Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
The purpose of a reference book is to provide you with an overview of a topic. Once you have an overview of a topic, you’ll have a better idea of what to search for in Quest and the library catalog.
Some of these are e-books and some are only available on the first floor of Simpson Library.
The New Oxford Book of Food Plants by The Oxford Book of Food Plants is a beautifully illustrated compendium of facts about the plants we grow in our gardens and use in our cooking. Gorgeous botanical illustrations are accompanied by accessible yet authoritative descriptions of each plant, along with fascinating historicaldetails and nutritive values.This is a new edition of a classic book -- fully updated with the latest nutritional research, as well as beautiful new plates and descriptions of many exotic edible plants that have only recently found their way into our markets and onto our kitchen tables -- it is a must-have for anyone who lovesgood food, cooking, and gardening.
Call Number: eBook
Publication Date: 2009
Encyclopedia of Food and Agricultural Ethics This Encyclopedia offers a definitive source on issues pertaining to the full range of topics in the important new area of food and agricultural ethics. It includes summaries of historical approaches, current scholarship, social movements, and new trends from the standpoint of the ethical notions that have shaped them. It combines detailed analyses of specific topics such as the role of antibiotics in animal production, the Green Revolution, and alternative methods of organic farming, with longer entries that summarize general areas of scholarship and explore ways that they are related. Renewed debate, discussion and inquiry into food and agricultural topics have become a hallmark of the turn toward more sustainable policies and lifestyles in the 21st century. Attention has turned to the goals and ethical rationale behind production, distribution and consumption of food, as well as to non-food uses of cultivated biomass and the products of animal husbandry. These wide-ranging debates encompass questions in human nutrition, animal rights and the environmental impacts of aquaculture and agricultural production. Each of these and related topics is both technically complex and involves an - often implicit - ethical dimension. Other topics include methods for integrating ethics into scientific and technical research programs or development projects, the role of intensive agriculture and biotechnology in addressing persistent world hunger and the role of crops, forests and engineered organisms in making a transition to renewable, carbon-neutral sources of energy. The Encyclopedia of Food and Agricultural Ethics proves an indispensible reference point for future research and writing on topics in agriculture and food ethics for decades to come.
Call Number: eBook
Publication Date: 2014
Food Cultures of the World Encyclopedia - Europe by This comprehensive reference work introduces food culture from more than 150 countries and cultures around the world--including some from remote and unexpected peoples and places. * Entries covering over 150 countries and cultures from around the world * More than 100 expert contributors * Vignettes * An index that facilitates cross-cultural comparison
Call Number: eBook
Publication Date: 2011
The Cambridge World History of Food by This two-volume set is an excellent starting point for your research project! The set contains articles on particular crops, e.g. “Tomatoes” or “Coconuts.” Each article describes the history of a crop from its domestication to the present day. Some articles include numerical data about agriculture or nutrition. All articles have lengthy bibliographies.
Publication Date: 1999
Encyclopedia of Food and Culture A three-volume set, similar to the The Cambridge World History of Food, but with a greater focus on society and culture. In addition to articles about particular crops, this book also includes articles such as “Barbeque,” “Comfort Food,” “Food Archaeology,” “Greenhouse Horticulture,” “Marketing of Food,” “Organic Food,” and “Salad.”
Call Number: Simpson Reference GT 2850 .E53 2003
Publication Date: 2002
Quest - Article Search
Click the "Find Articles" tab at the top of this page and use the Quest search option to locate articles on your topics.
Book Search - Subject Headings
When searching the Catalog by subject heading, change the "Anywhere" option to "Subject."
- Agriculture - History
- Food industry and trade
- Food - History
- Food Habits
Browsing for Books
- TX 345 to TX 900 - books about food (2nd floor)
- GT 2850 to GT 3020 - a small section of books about food customs (3rd floor)
Countries and Crops
CIA World Factbook: Country Comparisons
Under the "Geography" and "Economy" tabs for each country, readers will find a breakdown of a land use, climate, agriculture products, labor force, and environmental issues.
Statistics on global agricultural production, broken down by crop and by country. Provided by the Food and Agriculture Organization of the United Nations.
FDA: Produce Commodity Informational Library
These videos and documents provide an overview of growing, harvesting, packing and holding practices of the specified commodity. (United States focus)
Agricultural Marketing Resource Center
From the USDA, provides an overview of the marketing and production of different vegetables.
Global Crop Production Maps
Maps of where certain crops are grown in countries.
Our World in Data: Food and Agriculture
Statistics and graphs on major areas of importance in global agriculture and food distribution.
World Agricultural Production Reports
Monthly report on crop acreage, yield and production in major countries worldwide. Sources include reporting from FAS’s worldwide offices, official statistics of foreign governments, and analysis of economic data and satellite imagery.
Where our food crops come from
Explore the geographic origins of our food crops – where they were initially domesticated and evolved over time – and discover how important these “primary regions of diversity” are to our current diets and agricultural production areas.
World Produce Maps (2018)
A look at where fresh fruits and vegetables go across the globe.