Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Received During the 2021-2022
Academic School Year:
Ideas That Created the Future by Classic papers by thinkers ranging from from Aristotle and Leibniz to Norbert Wiener and Gordon Moore that chart the evolution of computer science. Ideas That Created the Future collects forty-six classic papers in computer science that map the evolution of the field. It covers all aspects of computer science- theory and practice, architectures and algorithms, and logic and software systems, with an emphasis on the period of 1936-1980 but also including important early work. Offering papers by thinkers ranging from Aristotle and Leibniz to Alan Turing and Nobert Wiener, the book documents the discoveries and inventions that created today's digital world. Each paper is accompanied by a brief essay by Harry Lewis, the volume's editor, offering historical and intellectual context.
Call Number: QA76 .I34 2021
Publication Date: 2021-02-02
Artificial Intelligence by The most comprehensive, up-to-date introduction to the theory and practice of artificial intelligence The long-anticipated revision of Artificial Intelligence: A Modern Approach explores the full breadth and depth of the field of artificial intelligence (AI). The 4th Edition brings readers up to date on the latest technologies, presents concepts in a more unified manner, and offers new or expanded coverage of machine learning, deep learning, transfer learning, multiagent systems, robotics, natural language processing, causality, probabilistic programming, privacy, fairness, and safe AI.
Call Number: Q335 .R86 2021
Publication Date: 2020-04-28
Privacy Is Hard and Seven Other Myths by An expert on computer privacy and security shows how we can build privacy into the design of systems from the start. We are tethered to our devices all day, every day, leaving data trails of our searches, posts, clicks, and communications. Meanwhile, governments and businesses collect our data and use it to monitor us without our knowledge. So we have resigned ourselves to the belief that privacy is hard--choosing to believe that websites do not share our information, for example, and declaring that we have nothing to hide anyway. In this informative and illuminating book, a computer privacy and security expert argues that privacy is not that hard if we build it into the design of systems from the start. Along the way, Jaap-Henk Hoepman debunks eight persistent myths surrounding computer privacy. The website that claims it doesn't collect personal data, for example; Hoepman explains that most data is personal, capturing location, preferences, and other information. You don't have anything to hide? There's nothing wrong with wanting to keep personal information--even if it's not incriminating or embarrassing--private. Hoepman shows that just as technology can be used to invade our privacy, it can be used to protect it, when we apply privacy by design. Hoepman suggests technical fixes, discussing pseudonyms, leaky design, encryption, metadata, and the benefits of keeping your data local (on your own device only), and outlines privacy design strategies that system designers can apply now.
Call Number: QA76.9.A25 H626 2021
Publication Date: 2021-10-05
Models as Mediators by Models as Mediators discusses the ways in which models function in modern science, particularly in the fields of physics and economics. Models play a variety of roles in the sciences: they are used in the development, exploration and application of theories and in measurement methods. They also provide instruments for using scientific concepts and principles to intervene in the world. The editors provide a framework which covers the construction and function of scientific models, and explore the ways in which they enable us to learn about both theories and the world. The contributors to the volume offer their own individual theoretical perspectives to cover a wide range of examples of modelling, from physics, economics and chemistry. These papers provide ideal case-study material for understanding both the concepts and typical elements of modelling, using analytical approaches from the philosophy and history of science.
