Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Directories & Guides
(U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, National Institutes of Health)
Internet gateway to federal HIV/AIDS information. It will guide users to information on prevention, testing, treatment and research programs, and to federal HIV/AIDS policies and resources.
Ben's Guide to U. S. Government for Kids
Created by the Government Printing Office, this well-designed site introduces children to how the government works. It covers the U. S. Constitution, how laws are made, the branches of government, and citizenship. The site is divided into sections aimed at age groups K-2, 3-5, 6-8, 9-12, with a separate section for parents and educators. It includes games and activities, has an email function for kids to ask questions of Ben Franklin (the first public librarian), and provides extensive links to other government related sites.
Biographical Directory of the United States Congress: 1774-Present
Provides brief biographical information on past and current members of Congress.
Department of State Foreign Affairs (DOSFAN) Electronic Research Collection
Digital library of electronically archived information products produced by the U.S. Department of State from 1990 through 1997, which includes the archived Web sites of the U.S. Arms Control and Disarmament Agency (ACDA) and the U.S. Information Agency (USIA).
Energy Citations Database
Includes bibliographic records of various disciplines such as chemistry, physics, materials, environmental science, geology, engineering, mathematics, climatology, oceanography, computer science, etc.
Federal Websites - Native Americans
(Oklahoma Department of Libraries)
Links to federal agency websites by topic that are either for or about Native Americans which is also defined as American Indians and Native Alaskans.
FOIA (Freedom of Information Act)
(US San Diego Library)
Provides comprehensive lists and links directly to federal agencies' FOIA pages. Also, includes non-governmental websites that provide access to FOIA documents.
(U.S. General Services Administration, Office of Citizen Services and Innovative Technologies)
Provides "one-stop" access to all registered geographic information and related online access services within the United States. Geographic data, imagery, applications, documents, web sites and other resources have been catalogued for discovery in this portal. Registered map services allow users to build and share maps using data from many sources. Registered data access and download services also exist for use by those interested in downloading and analyzing the data using GIS or viewer software.
A project of Civic Impulse, LLC
One of the worldʼs most visited government transparency websites. The site helps ordinary citizens find and track bills in the U.S. Congress and understand their representatives’ legislative record.
(U.S. Department of Health and Human Services)
(U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, U.S. Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services)
Health Insurance Marketplace
Historical Topographic Maps - Preserving the Past
(U.S. Geological Survey, National Geospatial Program)
Historical maps are available to the public at no cost in GeoPDF format (georeferenced digital download) or as a printed copy purchased from the USGS Store
. Nearly 90,000 high resolution scans of the more than 200,000 historical USGS topographic maps, some dating as far back as 1884, are now available. The Historical Topographic Map Collection includes published U.S. topographic maps of all scales and editions.
(U.S. Department of Energy, Office of Scientific and Technical Information)
Consolidates the contents of OSTI's Information Bridge
and Energy Citations Database
. Disciplines include chemistry, physics, materials, environmental science, geology, engineering, mathematics, climatology, oceanography, and computer science. It includes bibliographic citations to report literature, conference papers, journal articles, books, dissertations, and patents. There are over 2.5 million citations in SciTech Connect. SciTech Connect also has over 316,000 full-text DOE sponsored scientific and technical reports; most of these are post-1991, but close to 85,000 of the reports were published prior to 1990.
The one-stop portal for a range of employment opportunities for students within the Federal government, whether in high school, college, or graduate school.
(U.S. Small Business Administration)
Formerly known as US Business Advisor
A Global Science Gateway. It works as a portal to search national and international scientific data collections. Users seeking scientific datasets can conduct a real-time, one-stop search and immediately gain access not only to the metadata but to the actual scientific data itself.
Citing Government Information