Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
A great way to start your research is by reading overviews and summaries of a potential topic. Reference books, like encyclopedias, dictionaries, and handbooks, provide this type of authoritative information in a very condensed format. Reference books will:
- include helpful introductory information
- contain citations to other sources
- list statistics, dates and facts
- provide reviews, biographies and definitions
Use these materials to give you ideas for a topic. Write down the relevant facts and keywords so that you can search in Quest or the library databases to locate books and articles for your research.
Merck Manuals Online Library
A series of healthcare books for medical professionals and consumers.
Trusted consumer-oriented health information from hte National Library of Medicine.
Gray's Anatomy of the Human Body
The Bartleby.com edition of Gray’s Anatomy of the Human Body features 1,247 vibrant engravings—many in color—from the classic 1918 publication, as well as a subject index with 13,000 entries ranging from the Antrum of Highmore to the Zonule of Zinn.
Drugs, Herbs and Supplements
Learn about your prescription drugs and over-the-counter medicines. Includes side effects, dosage, special precautions, and more.
Available in Simpson Library Reference
Routledge Handbook of Sports Therapy, Injury Assessment and Rehabilitation by The Routledge Handbook of Sports Therapy, Injury Assessment and Rehabilitation is a comprehensive and authoritative reference for those studying or working in this field and is the first book to comprehensively cover all of the following areas: Sports Injury Aetiology Soft Tissue Injury Healing Clinical Assessment in Sports Therapy Clinical Interventions in Sports Therapy Spinal and Peripheral Anatomy, Injury Assessment and Management Pitch-side Trauma Care Professionalism and Ethics in Sports Therapy.
Publication Date: 2015-09-16
Team Physician Manual by The FIMS Team Physician Manual is the official sports medicine handbook of the International Federation of Sports Medicine (FIMS), the world's oldest sports medicine organization. Now in a fully revised and updated third edition, the book offers a complete guide to the background knowledge, practical techniques and professional skills required to become a successful medical practitioner working in sport. Well illustrated, with clear step-by-step guidance, plus text boxes and checklists for quick reference, the Team Physician Manual covers every key area of activity and intervention, from the preparticipation examination to rehabilitation. The book surveys every classification of sports injury, offering clear advice on fieldside assessment, diagnosis and treatment, as well as examining best practice in general aspects of sports medicine, such as prevention and the psychology of injury.
Publication Date: 2012
A Visual Guide to Clinical Anatomy by A solid knowledge of anatomy is essential within any number of fields throughout healthcare. A core discipline of all medical degrees, anatomy is generally taught in a series of laboratory sessions and lectures, requiring students to identify a particular organ or structure, explain its function and describe its relation to normal physiology. Students are expected to learn - and practicing clinicians required to remember - an enormous amount of anatomical information. A Visual Guide to Clinical Anatomy is an extraordinary visual reference guide, containing more than 900 high-quality illustrations of the human anatomy. Author and illustrator Robert H. Whitaker draws upon his 30 years of experience as an anatomy demonstrator and lecturer at Cambridge University to present a simple, easy-to-understand approach to both teaching and learning the subject. Each illustration is designed to provide a summary of key anatomical and clinical information of a specific topic or clinical condition. A comprehensive yet user-friendly anatomy resource, this volume: Covers the major areas of human anatomy Provides succinct, clinically relevant information for each illustration Offers clear and accessible synopses of anatomical structures A Visual Guide to Clinical Anatomy is a valuable addition to the bookshelf of any medical student, instructor, surgical trainee, physician, or healthcare practitioner.
