Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
UMW Libraries
Simpson Library | Special Collections

FSEM 100F1: Hardboiled: American Detective Fiction: Databases

What is a database?

A database is a searchable collection of electronic documents. UMW subscribes to over 200 different databases.

Databases hold different types of documents. Most of the documents in the UMW databases are academic journal articles, but the databases also contain magazine articles, newspaper articles, and many other types of documents.

Following citations

Most of the sources you find will include lists of citations (a.k.a. bibliographies). Think of these citations as low-tech hyperlinks -- they point you to other sources on the same topic. Follow those links! When you look at all the sources as a whole, they form an interlinked network of information. Your job is to explore that network and see what else is out there.

If you've found a good book or article, and you'd like to find newer sources that cite that particular book or article, type the title into Google Scholar. Then, on the results page, click "Cited by."

Academic journal articles

Use these databases to find academic journal articles about hardboiled detective fiction. See also the English guide and the Literary Criticism guide.

Newspaper articles

Book reviews

To find book reviews, use the resources on the library's Book Reviews guide.

Subject Guide

Profile Photo
Peter Catlin