Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Newspapers on the Internet
Newspapers on the Internet can be accessed in one of two ways: via the newspaper's own website, or via a third-party site.
You can visit a newspaper's own website to view current articles or search for articles from the newspaper's archives. Many newspaper websites have paywalls, which means you must pay to view full-text articles. (You can get around paywalls by viewing articles in library databases instead.)
You can visit third-party websites to view articles that are in the public domain. This includes all articles that are more than 95 years old, as well as some newer articles.
Below are links to third-party websites, divided into the following sections:
Chronicling America : Virginia Newspapers
Over 65 Virginia newspapers are included in Chronicling America. Number of issues and date ranges vary.
Chronicling America : Fredericksburg Newspapers
Fredericksburg newspapers in Chronicling America include the News, the Ledger, the Free Lance, the Star, the Daily Star, and the Free Lance-Star.
Fredericksburg Newspaper Search
A searchable index of all the newspapers published in Fredericksburg between 1787 and 1928, created and maintained by the UMW Department of Historic Preservation.
Google News Archive
Fredericksburg newspapers from the Google News Archive include the Virginia Herald (1792-1809), the News (1849-1862), the Ledger (1865-1874), the Free Lance (1885-1926), the Star (1898-1900), the Daily Star (1917-1918), and the Free Lance-Star (1920-2006). Holdings are not complete for all years.
Richmond Daily Dispatch, 1860-1865
A digitization of the Richmond Daily Dispatch for the Civil War years.
Provides access to thousands of newspaper articles from newspapers throughout Virginia. Users can both browse (by title and date) and search the collection. This resource is sponsored by the Library of Virginia, whose Virginia Newspaper Project attempts to find, identify, catalog, and preserve American newspapers housed in Virginia libraries.
The Virginia Gazette was the official newspaper of Virginia, printed in Williamsburg from 1736 until 1780. When the capital of Virginia moved to Richmond in 1780, printers transferred their businesses to the new seat of government. Both Dixon & Nicolson and Clarkson & Davis resumed their papers in Richmond.
Chronicling America: Historic American Newspapers (Library of Congress)
Newspaper pages from 1789-1963. (Coverage varies by publication) This site also provides bibliographic information (name changes, publication runs, etc.) for American newspapers published from 1690 to date.
The goal of this site to "search all the world’s online historic newspapers from one place. We aren’t there yet, but we are adding more newspapers every day."
Full-text access to hundreds of newspapers from the northeastern US, especially New York State. This site is a search interface for the newspapers archived at fultonhistory.com
(Old Fulton NY Postcards).
Google News Archive Search
A collection of archived newspapers from around the world, alphabetically organized by title.
Historical Newspapers and Indexes on the Internet--USA
This "genealogy research guide" includes indexes and collections, organized by state.
Historical U.S. Newspapers Online (Bowling Green State University Libraries)
"A guide to historical U.S. newspapers that are freely available on the Internet."
Illinois Digital Newspaper Collections (University of Illinois)
The various collections in this repository include the Illinois Digital Newspaper Collection (historic Illinois newspapers), the Farm, Field, and Fireside collection (historic agricultural newspapers), American Popular Entertainment ("digital facsimiles of historic newspapers and trade journals published for the entertainment industry in the US between 1853 and 1929," including the famous sporting and theatrical publication, the New York Clipper), and the Collegiate Chronicle (student newspapers).
Online Historical Newspapers
Includes a link to United States Online Historical Newspapers. Note: Many of the titles listed are subscription-based, though links to readily available resources are also included.
U. S. News Archives on the Web
Links to dozens of U.S. newspaper archives, arranged alphabetically by state.
Wikipedia: List of Online Newspaper Archives
A list of worldwide "free and pay wall blocked digital online newspaper archives." Includes United States and Virginia sections.