Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
General Reference Books
Brill's New Pauly, Encyclopaedia of the Ancient World: Classical Tradition by BRILL'S NEW PAULY is the English edition of the authoritative DER NEUE PAULY, published by Verlag J.B. Metzler since 1996. The encyclopaedic coverage and high academic standard of the work, the interdisciplinary and contemporary approach and clear and accessible presentation have made the NEW PAULY the unrivalled modern reference work for the ancient world.Fifteen volumes (Antiquity, 1-15) of BRILL'S NEW PAULY are devoted to Greco-Roman antiquity and cover more than two thousand years of history, ranging from the second millennium BC to early medieval Europe. Special emphasis is given to the interaction between Greco-Roman culture on the one hand, and Semitic, Celtic, Germanic, and Slavonic culture, and ancient Judaism, Christianity, and Islam on the other hand.Five volumes (Classical Tradition, I-V) are uniquely concerned with the long and influential aftermath of antiquity and the process of continuous reinterpretation and revaluation of the ancient heritage, including the history of classical scholarship.BRILL'S NEW PAULY presents the current state of traditional and new areas of research and brings together specialist knowledge from leading scholars from all over the world. Many entries are elucidated with maps and illustrations and the English edition will include updated bibliographic references.
Call Number: Simpson Reference DE 5 .N4813 2002
Publication Date: 2006
Brill's New Pauly, Encyclopaedia of the Ancient World: Antiquity by If you have already purchased volumes of Brill's New Pauly, please click here to register your purchase and ensure that you will receive the latest information about publication schedules and pricing for all future volumes.
Call Number: Simpson Reference DE 5 .N3513 2006
Publication Date: 2002
The Cambridge Dictionary of Classical Civilization by The Cambridge Guide to Classical Civilization provides an authoritative survey of the classical world, combining the traditional strengths of classical subjects with new approaches examining the social and cultural features of the ancient Greek and Roman world. Ranging in time from post-Bronze Age Greece to the later Roman Empire, it looks not only at ancient Greece and Rome, but discusses those cultures with which Greeks and Romans exchanged information and culture (e.g. Phoenicians, Celts and Jews) and those remote peoples with whom they were in contact (e.g. Persia, China and India). It paints a vivid new picture of ancient life, exploring material realities such as dress and technology. It emphasises the transmission of classical learning and explores our debts to Greece and Rome. Highly-illustrated, with hundreds of entries by leading scholars, this Guide is a superb reference work and definitive companion for anyone with an interest in the ancient world.
Call Number: Simpson Reference DE 5 .C28 2006
Publication Date: 2006
Classical Studies by Jenkins offers a newly revised and expanded annotated bibliography of book-length reference works, covering the rise and fall of the Greek and Roman civilizations from the Bronze Age through the 6th century AD. While preference has been given to English-language works, many important titles in French, German, Italian, and Spanish have also been included. There is also increased coverage of ancient philosophy, religion (including early Christianity), and art and archaeology. Late Antiquity, a major growth area in classical studies, has also received more attention. Core resource for reference librarians, students, and classical scholars working outside their immediate areas of specialization. Why study the classics? For one thing, classicists have the distinguished pedigree of being among the first humanists to see and exploit the educational possibilities of new developments in information technology. Even better, they can translate such tantalizing tattoos as quod me nutrit me destruit, a quote which most famously resides on Angelina Jolie's belly. For these and other intrepid explorers of the minds of the past, Fred Jenkins offers a newly revised and expanded annotated bibliography of book-length reference works, covering the rise and fall of the Greek and Roman civilizations from the Bronze Age through the 6th century AD. While preference has been given to English-language works, many important titles in French, German, Italian, and Spanish have also been included. There is also increased coverage of ancient philosophy, religion (including early Christianity), and art and archaeology. Late Antiquity, a major growth area in classical studies, has also received more attention. A core resource for reference librarians, students, and classical scholars working outside their immediate areas of specialization.
Call Number: Simpson Reference PA 91 .J4 2006
Publication Date: 2006
Encyclopedia of Ancient Greece by Examining every aspect of the culture from antiquity to the founding of Constantinople in the early Byzantine era, this thoroughly cross-referenced and fully indexed work is written by an international group of scholars. This Encyclopedia is derived from the more broadly focused Encyclopedia of Greece and the Hellenic Tradition, the highly praised two-volume work. Newly edited by Nigel Wilson, this single-volume reference provides a comprehensive and authoritative guide to the political, cultural, and social life of the people and to the places, ideas, periods, and events that defined ancient Greece.
