Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Databases for Scholarly Articles
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
(approximately 1880s to date)
Provides abstracts and full-text articles from more than 10,000 books, scholarly journals, magazines, newspapers, and reference works on a wide variety of topics.
America: History and Life This link opens in a new window
(1964 to date)
Covers United States and Canadian history from earliest times to the present. Includes abstracts of articles (summaries), and full-text articles.
Historical Abstracts This link opens in a new window
(1954 to date)
Covers all aspects of history (excluding the United States and Canada) from 1450 to the present. Includes abstracts of articles (summaries), and full-text articles.
Humanities International Complete This link opens in a new window
(coverage varies; approximately 1985 to date)
Provides the full text of hundreds of magazines, journals, books, and other works.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
(1800s to the last 1-5 years)
A full-text collection of scholarly journals in a wide variety of disciplines in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences. To focus your search, use the Advanced Search and the "narrow by discipline" and "language" limiters.
Project MUSE This link opens in a new window
(coverage varies; mostly 1995 to date)
Provides online access to more than 400 scholarly journals in the humanities, arts, and social sciences.
Other Useful Databases
Ancestry Library Edition This link opens in a new window
Provides genealogical and historical information.
Biography and Genealogy Master Index This link opens in a new window
An index to millions of biographical sketches in hundreds of reference books and other sources. To use the index, 1) Look up your name. 2) Note the various titles that contain information on the person. 3) Use the Libraries' online catalog to locate the reference works. An excellent place to begin biographical research on living and deceased persons from around the world.
Issues & Controversies This link opens in a new window
(1995 to date)
Since 1995, Issues and Controversies has covered the most "prominent and hotly debated issues of the day," offering in-depth analyses, pro-con articles, and bibliographies.
Social Sciences Full Text This link opens in a new window
(1983 to date; full text 1995 to date)
Indexes and abstracts more than 625 journals in the fields of political science, psychology, sociology, gender studies, and other disciplinary fields in the social sciences.
Having trouble accessing a database?