Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Use these resources for researching historic preservation topics in Fredericksburg and surrounding areas.
Local Resources Provided by UMW
Ancestry Library Edition
One of the largest online family history resources available, Ancestry.com provides unprecedented access to family history via documents that record the lineage of individuals from the United States, Canada, the United Kingdom, Europe, Australia, and more.
Mutual Assurance Society Policies, 1796-1865 (online index)
A database that indexes the policies of the Mutual Assurance Society of Virginia. The index is also in print in Simpson Library (REFB F 226 .M871). The policies themselves are on 23 reels of microfilm, in the grey microfilm cabinets on the first floor of the library, at F 226 .M87.
Mutual Assurance Society Policies (print index)
Call Number: REFB F 226 .M87 Index
The call number of the microfilm policies themselves is F 226 .M87.
The 23 reels are located in the gray microfilm cabinets on the first floor of Simpson Library.
Fredericksburg Circuit Court Archives
The Circuit Court Archives are located at 701 Princess Anne Street.
The Fredericksburg Circuit Court Archive provides rich genealogical and historical research data from "loose papers" attached to cases tried at Fredericksburg, Virginia. Since Fredericksburg served as an important transportation hub from early colonial days, several important courts sat here, and served a large geographical area-from Virginia's Tidewater to lands once part of the Commonwealth as far west as the Mississippi River. These records survived destruction during the Civil War, and thus offer an unusually complete record of local and regional history as well as America's movement west.
Fredericksburg Circuit Court - Historic Court Records
"Historic Court Records consists of extracts, transcripts and indices of records in repository in the Fredericksburg Circuit Court Archives, Fredericksburg, Virginia."
Spotsylvania Circuit Court
Click on "Online Services" at left for Spotsylvania County, Virginia, Circuit Court records. Note that "authorization from the local circuit court is required to access this information."
Stafford Circuit Court
Click on "Online Services" at left for Stafford County, Virginia, Circuit Court records. Note that "authorization from the local circuit court is required to access this information."