Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Received During the 2021-2022
Academic School Year:
Biomedical Innovations to Combat COVID-19 by Biomedical Innovations to Combat COVID-19 provides an updated overview on the development of vaccines, antiviral drugs and nanomaterials, and diagnostic methods for the fight against COVID-19. Perspectives on such technologies are identified, discussed, and enriched with figures for easy understanding and applicability. Furthermore, it contains basic aspects of virology, immunology, and antiviral drugs that are needed to fully appreciate these innovations. This book is split into four sections: introduction, presenting basic virologic and epidemiological aspects of COVID-19; vaccines against COVID-19, discussing their different types and applications used to develop them; diagnostic approaches for SARS-CoV-2, encompassing advanced sensing and microfluidic-based biosensors; and drug development and delivery, where antivirals based on nanomaterials or drugs are presented. It is a valuable source for virologists, biotechnologists, and members of biomedical field interested in learning more about how novel technologies can be applied to fasten the eradication of the COVID-19 and similar pandemics.
Call Number: QL698.9 .R375 2022
Publication Date: 2021-10-19
Guttation: Fundamentals and Applications by The phenomenon of guttation finds applications in a wide range of areas, including plant biology, ecology, agriculture, horticulture, animal husbandry, pharmacology and medicine. This unique text provides a comprehensive review of this process. It explores the genetic, environmental, and edaphic factors that control and regulate guttation; and discusses in detail the impact of guttation on soil-plant-animal-environment systems, soil fertility and soil productivity, plant water balance, plant physiological research, ecosystem maintenance, and hydathode retrieval of water and solute. A separate chapter addresses practical applications, such as in the production of recombinant proteins for commercial use, seed protein, alkaloids, pharmaceutical drugs, resins, gums, and rubber. Besides specialists in plant sciences, the book will also appeal to anyone interested in the topic of plant-water relationships.
Call Number: QL677.3 .F88 2021
Publication Date: 2020-05-12
Human Viruses: Diseases, Treatments and Vaccines by This book discusses current evidence on human viruses and provides an extensive coverage of newly emerged viruses and current strategies for treatment. Offering a new perspective in view of the re-emergence of Ebola in African countries and Dengue in India and Pakistan, the contents include chapters on emergence, pathogenicity, epidemiology and vaccine uptake. Human Viruses: Diseases, Treatments and Vaccines: The New Insights discusses a range of viruses from the most common such as Influenza and Hepatitis to Zika, Poliomyelitis and Chikungunya among many others. It is authored by a team of experts on viral disease and will be of immense use to virologists, public health experts and clinicians.
Call Number: RA784 .N887 2021
Publication Date: 2021-05-20
50 Years of Bat Research by With more than 1,400 species, bats are an incredibly diverse and successful group of mammals that can serve as model systems for many unique evolutionary adaptations. Flight has allowed them to master the sky, while echolocation enables them to navigate in the dark. Being small, secretive, nocturnal creatures has made bats a challenge to study, but over the past 50 years, innovative research has made it possible to dispel some of the mystery and myth surrounding them to give us a better understanding of the role these animals play in the ecosystem. The structure of the book is based on several broad themes across the biological sciences, including the evolution of bats, their ecology and behavior, and conservation of biodiversity. Within these themes are more specific topics on important aspects of bat research, such as morphology, molecular biology, echolocation, taxonomy, systematics, threats to bats, social structure, reproduction, movements, and feeding strategies. Given its scope, the book will appeal to the wider scientific community, environmental organizations, and government policymakers who are interested in the interdisciplinary aspects of biology and nature.
