Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
The Covid-19 Reader by "This reader offers the most important writing to date from the science of COVID-19 and what science says for its spread and social implications. With carefully selected chapters for an introductory or graduate student readership by a distinguished medical sociology team, this reader is an essential teaching resource on COVID-19"--
Publication Date: 2021-01-01
Hands-On NoSQL by Learn advanced design patterns and support NoSQL databases If you're a database designer or software engineer who uses NoSQL, this book can help you expand your knowledge. Learn advanced design patterns, grasp the performance implications of design choices, and prepare to support large-scale NoSQL databases in production. Hands-On NoSQL: A Practical Guide to Design and Implementation with Technical Case Studies provides detailed descriptions of design patterns and discusses why certain patterns are chosen. Design choices are discussed in reference to their limitations as well as their effects on implemented features. Case studies in the book highlight NoSQL databases, demonstrate how they're used, and address the challenges of operating them in production environments. You'll find unique insights and examples within Hands-On NoSQL. The authors focus on three NoSQL data models, looking at when to use each database type, each model's design advantages and disadvantages, and what design patterns to utilize in each model. See descriptions of NoSQL database models Read about design patterns used by experienced data modelers and architects Gain practical advice on choosing a NoSQL system type Get guidance on code implementations and queries View examples of how to interact with the database Hands-On NoSQL also offers in-depth examinations of specialized forms of NoSQL querying and filtering. It is suitable for undergraduate and graduate courses in advanced database design.Get practical, applicable advice and expand your ability to support NoSQL databases with this educational guide.
Publication Date: 2021-06-02
History of Information Graphics by In the age of big data and digital distribution, when news travel ever further and faster and media outlets compete for a fleeting slice of online attention, information graphics have swept center stage. At once nuanced and neat, they distill abstract ideas, complex statistics, and cutting-edge discoveries into succinct, compelling, and masterful designs. Cartographers, programmers, statisticians, designers, scientists, and journalists have developed a new field of expertise in visualizing knowledge. This XL-sized compendium explores the history of data graphics from the Middle Ages right through to the digital era. Curated by Sandra Rendgen, some 400 milestones span astronomy, cartography, zoology, technology, and beyond. Across medieval manuscripts and parchment rolls, elaborate maps, splendid popular atlasses, and early computer-based information design, we systematically break down each work's historical context, including such highlights as Martin Waldseemüller's famous world map, the meticulous nature studies of Ernst Haeckel, and many unknown treasures. Hot on the heels of the best-selling Information Graphics and Understanding the World, this third volume fills the gap as an unprecedented reference book for data freaks, designers, historians, and anyone thirsty for knowledge. An enthralling exploration into the teachings, research, and lives of generations past.
Publication Date: 2019-06-26
Information Graphics by "If you can't explain it simply, you don't understand it well enough." --Albert Einstein Our everyday lives are filled with a massive flow of information that we must interpret in order to understand the world we live in. Considering the complex variety of data floating around us, sometimes the best--or even only--way to communicate is visually. This unique book presents a fascinating perspective on the subject, highlighting the work of the masters of the profession, creators of breakthroughs that have changed the way we communicate. Information Graphics has been conceived and designed not just for graphics professionals, but for anyone interested in the history and practice of communicating visually. The in-depth introductory section, illustrated with over 60 images (each accompanied by an explanatory caption), features essays by Sandra Rendgen, Paolo Ciuccarelli, Richard Saul Wurman, and Simon Rogers. Looking back all the way to primitive cave paintings as a means of communication, this section gives readers an excellent overview of the subject. The second part of the book is entirely dedicated to contemporary works by today's most renowned professionals, presenting 200 graphics projects, with over 400 examples--each with a fact sheet and an explanation of methods and objectives--divided into chapters by the topics Location, Time, Category, and Hierarchy. 200 projects and over 400 examples of contemporary information graphics from all over the world--ranging from journalism to art, government, education, business and much more Four essays about the development of information graphics since its beginnings Exclusive poster (673 x 475 mm / 26.5 x 18.7 in) by Nigel Holmes, who during his 20 years as graphics director for TIME revolutionized the way the magazine used information graphics
Publication Date: 2012-04-18
Modal Counterpoint by An exceptional text for undergraduate and graduate music students, Modal Counterpoint, Renaissance Style uses a wide variety of carefully graded exercises to present guidelines for writing and analyzing 16th-century music. The only species counterpoint text that draws directly on Renaissancetreatises, it provides a conceptual framework to guide students through composition and analysis as it teaches them general structural principles. With stylistically diverse examples including not only motets and mass movements but also French chansons, German chorale settings, English canzonets,Italian madrigals, and Spanish organ hymns, villancicos, and ricercars, the book gives students a "real-life" feel for the subject. It distinguishes between technical requirements ("hard" rules) and stylistic guidelines ("soft" rules), and includes coordinated exercises that allow students todevelop their skills systematically. The concluding chapters provide the formal and conceptual building blocks for longer pieces and encourage students to understand analysis and composition as complementary activities. By the end of the book, students are writing real compositions, not just drillexercises. The text also features progressively graded exercises, historical asides that explain important topics and issues of the period, and some notes in the preface on using the book in the classroom. Combining the historical accuracy of "style-oriented" texts with the more systematic speciescounterpoint approach, this book offers a unique alternative to other methods.Now in its second edition, Modal Counterpoint, Renaissance Style integrates improvisation activities and new repertoire examples into many chapters; revises the chapter on three-part writing (Chapter 14) so that it pays more attention to rules and strategies; reworks the chapters on cadences(Chapter 10) and on writing two parts in mixed values (Chapter 11) to make them more accessible to students; incorporates clarified instructions throughout; and includes a summary of rules.