Call Number: Q158.5 .M63 1999
Publication Date: 1999-10-21
The Myth of Artificial Intelligence by "If you want to know about AI, read this book...It shows how a supposedly futuristic reverence for Artificial Intelligence retards progress when it denigrates our most irreplaceable resource for any future progress: our own human intelligence."--Peter Thiel A cutting-edge AI researcher and tech entrepreneur debunks the fantasy that superintelligence is just a few clicks away--and argues that this myth is not just wrong, it's actively blocking innovation and distorting our ability to make the crucial next leap. Futurists insist that AI will soon eclipse the capacities of the most gifted human mind. What hope do we have against superintelligent machines? But we aren't really on the path to developing intelligent machines. In fact, we don't even know where that path might be. A tech entrepreneur and pioneering research scientist working at the forefront of natural language processing, Erik Larson takes us on a tour of the landscape of AI to show how far we are from superintelligence, and what it would take to get there. Ever since Alan Turing, AI enthusiasts have equated artificial intelligence with human intelligence. This is a profound mistake. AI works on inductive reasoning, crunching data sets to predict outcomes. But humans don't correlate data sets: we make conjectures informed by context and experience. Human intelligence is a web of best guesses, given what we know about the world. We haven't a clue how to program this kind of intuitive reasoning, known as abduction. Yet it is the heart of common sense. That's why Alexa can't understand what you are asking, and why AI can only take us so far. Larson argues that AI hype is both bad science and bad for science. A culture of invention thrives on exploring unknowns, not overselling existing methods. Inductive AI will continue to improve at narrow tasks, but if we want to make real progress, we will need to start by more fully appreciating the only true intelligence we know--our own.
Call Number: Q335 .L37 2021
Publication Date: 2021-04-06
SQL in a Nutshell by For programmers, analysts, and database administrators, this Nutshell guide is the essential reference for the SQL language used in today's most popular database products. This new fourth edition clearly documents SQL commands according to the latest ANSI/ISO standard and details how those commands are implemented in Microsoft SQL Server 2019 and Oracle 19c, as well as in the MySQL 8, MariaDB 10.5, and PostgreSQL 14 open source database products. You'll also get a concise overview of the relational database management system (RDBMS) model and a clear-cut explanation of foundational RDBMS concepts--all packed into a succinct, comprehensive, and easy-to-use format. Sections include: Background on the relational database model, including current and previous SQL standards Fundamental concepts necessary for understanding relational databases and SQL commands An alphabetical command reference to SQL statements, according to the SQL:2016 ANSI standard The implementation of each command by MySQL, Oracle, PostgreSQL, and SQL Server An alphabetical reference of the ANSI SQL:2016 functions and constructs as well as the vendor implementations Platform-specific functions unique to each implementation
Call Number: QA76.73.S67 K55 2022
Publication Date: 2022-07-19
The Car That Knew Too Much by The inside story of the groundbreaking experiment that captured what people think about the life-and-death dilemmas posed by driverless cars. Human drivers don't find themselves facing such moral dilemmas as "should I sacrifice myself by driving off a cliff if that could save the life of a little girl on the road?" Human brains aren't fast enough to make that kind of calculation; the car is over the cliff in a nanosecond. A self-driving car, on the other hand, can compute fast enough to make such a decision--to do whatever humans have programmed it to do. But what should that be? This book investigates how people want driverless cars to decide matters of life and death. In The Car That Knew Too Much, psychologist Jean-Fran ois Bonnefon reports on a groundbreaking experiment that captured what people think cars should do in situations where not everyone can be saved. Sacrifice the passengers for pedestrians? Save children rather than adults? Kill one person so many can live? Bonnefon and his collaborators Iyad Rahwan and Azim Shariff designed the largest experiment in moral psychology ever- the Moral Machine, an interactive website that has allowed people --eventually, millions of them, from 233 countries and territories--to make choices within detailed accident scenarios. Bonnefon discusses the responses (reporting, among other things, that babies, children, and pregnant women were most likely to be saved), the media frenzy over news of the experiment, and scholarly responses to it. Boosters for driverless cars argue that they will be in fewer accidents than human-driven cars. It's up to humans to decide how many fatal accidents we will allow these cars to have.
Call Number: TL152.8 .B6613 2021
Publication Date: 2021-10-12
Automating Humanity by The shocking and eye-opening new manifesto from international award-winning designer Joe Toscano that unravels and lays bare the power agendas of the world's greatest tech titans in plain language, and deliver a fair warning to policymakers, civilians, and industry professionals alike: We need a strategy for the future, and we need it now. Toscano touches on everything from technology, economics and public policy to psychology, history and ethics, and writes in a way that is accessible to everyone from the average reader to the technical expert.
