It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
To login, choose "Not Listed" from the "Select your institution" drop down menu, then enter your UMW email address. Guest users should ask at the reference desk to be logged in to this resource.
Formerly Safari Tech Books, this collection contains more than 35,000 book titles and over 30,000 hours of video. Additional content includes learning paths, case studies, interactive tutorials, and audio books.
A collection of more than 8,000 electronic books published by Taylor & Francis and Routledge from 2016 to present.
Biology Call Numbers
Browse these call numbers in the library stacks:
QH = Natural History-Biology
QK = Botany
QL = Zoology
QM = Human Anatomy
QP = Physiology
QR = Microbiology
R = Medicine
Choosing and Using Statistics - A Biologist's Guide by Calvin Dytham
Call Number: QH323.5 .D98 2011
Publication Date: 2011-01-04
SPSS Demystified: a step-by-step guide to successful data analysis : for SPSS version 18.0 by Ronald D. Yockey
Call Number: HA32 .Y63 2011
Publication Date: 2010-11-23
SPSS for Psychologists by Nicola Brace; Richard Kemp; Rosemary Snelgar
Call Number: BF39 .B73 2013
Publication Date: 2012-07-23
SPSS Statistics for Dummies by Keith McCormick; Jesus Salcedo; Aaron Poh (As told to)The ultimate beginner's guide to SPSS and statistical analysis SPSS Statistics For Dummies is the fun and friendly guide to mastering SPSS. This book contains everything you need to know to get up and running quickly with this industry-leading software, with clear, helpful guidance on working with both the software and your data. Every chapter of this new edition has been updated with screenshots and steps that align with SPSS 23.0. You'll learn how to set up the software and organize your workflow, then delve deep into analysis to discover the power of SPSS capabilities. You'll discover the mechanics behind the calculations, perform predictive analysis, produce informative graphs, and maximize your data, even if it's been awhile since your last statistics class. SPSS is the leading statistical software for social sciences, marketing, health care, demography, government, education, data mining, and more. This powerful package gives you the tools you need to get more out of your data, and this book is your beginner-friendly guide to getting the most out of the software. Install and configure SPSS and learn the basics of how it works Master the process of getting data into SPSS and manipulating it to produce results See how to display data in dozens of different graphic formats to fit specific needs Make SPSS manufacture the numbers you want and take advantage of the many analysis options Discover ways to customize the SPSS interface and the look of your results, edit graphics and pivot tables, and program SPSS with Command Syntax Statistical analysis is crucial to so many industries, and accuracy and efficiency are crucial. SPSS offers you the capability to deliver, but you still must know how to take utmost advantage of the tools at your fingertips. SPSS Statistics For Dummies shows you how to handle data like a pro, with step-by-step instruction and expert advice.
Publication Date: 2015-06-02
Graphical Data Analysis with R by Antony UnwinSee How Graphics Reveal Information Graphical Data Analysis with R shows you what information you can gain from graphical displays. The book focuses on why you draw graphics to display data and which graphics to draw (and uses R to do so). All the datasets are available in R or one of its packages and the R code is available at rosuda.org/GDA. Graphical data analysis is useful for data cleaning, exploring data structure, detecting outliers and unusual groups, identifying trends and clusters, spotting local patterns, evaluating modelling output, and presenting results. This book guides you in choosing graphics and understanding what information you can glean from them. It can be used as a primary text in a graphical data analysis course or as a supplement in a statistics course. Colour graphics are used throughout.
Publication Date: 2018-09-03
Learning R by Richard CottonLearn how to perform data analysis with the R language and software environment, even if you have little or no programming experience. With the tutorials in this hands-on guide, you'll learn how to use the essential R tools you need to know to analyze data, including data types and programming concepts. The second half of Learning R shows you real data analysis in action by covering everything from importing data to publishing your results. Each chapter in the book includes a quiz on what you've learned, and concludes with exercises, most of which involve writing R code. Write a simple R program, and discover what the language can do Use data types such as vectors, arrays, lists, data frames, and strings Execute code conditionally or repeatedly with branches and loops Apply R add-on packages, and package your own work for others Learn how to clean data you import from a variety of sources Understand data through visualization and summary statistics Use statistical models to pass quantitative judgments about data and make predictions Learn what to do when things go wrong while writing data analysis code
Publication Date: 2013-09-09
SAS for R Users by Ajay OhriBRIDGES THE GAP BETWEEN SAS AND R, ALLOWING USERS TRAINED IN ONE LANGUAGE TO EASILY LEARN THE OTHER SAS and R are widely-used, very different software environments. Prized for its statistical and graphical tools, R is an open-source programming language that is popular with statisticians and data miners who develop statistical software and analyze data. SAS (Statistical Analysis System) is the leading corporate software in analytics thanks to its faster data handling and smaller learning curve. SAS for R Users enables entry-level data scientists to take advantage of the best aspects of both tools by providing a cross-functional framework for users who already know R but may need to work with SAS. Those with knowledge of both R and SAS are of far greater value to employers, particularly in corporate settings. Using a clear, step-by-step approach, this book presents an analytics workflow that mirrors that of the everyday data scientist. This up-to-date guide is compatible with the latest R packages as well as SAS University Edition. Useful for anyone seeking employment in data science, this book: Instructs both practitioners and students fluent in one language seeking to learn the other Provides command-by-command translations of R to SAS and SAS to R Offers examples and applications in both R and SAS Presents step-by-step guidance on workflows, color illustrations, sample code, chapter quizzes, and more Includes sections on advanced methods and applications Designed for professionals, researchers, and students, SAS for R Users is a valuable resource for those with some knowledge of coding and basic statistics who wish to enter the realm of data science and business analytics.
