Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
UMW Libraries
Simpson Library | Special Collections

Alumni and Guest Users: UMW Libraries

A guide to UMW Libraries' resources for Alumni and Guest Users

UMW Databases FAQ

I would really like to access UMW Libraries' databases. Is that possible?

Yes! Guest and Alumni patrons may access all of UMW Libraries' databases and other electronic resources on site at UMW Libraries by asking to be logged on to a Simpson Library Guest computer. They may also access UMW Libraries' databases if they are logged on to the UMW Guest Wi-Fi.

Want to lean more about the guest computers and library Wi-Fi? Visit the Wireless Networks, Computers, and Printing tab for more information.

Can Alumni and other Guest Patrons access UMW Libraries' databases from their home or workplace?

Unfortunately, alumni and other guests are not able to access UMW Libraries' subscriptions from off-campus locations.

Why not?

Licensing and security restrictions. When we subscribe to databases, the license agreements that we sign require us to limit off-campus database access to current UMW students, staff, and faculty by requiring that they sign in with their current UMW credentials. Unfortunately, this means that Alumni and other Guest patrons are not able to access password-protected databases from off-campus.

What if I pay for a UMW Libraries Guest and Alumni Borrowing Card?

Unfortunately, the licensing and security restrictions still apply for people with guest borrower cards. Alumni and other Guests may use the card to check out materials from the library, but (for the reasons mentioned above), the card does not entitle the holder to off-campus database access.

Are there any exceptions to these restrictions on off-campus database access for Guest and Alumni patrons?

There is one exception: Anyone (including Alumni and other Guest users) can use UMW Libraries' Quest search from off campus. Search Quest to discover which books and other materials are available in the library and which eBooks, electronic journal articles, and more are available through library databases.

**Although Alumni and other Guests can search Quest from off campus, they must still use UMW Libraries' computers or the UMW Guest wireless to access full text.**

What if I need to do research from home or work?

  • Students and faculty of VIVA institutions (including Germanna): Contact library staff at your home institution (the college or university where you work or are currently taking classes)
  • Unaffiliated Guest and Alumni Patrons: Contact your local public library. Scroll down for information about accessing databases through your local public library.

Who should I ask for help when searching in databases?

While in the UMW Libraries, reference librarians can assist you with the online databases. From off-campus, non-UMW patrons should rely on the support of the library staff at their home institution or local Virginia public library.

Do you have a full list of your databases and other electronic resources?

Yes we do! Check out UMW Libraries' A-Z Databases page for a complete list of UMW Libraries' electronic resources.

Find Databases through Your Local Public Library

Google Scholar Search

Google Scholar is a source of scholarly sources on the open web.

While the full article is not always available, Google Scholar is an excellent way to find out what scholarly articles are available on your topic, especially if you do not have access to library article databases.

It also provides free online access to some of those articles. It's worth checking out!

Google Scholar Search

Contact UMW Libraries

Simpson Library

Library Information

Email: umwlibraries@umw.edu
or
Phone: (540) 654-1125

Research Help

Email: refdesk@umw.edu
or
Phone: (540) 654-1148


Need to contact UMW Libraries staff?
Visit our Staff Directory.

For library hours, visit our Hours and Directions page.
Changes to hours, including weather-related closings, will also be posted on the UMW Libraries homepage.