Call Number: T14 .T67 2018
Publication Date: 2018-11-06
Call Number: QA76.76 .H94 B46 2020
Publication Date: 2020-04-30
Beginning JOOQ by Learn to use the jOOQ library to manage SQL database operations in Java and JVM applications. This book walks you through what JOOQ is, how to install and get started with it, and then gets you working with it. Practical examples and case studies demonstrate how jOOQ offers a more efficient and versatile alternative to Object-Relational Mapping frameworks like Hibernate and JPA, while providing a natural, native-SQL feeling for the developer. You'll see how to maximize the full potential of your SQL database with advanced query syntax and functions with this lightweight, SQL-friendly framework. Come see how you can use high performance approaches like reactive, data streaming and cloud-native programming to get data from SQL tables. Never write another incorrect SQL statement again and protect your application from SQL injection with the strong typing and inbuilt controls in jOOQ. Learn how to add jOOQ to your existing Hibernate, Spring Boot or Quarkus applications. When you've completed this book, you will be able to take the knowledge you've gained, along with the freely available source code, and directly apply them to your own work. What You Will Learn Comparing equivalent features between Hibernate, JPA and jOOQ Unlock the power of your SQL database with high performing, flexible and typesafe SQL queries Seamlessly work with many different SQL database vendors without changing your code Effortlessly generate Java code based on the content of your database Write reactive SQL database access code with R2DBC Integrating jOOQ into popular frameworks and platforms like Hibernate, Spring boot and Quarkus tools like IDEs Testing jOOQ-based code with modern integration testing frameworks like TestContainers and Docker Learn how to safely handle data access code within frameworks like the Java Persistence API (JPA) Who This Book Is For Intermediate Java programmers new to jOOQ. Some prior experience with SQL may be helpful but not required.
Call Number: QA76.9.D3 K65 2021
Publication Date: 2021-10-28
Skin-Close Computing and Wearable Technology by "This book is aimed at senior undergraduate, graduate students and researchers in biomedical engineering, bioinstrumentation, biosensors, and assistive technology"--
Call Number: QA76.592 .S26 2022
Publication Date: 2021-11-01
High Performance MySQL by How can you realize MySQL's full power? With High Performance MySQL, you'll learn advanced techniques for everything from setting service-level objectives to designing schemas, indexes, and queries to tuning your server, operating system, and hardware to achieve your platform's full potential. This guide also teaches database administrators safe and practical ways to scale applications through replication, load balancing, high availability, and failover. Updated to reflect recent advances in cloud- and self-hosted MySQL, InnoDB performance, and new features and tools, this revised edition helps you design a relational data platform that will scale with your business. You'll learn best practices for database security along with hard-earned lessons in both performance and database stability. Dive into MySQL's architecture, including key facts about its storage engines Learn how server configuration works with your hardware and deployment choices Make query performance part of your software delivery process Examine enhancements to MySQL's replication and high availability Compare different MySQL offerings in managed cloud environments Explore MySQL's full stack optimization from application-side configuration to server tuning Turn traditional database management tasks into automated processes
Call Number: QA76.73 .S67 68 2021
Publication Date: 2021-12-14
Learn Python in One Day and Learn It Well (2nd Edition) by (2nd Edition: Covers Object Oriented Programming) Master Python Programming with a unique Hands-On Project Have you always wanted to learn computer programming but are afraid it'll be too difficult for you? Or perhaps you know other programming languages but are interested in learning the Python language fast? This book is for you. You no longer have to waste your time and money learning Python from lengthy books, expensive online courses or complicated Python tutorials. What this book offers... Python for Beginners Complex concepts are broken down into simple steps to ensure that you can easily master the Python language even if you have never coded before. Carefully Chosen Python Examples Examples are carefully chosen to illustrate all concepts. In addition, the output for all examples are provided immediately so you do not have to wait till you have access to your computer to test the examples. Careful selection of topics Topics are carefully selected to give you a broad exposure to Python, while not overwhelming you with information overload. These topics include object-oriented programming concepts, error handling techniques, file handling techniques and more. Learn The Python Programming Language Fast Concepts are presented in a "to-the-point" style to cater to the busy individual. With this book, you can learn Python in just one day and start coding immediately. How is this book different... The best way to learn Python is by doing. This book includes a complete project at the end of the book that requires the application of all the concepts taught previously. Working through the project will not only give you an immense sense of achievement, it"ll also help you retain the knowledge and master the language. Are you ready to dip your toes into the exciting world of Python coding? With the first edition of this book being a #1 best-selling programming ebook on Amazon for more than a year, you can rest assured that this new and improved edition is the perfect book for you to learn the Python programming language fast. Click the "Add to Cart" button to buy it now. What you'll learn: What is Python? What software you need to code and run Python programs? What are variables? What are the common data types in Python? What are Lists and Tuples? How to format strings How to accept user inputs and display outputs How to control the flow of program with loops How to handle errors and exceptions What are functions and modules? How to define your own functions and modules How to work with external files What are objects and classes How to write your own class What is inheritance What are properties What is name mangling .. and more... Finally, you'll be guided through a hands-on project that requires the application of all the topics covered. Click the "Add to Cart" button now to start learning Python. Learn it fast and learn it well.