Call Number: QL737.C5 F54 2021
Publication Date: 2021-01-24
SARS-CoV-2 Spike Protein Convergent Evolution by This book reviews the current knowledge of the globally circulating SARS-CoV-2 variants, highlights their distinct genetic characteristics and associated conformational changes in the viral spike protein, and profoundly discusses the mechanisms of convergent evolution that led to the rise of these mutated strains at different geographic regions during the Covid-19 pandemic. Furthermore, the book explores how these variants do and may impact the efficacy of established neutralizing antibody-based (nAb) vaccines and therapeutics by analysing latest in vivo and in vitro clinical data. Finally, the author discusses ways on how nAb Covid-19 treatment derived immune escape of SARS-CoV-2 could be minimized in the future.
Call Number: QL676.5 .B355 2020
Publication Date: 2021-10-12
Virulent Zones by Scientists have identified southern China as a likely epicenter for viral pandemics, a place where new viruses emerge out of intensively farmed landscapes and human--animal interactions. In Virulent Zones, Lyle Fearnley documents the global plans to stop the next influenza pandemic at its source, accompanying virologists and veterinarians as they track lethal viruses to China's largest freshwater lake, Poyang Lake. Revealing how scientific research and expert agency operate outside the laboratory, he shows that the search for origins is less a linear process of discovery than a constant displacement toward new questions about cause and context. As scientists strive to understand the environments from which the influenza virus emerges, the unexpected scale of duck farming systems and unusual practices such as breeding wild geese unsettle research objects, push scientific inquiry in new directions, and throw expert authority into question. Drawing on fieldwork with global health scientists, state-employed veterinarians, and poultry farmers in Beijing and at Poyang Lake, Fearnley situates the production of ecological facts about disease emergence inside the shifting cultural landscapes of agrarian change and the geopolitics of global health.
Call Number: RM300 .O55 2021
Publication Date: 2020-10-23
Epidemiological and Molecular Aspects on Cholera by Though cholera is an ancient disease, its perennial occurrence in several parts of the world has attracted many researches to find ways and means to combat the disease. The prevailing seventh pandemic cholera is dominating since 1961, but the dimension of the disease has taken several silhouettes, as the genetic structure and functions of the Vibrio cholerae has changed to a great extent. Several recent studies have shown that transformation of the pathogen at the molecular level has ameliorated several cholera outbreaks and epidemics of with successive new clones of V. cholerae. This comprehensive compilation, written by eminent international researchers reviews the epidemiology of cholera in Africa, Asia, Russia and Latin Americas. The other chapters contributed by acclaimed authors cover various aspects on evolution, polysaccaharide biosynthesis, SXT element, integrons, small molecule signalling systems, flagellar synthesis, filamentous phages, pathogenic role of proteases and hemolysin, and other putative virulence factors. In addition, ecology of V. cholerae and management of cholera were also discussed in detail. This book will be good source of information to all researchers with interests in infectious diseases, microbiology and molecular biology.
Call Number: RA1063.45 .F67 2020
Publication Date: 2012-12-03
The Book of Genes and Genomes by The Book of Genes & Genomes presents a concise overview of the advances in genetics and genomics and provide the unfamiliar reader with a succinct description of many of the applications and implications of this field. Given the substantial investment in genetics and genomics over the past several decades and the many recent discoveries and developments, this book will help the reader begin to understand the importance of genetics and genomics to us all. This exciting new title includes information on how genetics and genomics has advanced our understanding of health and medicine, evolution, and biology, as well as how they are pushing the boundaries of ethics and social values. Assumes no prior knowledge on the part of the reader; Easy to understand writing style, enabling novices to read and speak the "language" of genes and genomes; Inclusion of case-studies that depict how genes and genomics have advanced understanding of health, medicine, evolution and biology, but juxtaposed to ethics and social values; Recommended reading offered to facilitate self study; Clear, up to date and affordable.