Publication Date: 2007-12-18
Nursing Speaks for Itself by
Publication Date: 2006-01-01
The Geographies, Genders and Geopolitics of James Bond by This book discusses the representational geographies of the Bond film franchise and how they inform our reading of 007 as a hero. Offering a new and interdisciplinary lens through which the franchise can be analyzed, Funnell and Dodds explore a range of topics that have been largely, if not entirely, overlooked in Bond film scholarship. These topics include: the shifting and gendering of geopolitical relations; the differing depiction and evaluation of vertical/modern and horizontal/pre-modern spaces; the use of classical elements in defining gender, sexuality, heroic competency, and geopolitical conflict; and the ongoing importance of haptics (i.e. touch), kinesics (i.e. movement), and proxemics (i.e. the use of space) in defining the embodied and emotive world of Bond. This book is comprehensive in nature and scope as it discusses all 24 films in the official Bond canon and theorizes about the future direction of the franchise.
Publication Date: 2017-01-06
The Light of Days by THE INSTANT NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER! Also on the USA Today, Washington Post, Boston Globe, Globe and Mail, Publishers Weekly, and Indie bestseller lists. One of the most important stories of World War II, already optioned by Steven Spielberg for a major motion picture: a spectacular, searing history that brings to light the extraordinary accomplishments of brave Jewish women who became resistance fighters--a group of unknown heroes whose exploits have never been chronicled in full, until now. Witnesses to the brutal murder of their families and neighbors and the violent destruction of their communities, a cadre of Jewish women in Poland--some still in their teens--helped transform the Jewish youth groups into resistance cells to fight the Nazis. With courage, guile, and nerves of steel, these "ghetto girls" paid off Gestapo guards, hid revolvers in loaves of bread and jars of marmalade, and helped build systems of underground bunkers. They flirted with German soldiers, bribed them with wine, whiskey, and home cooking, used their Aryan looks to seduce them, and shot and killed them. They bombed German train lines and blew up a town's water supply. They also nursed the sick, taught children, and hid families. Yet the exploits of these courageous resistance fighters have remained virtually unknown. As propulsive and thrilling as Hidden Figures, In the Garden of Beasts, and Band of Brothers, The Light of Days at last tells the true story of these incredible women whose courageous yet little-known feats have been eclipsed by time. Judy Batalion--the granddaughter of Polish Holocaust survivors--takes us back to 1939 and introduces us to Renia Kukielka, a weapons smuggler and messenger who risked death traveling across occupied Poland on foot and by train. Joining Renia are other women who served as couriers, armed fighters, intelligence agents, and saboteurs, all who put their lives in mortal danger to carry out their missions. Batalion follows these women through the savage destruction of the ghettos, arrest and internment in Gestapo prisons and concentration camps, and for a lucky few--like Renia, who orchestrated her own audacious escape from a brutal Nazi jail--into the late 20th century and beyond. Powerful and inspiring, featuring twenty black-and-white photographs, The Light of Days is an unforgettable true tale of war, the fight for freedom, exceptional bravery, female friendship, and survival in the face of staggering odds. NPR's Best Books of 2021 National Jewish Book Award, 2021 Canadian Jewish Literary Award, 2021
Publication Date: 2022-08-02
MySQL Cookbook by For MySQL, the price of popularity comes with a flood of questions from users on how to solve specific data-related issues. That's where this cookbook comes in. When you need quick solutions or techniques, this handy resource provides scores of short, focused pieces of code, hundreds of worked-out examples, and clear, concise explanations for programmers who don't have the time (or expertise) to resolve MySQL problems from scratch. In this updated fourth edition, authors Sveta Smirnova and Alkin Tezuysal provide more than 200 recipes that cover powerful features in both MySQL 5.7 and 8.0. Beginners as well as professional database and web developers will dive into topics such as MySQL Shell, MySQL replication, and working with JSON. You'll learn how to: Connect to a server, issue queries, and retrieve results Retrieve data from the MySQL Server Store, retrieve, and manipulate strings Work with dates and times Sort query results and generate summaries Assess the characteristics of a dataset Write stored functions and procedures Use stored routines, triggers, and scheduled events Perform basic MySQL administration tasks Understand MySQL monitoring fundamentals
Publication Date: 2022-10-04
Nutraceuticals by Nutraceuticals: Efficacy, Safety and Toxicity, Second Edition, brings together everything that is currently known about nutraceuticals and their potential toxic effects. The book introduces readers to nutraceuticals, herbal medicines, Ayurvedic medicines, prebiotics, probiotics, adaptogens, and their uses and specific applications. This essential reference discusses the mechanism of action for the judicious use of these nutraceuticals and the best tools for their evaluation before detailing the safety and toxicity of nutraceuticals and interactions with other therapeutic drugs. Finally, and crucially, regulatory aspects from around the world are covered. Completely revised and updated, this updated edition provides toxicologists, pharmacologists, pharmaceutical scientists, and those interested in medicinal plants and natural products with a comprehensive overview of the most effective tools upon which to evaluate the safety and toxicity of nutraceuticals, prebiotics, probiotics and alternative medicines.
