Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Historic Preservation Databases
Other Useful Databases
America: History and Life
(1964 to date)
Covers United States and Canadian history from earliest times to the present. Includes abstracts of articles (summaries), and full-text articles.
American Antiquarian Society (AAS) Historical Periodicals Collection
Provides digital access to more than 6,500 American magazines and journals published between 1691 and 1877. (Because all issues of bound volumes were digitized, some periodicals beyond 1877 are included.)
American Periodicals Series Online
(1741 to 1940)
Provides digitized images of more than 1,000 American magazines, journals, and newspapers.
Ancestry Library Edition
Provides genealogical and historical information.
A collection of more than 2.5 million high-resolution images, mostly relating to arts (including architecture and decorative arts).
Biography and Genealogy Master Index
An index to millions of biographical sketches in hundreds of reference books and other sources. To use the index, 1) Look up your name. 2) Note the various titles that contain information on the person. 3) Use Quest to locate the reference books in Simpson Library. An excellent place to begin biographical research on living and deceased persons from around the world.
Dissertations & Theses Global
"Offers full text for most of the dissertations added since 1997 and strong retrospective full text coverage for older graduate works."
(1954 to date)
Covers all aspects of history (excluding the United States and Canada) from 1450 to the present. Includes abstracts of articles (summaries), and full-text articles.
Humanities Full Text
(indexing: 1984 to date; select full text: 1995 to date)
Indexes some 600 journals in the humanities.
Humanities International Complete
(coverage varies; approximately 1985 to date)
Provides the full text of hundreds of magazines, journals, books, and other works.
(archived publications from the 1800s to the last 1-5 years).
A full-text collection of scholarly journals in a wide variety of disciplines in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences. To focus your search, use the Advanced Search and the "narrow by discipline" and "language" limiters.
OmniFile Full Text Mega Edition
(1982 to date)
A multidisciplinary database that provides the full text from a variety of the company's full-text databases, including Education, General Science, Humanities, Readers' Guide, Social Sciences, and Business. When available, the full text is included from these databases: Applied Science & Technology, Art, Biological & Agricultural Index, Index to Legal Periodicals & Books, and Library Literature & Information Science. Coverage dates: Indexing, 1982+; Abstracting, 1984+; select full text, 1994+ (start dates for full-text coverage vary from journal to journal within a database).
(coverage varies; mostly 1995 to date)
Provides online access to more than 400 scholarly journals in the humanities, arts, and social sciences.
ProQuest Historical Newspapers
Provides full-text and full-image articles for the New York Times, the Washington Post, and the Chicago Tribune. Users can search the newspapers separately or together.
Having trouble accessing a database?