Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Why Would I Use a Reference Book?
- include helpful introductory information
- contain citations to other sources
- list statistics, dates and facts
- provide reviews, biographies and definitions
Questions? Contact the Simpson Library Reference Desk:
Email (email@example.com) or call (654-1148).
Ash and Orihel's Atlas of Human Parasitology by In today's global community, the new fifth edition of Ash and Orihel's Atlas of Human Parasitology is a must-have for parasitic identification. Coverage is complete, including well-recognised species of parasites as well as information on those less commonly encountered. This is the reference you'll want to have at hand when you need to view the unknown and assimilate your findings into a clinical context. Authored by two of the most widely recognised and respected educators and researchers in the field, the new fifth edition features: new imaging throughout; quick morphologic keys; clinical images of infection; important diagnostic procedures; and expanded treatment of parasite-like artefacts and pseudoparasites culled from real-world cases.
Call Number: Reference RC119 .A8 1997
Emerging Biological Threats: a Reference Guide by What biological agents should we truly be afraid of? Which have garnered more attention than they warrant? Emerging Biological Threats: A Reference Guide is the antidote for the confusion surrounding the potentially devastating impact of pathogens on the human community. Written by a frontline professional in epidemiology, it is the most authoritative yet engagingly written resource available on the real risks we face, and the countermeasures used to confront them. Emerging Biological Threats provides the information needed to understand significant direct threats to human health, as well as those that impact us indirectly by destroying livestock and crops. Focused primarily on the United States, it offers science-based yet accessible explorations of HIV, influenza, drug-resistant pathogens, tuberculosis, meningitis, and more. In addition, the book assesses current predictions about the future spread of various diseases as a result of climate change and overpopulation. The book concludes with chapters on relevant environmental and sociological trends and a discussion of current public health strategy.
Call Number: Reference RA643 .C263 2010
Publication Date: 2009-12-23
Encyclopedia of Ecology by The groundbreaking Encyclopedia of Ecology provides an authoritative and comprehensive coverage of the complete field of ecology, from general to applied. It includes over 500 detailed entries, structured to provide the user with complete coverage of the core knowledge, accessed as intuitively as possible, and heavily cross-referenced. Written by an international team of leading experts, this revolutionary encyclopedia will serve as a one-stop-shop to concise, stand-alone articles to be used as a point of entry for undergraduate students, or as a tool for active researchers looking for the latest information in the field. Entries cover a range of topics, including: Behavioral Ecology Ecological Processes Ecological Modeling Ecological Engineering Ecological Indicators Ecological Informatics Ecosystems Ecotoxicology Evolutionary Ecology General Ecology Global Ecology Human Ecology System Ecology
Call Number: Reference QH540.4 .E515 2008
Publication Date: 2008
Encyclopedia of Evolution by Contains more than 200 entries that span modern evolutionary science and the history of its development. This volume aims to clarifies many common misconceptions about evolution. It also explores questions resulting from studies in evolutionary science.
Call Number: Reference QH360.2 .R53 2007
Encyclopedia of Microbiology by Humans have always struggled with how to balance the benefits bacteria offer with the threats that they produce. Much less obvious than the effects microorganisms have on plants and animals are the indirect ways in which they shape the planet. These hidden activities have rarely been explained in science, though scientists realize that the behavior of microbes supports all life on Earth. In more than 200 entries, Encyclopedia of Microbiology presents the myriad ways in which microorganisms influence the biosphere. Focusing on how all microorganisms relate to each other just as all higher organisms relate to all other animate and inanimate objects on Earth, this new resource explores all aspects of microbiology from mycology (the study of fungi) to the simplest biological entities of all, viruses, to prions, which are even more streamlined than viruses and just as dangerous. Biographical sections in many entries highlight the scientists who most influenced developments or discoveries in microbiology, including Louis Pasteur. Entries cover new techniques in microscopy, genetic engineering, gene therapy, and nanotechnology. A full-color insert, helpful appendixes, cross-references, and further resources round out this invaluable resource.
Publication Date: 2011-04-01
The Cambridge Dictionary of Human Biology and Evolution by The Dictionary of Human Biology and Evolution (DHBE) is an invaluable research and study tool for both professionals and students covering a broad range of subjects within human biology, physical anthropology, anatomy, auxology, primatology, physiology, genetics, paleontology and zoology. Packed with 13000 descriptions of terms, specimens, sites and names, DHBE also includes information on over 1000 word roots, taxonomies and reference tables for extinct, recent and extant primates, geological and oxygen isotope chronologies, illustrations of landmarks, bones and muscles and an illustration of current hominid phylogeny, making this a must-have volume for anyone with an interest in human biology or evolution. DHBE is especially complete in its inventory of archaeological sites and the best-known hominid specimens excavated from them, but also includes up-to-date information on terms such as in silico, and those relating to the rapidly developing fields of human genomics.
Publication Date: 2005-01-01
The Dictionary of Cell and Molecular Biology by An expanded, up-to-date resource for students and researchers, "The Dictionary of Cell & Molecular Biology, Fifth Edition," provides clear and concise definitions needed for laboratory study. With over 12,000 entries and a breadth of terms across bioscience, including plant molecular biology, microbiology and biotechnology, this revision reflects the changes in the research over the past few years. The latest edition of "The Dictionary of Cell and Molecular Biology" maintains its outstanding reputation as an authoritative, clear, and accessible reference with short, cross-referenced definitions of important technical terminology. Thoroughly revised and expanded by over 20% with over 12,000 entries in cellular and molecular biologyIncludes expanded coverage of terms, including plant molecular biology, microbiology and biotechnology areasConsistently provides the most complete short definitions of technical terminology for anyone working in life sciences todayFeatures extensive cross-references Provides multiple definitions, notes on word origins, and other useful features
Publication Date: 2012-01-01