Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
UMW Newspapers (and Other Mary Washington Publications)
A good starting place for viewing historical UMW publications is in UMW Libraries' Digital Collections:
UMW Libraries Digital Collections: University Publications
Historical UMW publications in UMW Libraries' Digital Collections, including academic course catalogs, student handbooks, the Aubade literary magazine, the Battlefield yearbook, and the Bullet / Blue & Gray Press / Weekly Ringer newspaper.
The Bullet / The Blue & Gray Press / The Weekly Ringer
Mary Washington's campus newspaper, The Bullet, was first published in 1921. It ceased publication at the end of the 1923-24 academic year but began again in 1927. Unfortunately, none of the 1921, 1924, or 1927 issues have been located. The Bullet changed its name to The Blue & Gray Press with the September 4, 2014, issue (volume 88, issue 1). In 2022, it changed its name again to The Weekly Ringer.
Current issues of The Weekly Ringer are shelved in Simpson Library's Current Periodicals area on the first floor. Microfilmed issues of the campus newspaper are in the gray microfilm cabinets on Simpson' first floor (LH 1 .M3 B84). Paper issues (1922 to date) are available in Simpson Library' Special Collections and University Archives (room 217).
Newspapers from Other Colleges/Universities
Collegiate Chronicle Collection
Part of the University of Illinois' Digitial Newspaper Collection, this site "presents U.S. college newspapers from different regions and time periods."