Call Number: Simpson Reference DF 16 .E52 2006
Publication Date: 2005
Encyclopedia of Ancient Rome by Encyclopedia of Ancient Rome, Third Edition provides comprehensive and interdisciplinary coverage of the people, places, events, and ideas of ancient Rome. Each entry has been thoroughly reviewed and updated to fully reflect recent advances in archaeology, historical and literary criticism, and social analysis. In addition, the scope has been expanded to include the entire history of ancient Rome, from the first founding of the city through the legendary hero Aeneas and his descendants Romulus and Remus around 753 BCE to the final collapse of Roman power in the fifth century CE. All of the entries in this updated resource now reflect not only the imperial era, but also the entire course of Roman history. New front and back matter items have been added to this fascinating resource, including an appendix on the study of ancient Rome, a glossary, a historical overview section, and a geographical overview section. Coverage includes Scipio Africanus; Tiberius Gracchus; Hannibal; The Incorporation of Hellenism; The Punic Wars; The Struggle of the Orders; and more.
Call Number: Simpson Reference DG 270 .B86 2012
Publication Date: 2012
Encyclopedia of the Ancient Greek World by Encyclopedia of the Ancient Greek World, Revised Edition provides a comprehensive survey of the classical Greek world. More than 500 A-to-Z entries have been thoroughly reviewed and updated to reflect the most recent advances in scholarship. New entries enhance the coverage of the Hellenistic era, art and architecture, non-Greek peoples, technology, and women's roles. New additions include 65 black-and-white photographs, additional maps, a list of further readings to supplement all major entries, a revised bibliography and index, and many completely rewritten entries. This comprehensive, easy-to-use encyclopedia provides a detailed look at the history of this ancient culture.
Call Number: Simpson Reference DF 16 .S23 2005
Publication Date: 2005
An Encyclopedia of the History of Classical Archaeology by With 1,125 entries and 170 contributors, this is the first encyclopedia on the history of classical archaeology. It focuses on Greek and Roman material, but also covers the prehistoric and semi-historical cultures of the Bronze Age Aegean and the Etruscans and manifestations of Greek and Roman culture in other parts of Europe and the Mediterranean Sea. Unlike recent studies that focus on the science of excavating, this book also considers archaeological study in the Middle Age, the Renaissance, and the modern era. It includes entries on individuals whose activities influenced the knowledge of sites and monuments in their own time; articles on famous monuments and sites as seen, changed, and interpreted through time; and entries on major works of art excavated during the Renaissance and the 17th century as well as works that were known in the Middle Ages. All of the entries include some historical content. Most combine historical information with descriptive material that identifies and explains the topic, opinions of archaeologists past and present, and references to achievements in archaeological scholarship. As the definitive source on a comparatively new discipline--the history of archaeology--this volume will be useful to students and scholars in archaeology, classics, history, topography, art history, and architectural history.
Call Number: Simpson Reference DE 5 .E5 1996
Publication Date: 1996
From Polis to Empire--The Ancient World, C. 800 B.C.-A.D. 500: A Biographical Dictionary : A Biographical Dictionary by Also available as an e-book.
Covering the very beginnings of Western civilization, this biographical dictionary introduces readers to the great cultural figures of the ancient world, including those who contributed significantly to architecture, astronomy, history, literature, mathematics, philosophy, painting, sculpture, and theology. While focusing on great cultural figures of the Mediterranean basin, such as Homer, Sophocles, and Aristophanes, the volume also includes those who impinged on Greco-Roman Civilization such as Hannibal Barca and King Darius of Persia. Showing how the era's intellectual milieu was interwoven with its political agenda, the book also includes entries on major political and military figures, pointing to their cultural as well as their political contributions. With 480 entries, the book is an excellent basic reference for students seeking an understanding of the ancient world. Going from polis to empire, the years from 800 BC to AD 500 include the archaic period of the eastern Mediterranean, the Greek classical period, the Persian and Peloponnesian Wars, and Rome's evolution from a republic to an empire dominating the entire Western world. A Jewish carpenter, living at the edge of the Roman Empire, preached a message with profound implications for the Roman State and Western religion. Providing a quick and easy reference to people who lived in this world, this book profiles the men and women who contributed to the development, growth, and culture of Western civilization. Most of the subjects were native to the Mediterranean basin, including Asia Minor, Greece, Italy, southern Gaul, Spain, North Africa, and Phoenicia, but the book also includes important Persians, Celts, Germanic peoples, and Huns. The book provides valuable background information for anyone interested in the birth of Western culture.