Call Number: QM25.W49 REF
Publication Date: 2020-10-19
Sports Nutrition by It is well understood that proper nutrition has a significant impact on sports performance. All of the essential nutrients must be supplied in the right amounts and at the right times for an athlete to achieve optimal health and performance. In addition, when devising eating strategies that will help athletes meet their goals, sports nutritionists must take account of personal preferences, social and cultural issues, and a whole range of other factors. This latest volume in the Encyclopaedia of Sports Medicine series, published by Wiley in partnership with the Medical Commission of the International Olympic Committee, Sports Nutrition covers this dynamic field in unparalleled depth and breadth, from the scientific underpinnings of nutritional science to the development of practical nutritional programs for athletes in a range of sports. Written and edited by the world's leading authorities on nutrition in sports, this timely new reference: Provides comprehensive coverage of nutrition for both individual and team sports Presents current knowledge of macronutrients, micronutrients, and dietary supplements for the athlete, outlining both benefits and risks Offers clear guidance on the unique nutritional needs of special populations of athletes, such as vegetarian athletes, young athletes and aging athletes Includes chapters on the clinical nutritional needs of diabetic athletes and athletes with weight management issues Carries the full endorsement of the IOC Medical Commission
Publication Date: 2013-09-13
Functional Anatomy for Sport and Exercise by Functional Anatomy for Sport and Exercise: A Quick A-to-Z Reference is the most user-friendly and accessible available reference to human musculoskeletal anatomy in its moving, active context. Fully updated and revised, the second edition features more illustrations to enhance student learning and an expanded hot topics section to highlight key areas of research in sport and exercise. An accessible format makes it easy for students to locate clear, concise explanations and descriptions of anatomical structures, human movement terms and key concepts. Covering all major anatomical areas, the book includes: an A-to-Z guide to anatomical terms and concepts, from the head to the foot clear and detailed colour illustrations cross-referenced entries throughout hot topics discussed in more detail in sports examples discussed in more detail full references and suggested further reading This book is an essential quick reference for undergraduate students in applied anatomy, functional anatomy, kinesiology, sport and exercise science, physical education, strength and conditioning, biomechanics and athletic training. I> in sports examples discussed in more detail full references and suggested further reading This book is an essential quick reference for undergraduate students in applied anatomy, functional anatomy, kinesiology, sport and exercise science, physical education, strength and conditioning, biomechanics and athletic training.
Call Number: QM100.M55 REF
Publication Date: 2019-04-25
Encyclopedia of Sports and Athletics by This book presents and discusses current research in the study of sports and athletics. Topics discussed include the anti-inflammatory effects of exercise; the role of physical exercise in Parkinson's disease; the health benefits of aerobic activity and physical fitness in young people; physiological evaluation of athletic performance in cyclic sports; social and environmental influences on athlete motivation in sports; self-talk in sports; mental toughness; the role of physical activity in the treatment and prevention of anxiety and depression in children and being superstitious in sports. (Imprint: Nova Biomedical Press)
Publication Date: 2011-09-01
Encyclopedia of Dietary Supplements by Encyclopedia of Dietary Supplements presents peer-reviewed, objective entries that rigorously examine the most significant scientific research on basic chemical, preclinical, and clinical data. Designed for healthcare professionals, researchers, and health-conscious consumers, it presents evidence-based information on the major vitamin and mineral micronutrients, herbs, botanicals, phytochemicals, and other bioactive preparations. Supplements covered include: Vitamins, beta-carotene, niacin, and folate Omega-3 and omega-6 fatty acids, isoflavones, and quercetin Calcium, copper, iron, and phosphorus 5-hydroxytryptophan, glutamine, and L-arginine St. John's Wort, ginkgo biloba, green tea, kava, and noni Androstenedione, DHEA, and melatonin Coenzyme Q10 and S-adenosylmethionine Shiitake, maitake, reishi, and cordiceps With nearly 100 entries contributed by renowned subject-specific experts, the book serves as a scientific checkpoint for the many OTC supplements carried in today's nutritional products marketplace. Also Available Online This Taylor & Francis encyclopedia is also available through online subscription, offering a variety of extra benefits for researchers, students, and librarians, including: Citation tracking and alerts Active reference linking Saved searches and marked lists HTML and PDF format options Contact Taylor and Francis for more information or to inquire about subscription options and print/online combination packages. US: (Tel) 1.888.318.2367; (E-mail) firstname.lastname@example.org International: (Tel) +44 (0) 20 7017 6062; (E-mail) email@example.com
Publication Date: 2010-06-25