Publication Date: 2019-08-05
Graphing Data with R by John Jay HilfigerIt's much easier to grasp complex data relationships with a graph than by scanning numbers in a spreadsheet. This introductory guide shows you how to use the R language to create a variety of useful graphs for visualizing and analyzing complex data for science, business, media, and many other fields. You'll learn methods for highlighting important relationships and trends, reducing data to simpler forms, and emphasizing key numbers at a glance. Anyone who wants to analyze data will find something useful here--even if you don't have a background in mathematics, statistics, or computer programming. If you want to examine data related to your work, this book is the ideal way to start. Get started with R by learning basic commands Build single variable graphs, such as dot and pie charts, box plots, and histograms Explore the relationship between two quantitative variables with scatter plots, high-density plots, and other techniques Use scatterplot matrices, 3D plots, clustering, heat maps, and other graphs to visualize relationships among three or more variables
Publication Date: 2015-10-19
Biostatistics Decoded by A. Gouveia OliveiraBiostatistics Decoded covered a large number of statistical methods that are mainly applied to clinical and epidemiological research, as well as a comprehensive discussion of study designs for observational research and clinical trials, two important concerns for the clinical researcher. In this second edition, new material is included covering statistical methods and study designs that are used to analyse research. Following the same methodology used in the first edition, the chapters are presented in two levels of detail, one for the reader who wishes only to understand the rationale behind each statistical method, and one for the reader who wishes to understand the computations Key features include: Extensive coverage of the design and analysis of experiments for basic science research Experimental designs are presented together with the statistical methods The rationale of all forms of ANOVA is explained with simple mathematics A comprehensive presentation of statistical tests for multiple comparisons Calculations for all statistical methods are illustrated with examples and explained step-by-step. This book presents biostatistical concepts and methods in a way that is accessible to anyone, regardless of his or her knowledge of mathematics. The topics selected for this book cover will meet the needs of clinical professionals to readers in basic science research.
Publication Date: 2020-09-04
Understanding Biostatistics by Anders Källén; Anders KällénUnderstanding Biostatistics looks at the fundamentals of biostatistics, using elementary statistics to explore the nature of statistical tests. This book is intended to complement first-year statistics and biostatistics textbooks. The main focus here is on ideas, rather than on methodological details. Basic concepts are illustrated with representations from history, followed by technical discussions on what different statistical methods really mean. Graphics are used extensively throughout the book in order to introduce mathematical formulae in an accessible way. Key features: Discusses confidence intervals and p-values in terms of confidence functions. Explains basic statistical methodology represented in terms of graphics rather than mathematical formulae, whilst highlighting the mathematical basis of biostatistics. Looks at problems of estimating parameters in statistical models and looks at the similarities between different models. Provides an extensive discussion on the position of statistics within the medical scientific process. Discusses distribution functions, including the Guassian distribution and its importance in biostatistics. This book will be useful for biostatisticians with little mathematical background as well as those who want to understand the connections in biostatistics and mathematical issues.
Publication Date: 2011-03-01
Biostatistics by Geoffrey R. Norman; David L. StreinerThis book translates biostatistics in the health sciences literature with clarity and irreverence. Students and practitioners alike applaud Biostatistics as the practical guide that exposes them to every statistical test they may encounter, with careful conceptual explanations and a minimum of algebra.
Publication Date: 2007-08-01
Biostatistics for Dummies by John PezzulloScore your highest in biostatistics Biostatistics is a required course for students of medicine, epidemiology, forestry, agriculture, bioinformatics, and public health. In years past this course has been mainly a graduate-level requirement; however its application is growing and course offerings at the undergraduate level are exploding. Biostatistics For Dummies is an excellent resource for those taking a course, as well as for those in need of a handy reference to this complex material. Biostatisticians--analysts of biological data--are charged with finding answers to some of the world's most pressing health questions: how safe or effective are drugs hitting the market today? What causes autism? What are the risk factors for cardiovascular disease? Are those risk factors different for men and women or different ethnic groups? Biostatistics For Dummies examines these and other questions associated with the study of biostatistics. Provides plain-English explanations of techniques and clinical examples to help Serves as an excellent course supplement for those struggling with the complexities of the biostatistics Tracks to a typical, introductory biostatistics course Biostatistics For Dummies is an excellent resource for anyone looking to succeed in this difficult course.