Call Number: Simpson Reference D 54 .F76 2002
Publication Date: 2001
A Guide to the Ancient World by This useful companion to classical history reveals the ancient world, from Scotland to India and from Spain to the Black Sea, through the numerous sites of its history and legends. Covering nations, provinces, cities, towns, rivers, seas, straits, mountains, plains, and battle sites, the author describes about 900 historically significant places in Europe, Asia, and Africa.
Call Number: Simpson Reference DE 25 .G72 1986
Publication Date: 1986
Historical Atlas of the Ancient World by This new atlas of the ancient world illustrates the political, economic, social and cultural developments in the ancient Near East, the Mediterranean world, the Byzantine Empire, the Islamic world and the Holy Roman Empire from the 3rd millennium BC until the 15th century AD. The atlas has 170 large color maps that document the main historical developments. Each map is accompanied by a text that outlines the main historical developments. These texts include bibliographies and 65 additional maps, tables and stemmata that provide further elucidation.
Call Number: Simpson Reference DE 5 .N4813 2002 Suppl. 3
Publication Date: 2009
The Oxford Classical Dictionary by Also available as an e-book.
For over sixty years, The Oxford Classical Dictionary has been the unrivalled one-volume reference in the field of classics. Now completely revised and updated to include the very latest research findings, developments, and publications, this highly acclaimed reference work will be the mostup-to-date and comprehensive dictionary available on all aspects of the classical era. In over 6,700 entries written by the very best of classical scholars from around the world, the Dictionary provides coverage of Greek and Roman history, literature, myth, religion, linguistics, philosophy, law,science, art, archaeology, near eastern studies, and late antiquity.New entries supplement the existing material, including entries on topics such as Adrasteia, Latin anthologies, Jewish art, ancient religious beliefs, emotions, film, gender, kinship, and many more. Other specific developments include an added focus on two new areas: "anthropology" and "reception".All entries are written in an accessible style and all Latin and Greek words have been translated to ensure ease of use. Under the editorship of Simon Hornblower, Antony Spawforth, and Esther Eidinow, a huge range of contributors have revised and updated the text, which has made an alreadyoutstanding work even better.The Dictionary covers:1) politics, government, economy - from political figures to political systems, terms and practices, histories of major states and empires, economic theory, agriculture, artisans and industry, trade and markets2) religion and mythology - deities and mythological creatures, beliefs and rituals, sanctuaries and sacred buildings, astrology3) law and philosophy - from biographies of lawgivers and lawyers to legal terms and procedures, from major and minor philosophers to philosophical schools, terms, and concepts4) science and geography - scientists and specific theory and practice, doctors and medicine, climate and landscape, natural disasters, regions and islands, cities and settlements, communications5) languages, literature, art, and architecture - languages and dialects, writers and literary terms and genres, orators and rhetorical theory and practice, drama and performance, art, painters and sculptors, architects, buildings and materials6) archaeology and historical writing - amphorae and pottery, shipwrecks and cemeteries, historians, and Greek and Roman historiography7) military history - generals, arms and armour, famous battles, attitudes to warfare8) social history, sex, and gender - women and the family, kinship, peasants and slaves, attitudes to sexuality
Call Number: Simpson Reference DE 5 .O9 2012
Publication Date: 2012
The Oxford Encyclopedia of Ancient Greece and Rome by The Oxford Encyclopedia of Ancient Greece and Rome is the clearest and most accessible guide to the world of classical antiquity ever produced. This multivolume reference work is a comprehensive overview of the major cultures of the classical Mediterranean world--Greek, Hellenistic, andRoman--from the Bronze Age to the fifth century CE. It also covers the legacy of the classical world and its interpretation and influence in subsequent centuries. The Encyclopedia brings the work of the best classical scholars, archaeologists, and historians together in an easy-to-use format.The articles, written by leading scholars in the field, seek to convey the significance of the people, places, and historical events of classical antiquity, together with its intellectual and material culture. Broad overviews of literature, history, archaeology, art, philosophy, science, andreligion are complimented by articles on authors and their works, literary genres and periods, historical figures and events, archaeologists and archaeological sites, artists and artistic themes and materials, philosophers and philosophical schools, scientists and scientific areas, gods, heroes, andmyths.Areas covered include:* Greek and Latin Literature* Authors and Their Works* Historical Figures and Events* Religion and Mythology* Art, Artists, Artistic Themes, and Materials* Archaeology, Philosophers, and Philosophical Schools* Science and Technology* Politics, Economics, and Society* Material Culture and Everyday Life
Call Number: Simpson Reference DE 5 .O95 2010
Publication Date: 2009
Using Reference Books
Simpson Library's reference collection is located on the first floor of the library. Reference books have the call number prefix of REFB, and they cannot be taken out of the library.