Call Number: QH430 .H34 2022
Publication Date: 2022-01-22
The Covid-19 Reader by "This reader offers the most important writing to date from the science of COVID-19 and what science says for its spread and social implications. With carefully selected chapters for an introductory or graduate student readership by a distinguished medical sociology team, this reader is an essential teaching resource on COVID-19"--
Call Number: RA644.C67 C684 2021
Publication Date: 2021-01-01
Forensic Entomology by Forensic Entomology: The Utility of Arthropods in Legal Investigations, Third Editioncontinues in the tradition of the two best-selling prior editions and maintains its status as the single-most comprehensive book on Forensic Entomology currently available. It includes current, in-the-field best practices contributed by top professionals in the field who have advanced it through research and fieldwork over the last several decades. The use of entomology in crime scene and forensic investigations has never been more prevalent or useful given the work that can be done with entomological evidence. The book recounts briefly the many documented historical applications of forensic entomology over several thousand years. Chapters examine the biological foundations of insect biology and scientific underpinnings of forensic entomology, the principles that govern utilizing insects in legal and criminal investigations. The field today is diverse, both in topics studied, researched and practiced, as is the field of professionals that has expanded throughout the world to become a vital forensic sub-discipline. Forensic Entomology, Third Editioncelebrates this diversity by including several new chapters by premier experts in the field that covers such emerging topics as wildlife forensic entomology, microbiomes, urban forensic entomology, and larval insect identification, many of which are covered in depth for the first time. The book will be an invaluable reference for investigators, legal professionals, researchers, practicing and aspiring forensic entomologists, and for the many students enrolled in forensic science and entomology university programs.
Call Number: QH442.2 .C76 2021
Publication Date: 2020-01-03
Role of Birds in Transmitting Zoonotic Pathogens by Zoonotic diseases pose a serious threat to global health and economy. Domestic and wild birds play crucial roles in transmission and spread of important zoonotic pathogens, with significant implications on human and avian health. Although zoonotic diseases have been extensively studied, information on various aspects of avian zoonotic pathogens have not been revisited or revised to any great extent. This book is a comprehensive and updated compilation of important zoonotic diseases that are transmitted by domestic and wild birds, and consists of 21 chapters that meticulously describe the (i) etiology and evolution, (ii) complex epidemiology, such as migration pathways in context of disease transmission, (iii) pathogenesis, (iv) clinical signs and necropsy findings, (v) diagnostics including latest molecular assays, and (vi) preventative and control strategies, with an emphasis on therapeutics and prophylaxis, of important zoonotic pathogens (bacterial, fungal, parasitic and viral) of avian origin in humans and birds. Each chapter is aptly supported by interactive tables and figures, and features an updated reference section. This book aims to create awareness and enlighten students of veterinary and human medicine on the role of birds in zoonoses, and would serve as a useful reference for working veterinarians, human doctors, and public health experts.
Call Number: RA641.B5 R65 2021
Publication Date: 2021-12-22
Introduction to Population Biology by How do plant and animal populations change genetically to evolve and adapt to their local environments? How do populations grow and interact with one another through competition and predation? How does behaviour influence ecology and evolution? This second edition of Dick Neal's unique textbook on population biology addresses these questions and offers a comprehensive analysis of evolutionary theory in the areas of ecology, population genetics, and behaviour. Taking a quantitative and Darwinian perspective, Neal uses mathematical models to develop the basic theory of population processes. Key features in this edition include new chapters on inbreeding and species interactions and community structure, a modified structure in Part II, more recent empirical examples to illustrate the application of theoretical models to the world around us, and end-of-chapter problems to help students with self-assessment. A series of spreadsheet simulations have also been conveniently located online, for students to further improve their understanding of such models.
