Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
UMW Libraries
Simpson Library | Special Collections

FSEM 100G4: Race and Revolution: Home

Instructions

Instructions: Please read all three pages of this guide, using the tabs to navigate from page to page, and watch the embedded videos.

 

I recommend taking notes.

Your research assignments

You have several assignments, and two of them require library research:

Research project on Civil Rights Movement Figure, 40% of total grade.  You will complete a research project in several parts about a figure in the Civil Rights Movement.

This project includes the following elements:

  • Research paper
  • Research Project Proposal and Annotated Bibliography
  • Research Logs
  • Presentation, 10% of total grade. 

Get on the Bus!  25% of total grade.  For this part of your grade, you will work on a project personal to you related to the Unfinished Business of the Civil Rights Movement.  You will investigate a contemporary issue about which you are passionate, something near and dear to your heart. Think of answering the question:  For what issue would you get on the bus?

This project includes the following elements:

  • Topic Proposal & Annotated Bibliography
  • Action Plan Templates
  • In-Class Presentation

What is an annotated bibliography?

  • "Annotated" means "with notes."
  • A bibliography is a list of sources.

Therefore, an annotated bibliography is a list of sources with notes on each source.

For more info about annotated bibliographies, see this page from the Excelsior College Online Writing Lab. (Note that Excelsior provides a sample bibliography, but it is in APA style, which this class does not use.)

How to get help

Clip art of a large yellow question mark in front of two booksThe UMW librarians are ready and waiting to help you!

Call us at 540-654-1148
Text us at 855-266-4542
Email Peter Catlin, the librarian for this course, at pcatlin@umw.edu

 

 

 

For more help with your research, click here to make an appointment with Peter Catlin. Appointments usually last about 20 minutes, and can be held over Zoom or in Peter's office (your choice).

Reference Librarian

Profile Photo
Peter Catlin

Other guides

Advice and recommendations for FSEMs in general, and for History research.

The Citing Resources guide gives you examples of perfectly-formatted citations. Zotero is a free app that keeps track of the sources you've found, and generates citations without any typing.