Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Official Homepage of the Commonwealth of Virginia
Executive, Judicial, and Legislative Branches of the Commonwealth of Virginia including Independent Agencies.
State and Local Government on the Net: Virginia
Includes listings organized by the headings State Home Page, State Directory, Statewide Offices, Legislative Branch, Judicial Branch, Executive Branch, Boards and Commissions, Regional, Counties, Cities, and Other.
LIS: Virginia's Legislative Information System
Provides access to the Virginia Assembly's legislative bills and resolutions. General Assembly sessions can be tracked from 1994 to the present.
Supreme Court of Virginia Justices, 1799-present
Available on Virginia's Judicial System, State Law Library
The directory includes biographies of judges and justices who have served since 1779 on the Supreme Court of Virginia, the highest appellate court in the state; and, where possible, a portrait or other likeness. Some entries also include oral history interviews.
The Virginia Regulatory Town Hall
(Virginia Department of Planning and Budget)
Using this public access site you can find and track proposed regulation changes, view a calendar of public hearings and board meetings (with includes a brief description of the meeting's agenda, contact person, etc.) No fee registered user can participate in online public comment forums and sign up for automatic notification about regulatory actions and meetings.
State & County QuickFacts
(United States Census Bureau)
Quick, easy access to facts about people, business, and geography.
Document Bank of Virginia (DBVa)
The Library of Virginia’s initiative to get documents into classrooms. Using primary sources, teachers and librarians can make history relevant to students while helping them learn and understand state standards. DBVa will teach students to be critical thinkers as they analyze the original documents and draw their own conclusions about Virginia’s past.
GODORT (Government Documents Round Table)
Virginia State Agency Databases.
Government Documents Round Table lists useful database information from all 50 states.
Search Systems Public Record Locator
Searchable database directory of free U.S. public record to the state, city and county levels. Also includes public records of various U.S. Territories and other countries.
Includes links to databases where the provider charges a fee.
State Health Facts Online
(Henry J. Kaiser Family Foundation)
This resource contains the latest state-level data on demographics, health, and health policy, including health coverage, access, financing, and state legislation.
Virginia Economic Development Partnership
Contains the following data on occupation statistics, community profiles, MSA profiles, and comparing Virginia with other states.
(Weldon Cooper Center for Public Service)
Focuses on business, demographic and economic statistics for Virginia. Includes maps, statistics, and related sites.