Call Number: RA644.C67
Publication Date: 2018-11-29
Seed Money by Monsanto, a St. Louis chemical firm that became the world's largest maker of genetically engineered seeds, merged with German pharma-biotech giant Bayer in 2018?but its Roundup Ready? seeds, introduced twenty-five years ago, are still reshaping the farms that feed us. When researchers found trace amounts of the firm's blockbuster herbicide in breakfast cereal bowls, Monsanto faced public outcry. Award-winning historian Bartow J. Elmore shows how the Roundup story is just one of the troubling threads of Monsanto's past, many told here and woven together for the first time. A company employee sitting on potentially explosive information who weighs risking everything to tell his story. A town whose residents are urged to avoid their basements because Monsanto's radioactive waste laces their homes' foundations. Factory workers who peel off layers of their skin before accepting cash bonuses to continue dirty jobs. An executive wrestling with the ethics of selling a profitable product he knew was toxic. Incorporating global fieldwork, interviews with company employees, and untapped corporate and government records, Elmore traces Monsanto's astounding evolution from a scrappy chemical startup to a global agribusiness powerhouse. Monsanto used seed money derived from toxic products?including PCBs and Agent Orange?to build an agricultural empire, promising endless bounty through its genetically engineered technology. Skyrocketing sales of Monsanto's new Roundup Ready system stunned even those in the seed trade, who marveled at the influx of cash and lavish incentives into their sleepy sector. But as new data emerges about the Roundup system, and as Bayer faces a tide of lawsuits over Monsanto products past and present, Elmore's urgent history shows how our food future is still very much tethered to the company's chemical past.
Call Number: RA644.I6 F44 2020
Publication Date: 2021-10-12
Bird Migration by A fascinating and nuanced exploration of why, how, and which birds migrate. Bird migration captivates the human imagination, yet for most of us, key aspects of the phenomenon remain a mystery. How do birds sense the ideal moment to take wing, and once the epic journey has begun, how do they find their distant destinations? Fresh insights about avian movements are still constantly emerging, powered by new tools like molecular genetics and transmitter miniaturization. In this book, renowned ornithologist and author John H. Rappole reveals intriguing results of recent scientific studies on migration, explaining their importance for birders, nature lovers, and researchers alike. Debunking misconceptions about the lives of birds that have persisted for thousands of years, Rappole explores unexpected causes and previously misunderstood aspects of the annual migration cycle. From the role of migrating birds in zoonotic disease transmission to climate change's impact on migration patterns, Rappole tackles crucial questions and ensures that readers come away with a new understanding of why and how birds migrate.
Call Number: QP98 .B36 2020
Publication Date: 2022-02-22
Waterlogging Signalling and Tolerance in Plants by In the last half century, because of the raising world population and because of the many environmental issues posed by the industrialization, the amount of arable land per person has declined from 0.32 ha in 1961-1963 to 0.21 ha in 1997-1999 and is expected to drop further to 0.16 ha by 2030 and therefore is a severe menace to food security (FAO 2006). At the same time, about 12 million ha of irrigated land in the developing world has lost its productivity due to waterlogging and salinity. Waterlogging is a major problem for plant cultivation in many regions of the world. The reasons are in part due to climatic change that leads to the increased number of precipitations of great intensity, in part to land degradation. Considering India alone, the total area suffering from waterlogging is estimated to be about 3.3 million ha (Bhattacharya 1992), the major causes of waterlogging include super- ous irrigation supplies, seepage losses from canal, impeded sub-surface drainage, and lack of proper land development. In addition, many irrigated areas are s- jected to yield decline because of waterlogging due to inadequate drainage systems. Worldwide, it has been estimated that at least one-tenth of the irrigated cropland suffers from waterlogging.
Call Number: RC55 .P375 2020
Publication Date: 2010-02-26
How Birds Evolve by A marvelous journey into the world of bird evolution How Birds Evolve explores how evolution has shaped the distinctive characteristics and behaviors we observe in birds today. Douglas Futuyma describes how evolutionary science illuminates the wonders of birds, ranging over topics such as the meaning and origin of species, the evolutionary history of bird diversity, and the evolution of avian reproductive behaviors, plumage ornaments, and social behaviors. In this multifaceted book, Futuyma examines how birds evolved from nonavian dinosaurs and reveals what we can learn from the "family tree" of birds. He looks at the ways natural selection enables different forms of the same species to persist, and discusses how adaptation by natural selection accounts for the diverse life histories of birds and the rich variety of avian parenting styles, mating displays, and cooperative behaviors. He explains why some parts of the planet have so many more species than others, and asks what an evolutionary perspective brings to urgent questions about bird extinction and habitat destruction. Along the way, Futuyma provides an insider's perspective on how biologists practice evolutionary science, from studying the fossil record to comparing DNA sequences among and within species. A must-read for bird enthusiasts and curious naturalists, How Birds Evolve shows how evolutionary biology helps us better understand birds and their natural history, and how the study of birds has informed all aspects of evolutionary science since the time of Darwin.