You can limit your catalog search to reference materials clicking on LOCATION in the Refine Your Search menu, and then selecting REFERENCE.
Simpson Library's electronic collections also include reference resources, and these may be updated more frequently than print resources.
Use Reference books to:
♦ Obtain background material to help familiarize yourself with your topic
♦ Place your topic in historical context
♦ Locate definitions of terms and concepts
♦ Find bibliographies suggesting additional resources on your topic
Literary Reference Books
Ancient Writers by This two-volume survey of Western literature in the classical period contains 47 chronologically arranged essays.
Call Number: Simpson Reference PA 3002 .A5 1982
Publication Date: 1982
Classical Literature and Its Times by < I>World Literature and Its Times< /I> helps students and researchers make connections between political/social climate during which books were written and the works themselves. Each volume focuses on major fiction, poetry and nonfiction from a particular country and region, representing approximately 50 works. The detailed essays are approximately 10 pages in length and offer the following features: < ul>< li> Introductory profile -- an overview that discuss genre, time, place and other important elements with a synopsis and introduction that places the work in the context of the authors' life < li> Events in history -- a report on the social, political and cultural climate relevant to the work, including primary source documents, charts, timelines and other illustrative materials < li> Literary work in focus -- three sections that place the work in context with an in-depth summary, related history and historical sources < li>Sources for more information -- full citations offering additional sources of information < /ul>< P>Additional features include illustrations; maps; author and title tables of contents; sidebars; timelines; advisor information; and an alphabetical index of authors, titles, events and personalities. < P>The series contains eight volumes covering the following literatures: < ul>< li> < I>Latin American literature < li> African literature < li> British & Irish literature< /I> (2 volumes - < I>The Victorian Era to the Present< /I> and < I>Celtic Migrations to the Reform Bill < /I>)< li> < I>Spanish & Portuguese literature < li> Middle Eastern literature < li> Italian literature < li> Classic literature < /I>< /ul>
Call Number: Simpson Reference PA 31 .M67 2006
Publication Date: 2006
The Facts on File Companion to Classical Drama by The great era of classical drama continues to be widely studied today. One of the most extensive works of its kind, The Facts On File Companion to Classical Drama examines the history and development of ancient Greek and Roman drama from the late sixth century BCE through the first century CE. Approximately 400 entries cover the 80 complete plays that survived from the classical era; the major authors; the background, characters, and themes of the dramas; and the conventions and practices of their respective theaters.
Call Number: Simpson Reference PA 3024 .T48 2005
Publication Date: 2005
Greek and Latin Authors by Biographical sketches of 376 Greek and Latin authors covering the years 800 B.C. to 1000 A.D. Includes a list of works of doubtful attribution and a chronological list of authors by century.
Call Number: Simpson Reference PA 31 .G7
Publication Date: 1980
The Oxford Companion to Classical Literature by Also available as an e-book.
From Achilles's heel to the sword of Damocles, Western culture teems with allusions from the rich heritage of classical literature, and this new edition of The Oxford Companion to Classical Literature, the first updating since Sir Paul Harvey's original edition of 1937, provides the key to these works and the ancient Greek and Roman civilizations that produced them. Substantially revising the first edition, this volume condenses the findings of the most recent scholarship into highly readable prose and supplies a wealth of background information not found in Harvey's Companion. Indispensable to those studying classical literature in depth, the book will be equally accessible to the non-specialist. All Greek is transliterated, with translations given for all quotations from Greek and Latin. The main focus of the Companion remains the lives and works of the principal authors. Biographical entries offer the essential facts and sift the conjectural evidence, while entries on the major works include discussions of the philosophical dialogues and political speeches and plot summaries of the epic poems and plays. The various literary forms--epic, comedy, tragedy, rhetorical writing--are covered in depth, supplemented by articles on the origins of the Greek and Latin alphabets and languages. The Companion also puts this literature into its societal and historical contexts, including many articles on political, social, and artistic achievements. We learn, for example, about the political climate that produced the great speeches of Demosthenes and Cicero. Orators, statesmen, and generals stalk the pages, and major battles and conquests from the time of Alexander to the fall of Rome are summarized. Articles on contemporary social mores and religious beliefs help explain literary references, while the glories of philosophy, science, and art are celebrated from Cynics to Stoics, astronomy to water-clocks, and flute competitions to vase painting. Helpful maps supplement geographical entries, a chronological table provides an overview of the main historical and literary events, and a systematic set of cross-references links the entries. The breadth and accuracy of this volume will surely make it the standard reference book of its kind for years to come.
