Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
UMW Libraries
Simpson Library | Special Collections

Resources for Faculty: Resources for Teaching

Subject Librarians

Subject Area Departments and Programs Librarian Phone
Humanities
Classics, Philosophy, and Religion
Communication and Digital Studies
English and Linguistics
Modern Foreign Languages
Rosemary Arneson 654-1147
Humanities Art and Art History
Historic Preservation
History and American Studies
Music
Theatre and Dance
Peter Catlin 654-2438
Social Sciences Anthropology
College of Business
College of Education
Economics
Political Science and International Affairs
Psychology
Sociology
Elizabeth Heitsch 654-1742
Sciences Biology
Chemistry
Computer Science
Earth and Environmental Science
Geography
Health and Physical Education
Mathematics
Nursing
Physics
Paul Boger 654-1748
Special Collections Book Arts & History
Special Collections (Rare Books & Serials)
University Archives
Carolyn S. Parsons 654-1752

Getting What You Need

Interlibrary Loan (ILL)

We work with an international network of libraries to obtain books, journal articles, dissertations, and other materials that you need but that are not owned by the UMW libraries. Requests are submitted electronically through Interlibrary Loan. For more information about our ILL services, visit our ILL page or email us at ill@umw.edu.
 
 

Requesting the Purchase of Items

Faculty may request that UMW Libraries purchase materials to be added to our collections. All requests will be considered, but given the size of the University and the finite resources allocated to the Libraries, it is impossible to provide all the materials that may be necessary or desirable. For more information on our selection guidelines, please see our Collection Development Policy. To submit a request, please use our Purchase Request Form.

Course Reserves

Faculty may place items on reserve at Simpson Library. We will scan reserve materials and make those available to your students through the Library Reading List link in your Canvas course. To submit materials for reserve, please complete the Course Reserve Materials Form.

The Library Reading List function allows you to link resources from our collection to your course in Canvas. It is an easy way for you to make sure that your students have access to the course readings, without your having to worry about connectivity issues. This guide provides more information on creating and maintaining your reading lists.

You can also reach out to Olivia Key, our Reserves & Library Reading List Supervisor, with any questions about Reserves or Library Reading Lists.

Research Instruction

Our Librarians are available to provide course-specific research instruction to your classes. To request research instruction, please contact the Subject Librarian for your area. You can email your Subject Librarian directly or use our Instruction Request Form to request research instruction for your class. The form will be directed to the librarian serving your area.

Research instruction may involve one or two in-the-library sessions, virtual presentations, participation in a synchronous Q&A session, or having a librarian embedded in your class. Let us know how we can best help you and your students!

We also encourage your students to make research appointments with the appropriate Subject Librarian to discuss their research assignments. Subject Librarians' contact information and appointment request forms are available on our Research Assistance page.

First Year Seminar Support

Each FSEM has an assigned librarian. Your librarian will work with you to help your FSEM students develop the library research skills that they'll need in your class and throughout their time in college. Most FSEMs visit the library for a hands-on workshop with a librarian.

The library also provides an online guide, which replaces the modules used in previous years, and a quiz for your students to take. Two sections of the guide, and the quiz, are required for all FSEM students; for details about these requirements, please speak with April Wynn, the Director of the First-Year Experience.

If you're not sure which librarian is assigned to your FSEM, email the library at refdesk@umw.edu.

Featured Guides

Research & Reference Guides