Call Number: QA76.73 .P98 C436 2017
Publication Date: 2017-05-04
Encyclopedia of Artificial Intelligence by This authoritative reference work will provide readers with a complete overview of artificial intelligence (AI), including its historic development and current status, existing and projected AI applications, and present and potential future impact on the United States and the world. Some people believe that artificial intelligence (AI) will revolutionize modern life in ways that improve human existence. Others say that the promise of AI is overblown. Still others contend that AI applications could pose a grave threat to the economic security of millions of people by taking their jobs and otherwise rendering them "obsolete"--or, even worse, that AI could actually spell the end of the human race. This volume will help users understand the reasons AI development has both spirited defenders and alarmed critics; explain theories and innovations like Moore's Law, mindcloning, and Technological Singularity that drive AI research and debate; and give readers the information they need to make their own informed judgment about the promise and peril of this technology. All of this coverage is presented using language and terminology accessible to a lay audience. Introduction explaining the historical evolution of AI Chronology of important AI-related events Authoritative entries on leading pioneers, entrepreneurs, and thinkers; AI concepts and theories; AI's potential impact on different facets of society; and major movies and other cultural touchstones exploring AI technology
Call Number: Q334.2 .E64 2021
Publication Date: 2021-04-07
The History of Graphic Design. Vol. 1. 1890-1959 by History is a complex business. Fortunes boom and bust, empires wax and wane, and change-whether social, political, or technological-has its winners, its losers, its advocates, and its enemies. Through all the turbulent passage of time, graphic design-with its vivid, neat synthesis of image and idea-has distilled the spirit of each age. This book is an in-depth history of graphic design from the end of the 19th century to the '50s. It traces the evolution of this creative field from its beginning as poster design to its further development into advertising, corporate identity, packaging, and editorial design. Organized chronologically, the volume features over 2,500 seminal designs from all over the world, 71 of which are profiled in detail besides 61 leaders in the field, including Alphonse Mucha (chocolate advertisements), Edward Johnston (London Underground logo and typeface), El Lissitzky (constructivist graphics), Herbert Matter (photomontage travel posters from Switzerland), Saul Bass (animated opening titles), and A. M. Cassandre (art deco posters). With his sweeping knowledge of the field, author Jens Müller curates the standout designs for each year alongside a running sequence of design milestones. Meanwhile, in his introductory essay, David Jury situates graphic design from its point of origin in early printing, engraving, and lithography to striking creative developments in the 19th century. Each consecutive decade is then prefaced by a succinct overview as well as a stunning visual timeline, offering a vivid display of the variety of graphic production in each decade as well as the global landscape which it at once described and defined. As we move on from and reflect upon the 20th century, this first volume examines the foundations of what would influence some of the fastest-changing creative fields. Combined with Volume Two-which spans from the 1960s until today-the tomes offer the most comprehensive exploration of graphic design to date and a long-overdue recognition of its enormous contribution to economics, politics, social causes, the arts, media, and the way we see the world.
Call Number: NC998.4 .H555 2017
Publication Date: 2018-01-05