Call Number: Simpson Reference PA 31 .H69 1989
Publication Date: 1989 (ebook: 2011)
Mythology Reference Books
The Facts on File Encyclopedia of World Mythology and Legend by The Facts On File Encyclopedia of World Mythology and Legend, Third Edition is a complete revision that provides an even more extensive survey of myths, legends, and folklore from around the world. With assistance from a team of scholars, James R. Dow has revised and updated the entire text in this comprehensive resource. This new edition boasts approximately 3,000 entries, 150 of which are new; a substantially updated bibliography; an overhauled art program, with hundreds of new images; and, a new guide to Internet sources on world mythology and legend. Entries include important scholarly terms, figures important in folklore and mythology, the historical figures that have inspired myths and folklore, and the authors who wrote down folktales or used folklore and mythology extensively in their work. Many new entries focus on the mythology and folklore of Cambodia, Tibet, Ukraine, and other areas.
Call Number: Simpson Reference BL 303 .M45 2009
Publication Date: 2008
Gods, Goddesses, and Mythology by More than three hundred alphabetically arranged entries cover mythological beings, themes, and deities from around the world.
Call Number: Simpson Reference BL 312 .G64 2005
Publication Date: 2005
Myths and Legends of the World by As students study history, literature, drama, poetry and art, they encounter numerous references to mythical figures and legends from different cultures. Existing encyclopedias focus on specific cultures, such as the classical Greeks, or on themes, such as angels or nature myths. Myths and Legends of the World is an authoritative and comprehensive source of myths and legends from around the world, encompassing North and South America, Africa and Asia, and the Pacific islands. Whether researching a specific mythical figure, a particular motif, an ethnic group, or looking up a term, this resource is designed for easy access. Illustrated throughout with more than 200 drawings and photos, the set also includes helpful sidebars and extensive backmatter, including genealogy trees that show the relationships between deities, and a subject index -- helpful in tracing similar themes across cultures.
Call Number: Simpson Reference BL 311 .M97 2000
Publication Date: 2000
The Oxford Companion to World Mythology by Cave paintings at Lascaux, France and Altamira, Spain, fraught with expression thousands of years later; point to an early human desire to form a cultural identity. In the Oxford Companion to World Mythology, David Leeming explores the role of mythology, or myth-logic, in history anddetermines that the dreams of specific cultures add up to a larger collective story of humanity. Stopping short of attempting to be all-inclusive, this fascinating volume will nonetheless be comprehensive, opening with an introduction exploring the nature and dimensions of myth and proposing adefinition as a universal language. Briefly dipping into the ways our understanding of myth has changed from Aristotle and Plato to modern scholars such as Joseph Campbell, the introduction loosely places the concept in its present context and precedes articles on influential mythologists andmythological approaches that appear later in the Companion.The main body of Leeming's work consists of A-Z entries covering all aspects of mythology, including substantial essays on the world's major mythological traditions (Greek, Native American, Indian, Japanese, Sumerian, Egyptian), mythological types and motifs (Descent to the Underworld, the Hero,the Trickster, Creation, the Quest), mythological figures (Odysseus, Zeus, Osiris, Spider Woman, and Inanna) as well as numerous interrelated subjects such as fairly tales and legends. The Companion also locates myth in our lives today, relating it to language patterns, psychology, religion,politics, art, and gender attitudes. Many of the better-known and more significant myths are vividly retold in this volume that will be illustrated with maps, more than 70 black and white images, and eight pages of color highlighting the central role art has often played in the transmission andperpetuation of myth. Following the entries, a rich section of appendices will include family trees of the major pantheons, equivalency charts for the gods of Greece and Rome, Babylon and Sumer, as well as other traditions, an extensive bibliography, and an index.
Call Number: Simpson Reference BL 312 .L44 2005
Publication Date: 2005