Call Number: RA644.V55 H86 2021
Publication Date: 2021-10-19
Acute Care Handbook for Physical Therapists by Get all the essential information you need to effectively treat and manage patients in a complex acute care setting with Acute Care Handbook for Physical Therapists, 5th Edition. This easy-to-follow guide is the perfect resource to help any rehabilitation professional better understand and interpret hospital protocol, safety, medical-surgical "lingo," and the many aspects of patient care in the hospital setting - from the emergency department to the intensive care unit to the general ward. And with extensively updated content reflecting the latest evidence-based information, this new fifth edition contains everything you need to succeed in today's fast-paced acute care environment. Evidenced-based information is woven throughout the guide to ensure you are equipped with the proven knowledge needed to manage the acuity of patients in the hospital environment. Up-to-date content on medications, laboratory tests, diagnostics, and intervention methods that is relevant to patients in the acute care environment helps you gain insight on how these aspects are affected by the acute care setting. Easy-to-read algorithms, tables, boxes, and clinical tips highlight key information and makes finding and understanding information easier. NEW! Revised content throughout the text reflects the latest information on the complex and fast-paced acute care setting. NEW! Expanded chapters on outcome measures, mechanical circulatory support, and chest pain. NEW! Redesigned airway clearance chapter. NEW! Reformatted nervous system chapter to enhance clinical integration of content. NEW! Enhanced access to information on lines and tubes.
Call Number: QP551 .P695 2021
Publication Date: 2019-10-25
Crispr by The book presents a machine-generated literature review on CRISPR (clustered regularly interspaced short palindromic repeats) from 114 selected papers published by Springer Nature in the last few years, which are then organized by the book editors with a human-written introduction to each chapter. Each chapter presents summaries of predefined themes and provides the reader with a basis for further exploration of the topic. As one of the experimental projects initiated by Springer Nature for AI book content generation, this book shows the latest developments in the CRISPR field. It will be a useful reference for graduate students who are interested in CRISPR-related research and early-career researchers who need an overview of the current development of the field.
Call Number: QH450 .C75 2022
Publication Date: 2022-02-22
Advances in CRISPR/Cas and Related Technologies by Advances in CRISPR/Cas and related technologies, Volume 179, the latest release in this ongoing series, deals with a wide variety of research topics related to recent advancement in the genome editing techniques. Associated chapters in this new release include Challenges for Therapeutic application of CRISPR Cas techniques, Mitochondrial DNA modification by CRISPR Cas System: Challenges and future direction, Trends in CRISPR Cas technology application in cancer, Modified CRISPR-Cas for next generation application, Application of CRISPR Cas in Synthetic Biology: Challenges and Scopes, History of CRISPR Cas system from bacterial Adaptive Immune System to research application, and more.
