Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Best Databases for English
(Previously known as Literature Resources from Gale)
Provides access to critical and biographical information on living and deceased authors from around the world.
MLA International Bibliography with Full Text
(1926 to date)
A comprehensive index to articles and books on language, literature, and the dramatic arts.
Other Useful Databases for English
American Antiquarian Society (AAS) Historical Periodicals Collection
Provides digital access to more than 6,500 American magazines and journals published between 1691 and 1877. (Because all issues of bound volumes were digitized, some periodicals beyond 1877 are included.)
American Periodicals Series Online
(1741 to 1940)
Provides digitized images of more than 1,000 American magazines, journals, and newspapers.
Biography and Genealogy Master Index
An index to millions of biographical sketches in hundreds of reference books and other sources. To use the index, 1) Look up your name. 2) Note the various titles that contain information on the person. 3) Use the Libraries' online catalog to locate the reference works. An excellent place to begin biographical research on living and deceased persons from around the world.
Dissertations & Theses Global
"Offers full text for most of the dissertations added since 1997 and strong retrospective full text coverage for older graduate works."
Humanities Full Text
(indexing: 1984 to date; select full text: 1995 to date)
Indexes some 600 journals in the humanities.
Humanities International Complete
(coverage varies; approximately 1985 to date)
Provides the full text of hundreds of magazines, journals, books, and other works.
Issues & Controversies
Since 1995, Issues and Controversies has covered the most "prominent and hotly debated issues of the day," offering in-depth analyses, pro-con articles, and bibliographies.
(archived publications from the 1800s to the last 1-5 years)
A full-text collection of scholarly journals in a wide variety of disciplines in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences. To focus your search, use the Advanced Search and the "narrow by discipline" and "language" limiters.
(coverage varies by publication)
Furnishes full-text coverage of thousands of reference books, biographies, and primary source documents.
A guide to finding newspaper articles maintained by UMW Libraries.
Nexis Uni (LexisNexis Academic)
(coverage varies; mostly 1980s to date)
Contains full-text articles from newspapers, magazines, legal and business sources, reference books, and other works.
To find articles in the Free Lance-Star, click on “Advanced Search” and select “News” after clicking on “Select a specific content type.” In the lower portion of the search screen, under “Document Segments / Fields,” enter Free Lance-Star in the “Publication” window. Enter your search terms, be sure to click on “Add" after filling out each drop-down window. Click “Search” when finished.
OmniFile Full Text Mega Edition
(1982 to date)
A multidisciplinary database that provides the full text from a variety of the company's full-text databases, including Education, General Science, Humanities, Readers' Guide, Social Sciences, and Business. When available, the full text is included from these databases: Applied Science & Technology, Art, Biological & Agricultural Index, Index to Legal Periodicals & Books, and Library Literature & Information Science. Coverage dates: Indexing, 1982+; Abstracting, 1984+; select full text, 1994+ (start dates for full-text coverage vary from journal to journal within a database).
Oxford English Dictionary
The OED provides more than just definitions of words -- it also provides pronunciations, variant forms, word frequencies, etymologies, and examples of word use throughout history.
(coverage varies; mostly 1995 to date)
Provides online access to more than 400 scholarly journals in the humanities, arts, and social sciences.
ProQuest Historical Newspapers
Provides full-text and full-image articles for the New York Times, the Washington Post, and the Chicago Tribune. Users can search the newspapers separately or together.
A small database of reference works (background information), including Critical Insights, Critical Surveys, and Magill's Literary Annuals.
Something About the Author Online
Examines the "lives and works of authors and illustrators for children and young adults."
Having trouble accessing a database?