Publication Date: 2021-06-25
Artemisia by The catalogue accompanying the blockbuster exhibition at The National Gallery, London, which The Guardian has called 'epochal' and 'superbly curated' Artemisia Gentileschi (1593-1654 or later) is the most celebrated woman artist of the baroque period in Italy. Her career spanned more than 40 years, as she moved between Rome, where she was raised and trained by her father, Orazio Gentileschi, to Florence, where she gained artistic independence and became the first female member of the city's academy of artists, and to Venice, London, and Naples. Often featuring heroic female subjects, her paintings were predominantly intended for private clients. Today they are recognized for their dramatic power and originality, showing Artemisia to be one of the most compelling storytellers of her time. This beautiful book includes essays on her life and career; a discussion of her personal and artistic relationship with her father; a summary of critical writings and an overview of the wide range of approaches to Artemisia's work since her rediscovery by feminist art historians more than 50 years ago; a more personal insight into Artemisia through her letters; a discussion of the artist's self-representation in her work; and an essay dedicated to her painting technique.
Publication Date: 2020-05-19
Machine Learning for Cyber Agents by The cyber world has been both enhanced and endangered by AI. On the one hand, the performance of many existing security services has been improved, and new tools created. On the other, it entails new cyber threats both through evolved attacking capacities and through its own imperfections and vulnerabilities. Moreover, quantum computers are further pushing the boundaries of what is possible, by making machine learning cyber agents faster and smarter. With the abundance of often-confusing information and lack of trust in the diverse applications of AI-based technologies, it is essential to have a book that can explain, from a cyber security standpoint, why and at what stage the emerging, powerful technology of machine learning can and should be mistrusted, and how to benefit from it while avoiding potentially disastrous consequences. In addition, this book sheds light on another highly sensitive area - the application of machine learning for offensive purposes, an aspect that is widely misunderstood, under-represented in the academic literature and requires immediate expert attention.
Publication Date: 2022-01-28
Spanish for Pediatric Medicine by Spanish for Pediatric Medicine features a quick-reference design that enables the user to rapidly identify and explore common medical situations. English and Spanish equivalents are shown side-by-side for quick reference. This convenient guide includes translations for virtually every type of patient visit. General examinations, Bright Futures stage discussions, emergency department interactions, and terms for discussing specific body systems (hematology, respiratory, cardiovascular, etc.) are provided. This convenient resource fits right in your pocket for use throughout the day as you travel between departments or exam rooms. Also included are translations for discussing issues such as developmental milestones, obesity prevention, and lead toxicity screening along with commonly used expressions to help clinicians better connect with patients and parents. This 3rd edition is completely updated and is consistent with the newest Bright Futures Guidelines for Health Supervision of Infants, Children, and Adolescents 4th edition content. Visit-specific translations for the 31 age-based visits reflect the organization of the guidelines as well.
Publication Date: 2018-11-30
Valkyrie by LONGLISTED FOR THE 2020 CUNDILL HISTORY PRIZE Valkyries: the female supernatural beings that choose who dies and who lives on the battlefield. They protect some, but guide spears, arrows and sword blades into the bodies of others. Viking myths about valkyries attempt to elevate the banality of war - to make the pain and suffering, the lost limbs and deformities, the piles of lifeless bodies of young men, glorious and worthwhile. Rather than their death being futile, it is their destiny and good fortune, determined by divine beings. The women in these stories take full part in the power struggles and upheavals in their communities, for better or worse. Drawing on the latest historical and archaeological evidence, Valkyrie introduces readers to the dramatic and fascinating texts recorded in medieval Iceland, a culture able to imagine women in all kinds of roles carrying power, not just in this world, but pulling the strings in the other-world, too. In the process, this fascinating book uncovers the reality behind the myths and legends to reveal the dynamic, diverse lives of Viking women.
Publication Date: 2020-04-02