Call Number: RA644.C67 B56 2022
Publication Date: 2021-03-08
Human Parasitic Diseases by A must-have for parasite identification. Coverage is complete, including well-recognized species of parasites as well as information on those less commonly encountered. This complete expansion of the classic Atlas of Human Parasitology is the perfect reference to have at hand when you need to view the unknown and assimilate your findings into a clinical context. Number of plates has nearly doubled from 110 (in 5th Edition Atlas) to 213 in the new book 1,500 images, including clinical and gross photos Comprehensive information on over 100 parasites of humans Illustrates parasites in feces, blood and lab preps, and also parasites in tissue sections where morphology can be the most challenging Discusses where serology and molecular methods are useful (in conjunction with or in place of morphology) Covers microanatomy of parasites as an aid to tissue diagnosis Additional treatment of artifacts, and illustrates arthropods responsible for transmission Incorporates illustrated keys for quick diagnosis of protozoa, helminth eggs, microfilariae and filariform larvae
Call Number: QH352 .N43 2019
Publication Date: 2020-05-30
Blood Relations by Blood is messy, dangerous, and charged with meaning. By following it as it circulates through people and institutions, Jenny Bangham explores the intimate connections between the early infrastructures of blood transfusion and the development of human genetics. Focusing on mid-twentieth-century Britain, Blood Relations connects histories of eugenics to the local politics of giving blood, showing how the exchange of blood carved out networks that made human populations into objects of medical surveillance and scientific research. Bangham reveals how biology was transformed by two world wars, how scientists have worked to define racial categories, and how the practices and rhetoric of public health made genetics into a human science. Today, genetics is a powerful authority on human health and identity, and Blood Relations helps us understand how this authority was achieved.
Call Number: RA644.C3 E65 2011
Publication Date: 2020-11-16
The Forgotten Clones by Long before scientists at the Roslin Institute in Scotland cloned Dolly the sheep in 1996, American developmental biologist and aspiring cancer researcher Robert Briggs successfully performed the technique of nuclear transplantation by cloning frog nuclei in 1952. Although the history of cloning is often associated with contemporary ethical controversies, The Forgotten Clones revisits the influential work of scientists like Briggs, Thomas King, and Marie DiBerardino, before the possibility of human cloning and its ethical implications first registered as a concern in public consciousness, and when many thought the very idea of cloning was experimentally impossible. By focusing instead on new laboratory techniques and practices and their place in Anglo-American science and society in the mid-twentieth century, Nathan Crowe demonstrates how embryos constructed in the lab were only later reconstructed as ethical problems. His book illuminates the importance of the early history of cloning for the biosciences and their institutional, disciplinary, and intellectual contexts, as well as the changing relationship between science and society after the Second World War.
Call Number: QK871 .S56 2020
Publication Date: 2021-12-07
Nutrition, Food and Diet in Ageing and Longevity by This edited volume is a compilation of 30 articles discussing what constitutes food for health and longevity. The aim is to provide up-to-date information, insights, and future tendencies in the ongoing scientific research about nutritional components, food habits and dietary patterns in different cultures. The health-sustaining and health-promoting effects of food are certainly founded in its overall composition of macronutrients and micronutrients. However, the consumption of these nutrients is normally in the form of raw or prepared food from the animal and plant sources. The book is divided into four parts and a conclusion, and successfully convenes the well-established information and knowledge, along with the personal views of a diversified group of researchers and academicians on the multifaceted aspects of nutrition, food and diet. The first part reviews the scientific information about proteins, carbohydrates, fats and oils, micronutrients, pro- and pre-biotics, and hormetins, along with a discussion of the evolutionary principles and constraints about what is optimal food, if any. The second part discusses various kinds of foods and food supplements with respect to their claimed benefits for general health and prevention of some diseases. The third part brings in the cultural aspects, such as what are the principles of healthy eating according to the traditional Chinese and Indian systems, what is the importance of mealing times and daily rhythms, and how different cultures have developed different folk wisdoms for eating for health, longevity and immortality. In the part four, various approaches which are either already in practice or are still in the testing and research phases are discussed and evaluated critically, for example intermittent fasting and calorie restriction, food-based short peptides, senolytics, Ayurvedic compounds, optimal food for old people, and food for the prevention of obesity and other metabolic disorders. The overreaching aim of this book is to inform, inspire and encourage students, researchers, educators and medical health professionals thinking about food and food habits in a holistic context of our habits, cultures and patterns. Food cannot be reduced to a pill of nutritional components. Eating food is a complex human behavior culturally evolved over thousands of years. Perhaps the old adage "we are what we eat" needs to be modified to "we eat what we are".
