide by A comprehensive, up-to-date drug guide for nursing students and practicing nurses, Lippincott Nursing Drug Guide provides quick A-to-Z access to current, vital drug information. The book provides complete monographs for 725 common drugs, including generic and trade names, pronunciations, pregnancy risk category, controlled substance schedule (if appropriate), drug classes, therapeutic actions, indications, contraindications and cautions, available forms, dosages, pharmacokinetics, IV facts (if appropriate), adverse effects, interactions, and nursing considerations organized by nursing process steps (assessment, interventions, and teaching points). The Lippincott Nursing Drug Guide is the only drug book that includes a DO NOT CRUSH" logo so nurses can quickly identify medications that should not be crushed - a key patient safety feature. More than 20 appendices cover a wealth of additional information, from key facts on more than 200 less commonly used drugs to alternative and complementary therapies, pediatric dosages, federal drug classifications, normal lab values, topical and ophthalmic drugs, combination products, CYP450 metabolized drugs, and more. The book also includes a 32-page full-color photoguide to pills and capsules and a detailed index for quick retrieval of needed information. The electronic ancillary, called the Web Toolkit, contains the latest FDA updates on new drugs, indications, and warnings; videos on safe drug administration; an audio pronunciatiion guide; an English-Spanish translator; mechanisms and sites of action graphics for selected drugs; updated NCLEX-style questions; a free CE test; bonus discounts; and more.
Publication Date: 2014-06-26
Why Reference Books?
- include helpful introductory information
- contain citations to other sources
- list statistics, dates and facts
- provide reviews, biographies and definitions
Questions? Contact the Simpson Library Reference Desk:
Interviews and Biographical Websites