Call Number: HD9482.U64 M644 2021
Publication Date: 2021-10-04
The Bird-Friendly City by How does a bird experience a city? A backyard? A park? As the world has become more urban, noisier from increased traffic, and brighter from streetlights and office buildings, it has also become more dangerous for countless species of birds. Warblers become disoriented by nighttime lights and collide with buildings. Ground-feeding sparrows fall prey to feral cats. Hawks and other birds-of-prey are sickened by rat poison. These name just a few of the myriad hazards. How do our cities need to change in order to reduce the threats, often created unintentionally, that have resulted in nearly three billion birds lost in North America alone since the 1970s? In The Bird-Friendly City, Timothy Beatley, a longtime advocate for intertwining the built and natural environments, takes readers on a global tour of cities that are reinventing the status quo with birds in mind. Efforts span a fascinating breadth of approaches: public education, urban planning and design, habitat restoration, architecture, art, civil disobedience, and more. Beatley shares empowering examples, including: advocates for "catios," enclosed outdoor spaces that allow cats to enjoy backyards without being able to catch birds; a public relations campaign for vultures; and innovations in building design that balance aesthetics with preventing bird strikes. Through these changes and the others Beatley describes, it is possible to make our urban environments more welcoming to many bird species. Readers will come away motivated to implement and advocate for bird-friendly changes, with inspiring examples to draw from. Whether birds are migrating and need a temporary shelter or are taking up permanent residence in a backyard, when the environment is safer for birds, humans are happier as well.
Call Number: S623 .W38 2010
Publication Date: 2020-11-05
You Bet Your Life by One of America's top physicians traces the history of risk in medicine--with powerful lessons for today Every medical decision--whether to have chemotherapy, an X-ray, or surgery--is a risk, no matter which way you choose. In You Bet Your Life, physician Paul A. Offit argues that, from the first blood transfusions four hundred years ago to the hunt for a COVID-19 vaccine, risk has been essential to the discovery of new treatments. More importantly, understanding the risks is crucial to whether, as a society or as individuals, we accept them. Told in Offit's vigorous and rigorous style, You Bet Your Life is an entertaining history of medicine. But it also lays bare the tortured relationships between intellectual breakthroughs, political realities, and human foibles. Our pandemic year has shown us, with its debates over lockdowns, masks, and vaccines, how easy it is to get everything wrong. You Bet Your Life is an essential read for getting the future a bit more right.
Call Number: RC119 .A83 2020
Publication Date: 2021-09-21
Zika Virus Biology, Transmission, and Pathways by Zika Virus Biology, Transmission, and Pathways: The Neuroscience of Zika, Volume One provides a detailed introduction to the molecular biology of the Zika virus and its features, transmission, and impact on neurological systems. Designed to better readers' understanding of the Zika virus, this volume features chapters on the immune response, molecular mechanisms, and other areas to better understand underlying pathways. This book has applicability for neuroscientists, neurologists, virologists and anyone working to better understand the evolution and pathogenesis of Zika virus-related conditions.
Call Number: RA644.Z56 Z55 2021
Publication Date: 2021-07-12
Lifecycles of Pathogenic Protists in Humans by This volume covers the most important parasitic protists that are known to infect humans. The pathogens discussed cause diseases like toxoplasmosis, malaria, cryptosporidiosis, leishmaniasis, amoebiasis, trichomoniasis, and giardiasis. Readers from microbiology will appreciate the special focus on protist cell biology. As demonstrated in several of the chapters, these parasites are characterized by peculiar structures and organelles that cannot be found in mammalian cells - even though both are eukaryotic. The book employs light and electron microscopy to display the changing morphology in various stages of parasitic development. In turn, the results are supplemented by transcriptome and proteome profiles that help to describe how these changes take place on a molecular level. Both researchers and clinicians from tropical medicine will find essential and practically applicable background information on these increasingly important pathogens.
Call Number: QR251 .L54 2022
Publication Date: 2022-02-01