Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Why Would I Use a Reference Book?
- include helpful introductory information
- contain citations to other sources
- list statistics, dates and facts
- provide reviews, biographies and definitions
Questions? Contact the Simpson Library Reference Desk:
Click Chat below, email (email@example.com) or call (654-1148).
Available in Simpson Library Reference
Encyclopedia of Physics by The editors of this Encyclopedia, earlier editions of which met with international acclaim, have now provided a fully revised, expanded and updated third edition of this comprehensive reference work. In two volumes, 500 experts -- among them several Nobel laureates and numerous other scientific award winners -- offer a comprehensive and topical account of physics and the physical world. The volumes comprise more than 500 articles, which have either been completely updated or are altogether new, covering the latest terminology and techniques in physics, including atomic trapping and cooling, biophotonics, econophysics, the formation of stars and planets, quantum communication, space science and technology, and traffic flow.
Call Number: QC5 .E545 2005
Publication Date: 2005-10-28
A Dictionary of Physics by
Call Number: QC5 .C56 2009
The Cambridge Handbook of Physics Formulas by The Cambridge Handbook of Physics Formulas is a quick-reference aid for students and professionals in the physical sciences and engineering. It contains more than 2000 of the most useful formulas and equations found in undergraduate physics courses, covering mathematics, dynamics and mechanics, quantum physics, thermodynamics, solid state physics, electromagnetism, optics and astrophysics. An exhaustive index allows the required formulas to be located swiftly and simply, and the unique tabular format crisply identifies all the variables involved. The Cambridge Handbook of Physics Formulas comprehensively covers the major topics explored in undergraduate physics courses. It is designed to be a compact, portable, reference book suitable for everyday work, problem solving or exam revision. All students and professionals in physics, applied mathematics, engineering and other physical sciences will want to have this essential reference book within easy reach.
Publication Date: 2000-07-10
AIP Physics Desk Reference by
Publication Date: 2000-01-01
Encyclopedia of Applied Physics by The 23-volume Encyclopedia of Applied Physics - EAP - is a monumental first in scope, depth, and usability. It demonstrates the synergy between physics and technological applications. Information is presented according to the following subject areas: * General Aspects; Mathematical and Information Techniques * Measurement Sciences, General Devices and/or Methods * Nuclear and Elementary Particle Physics * Atomic and Molecular Physics * Electricity and Magnetism * Optics (classical and quantum) * Acoustics * Thermodynamics and Properties of Gases * Fluids and Plasma Physics * Condensed Matter: Structure and Mechanical Properties; Thermal, Acoustic, and Quantum Properties ; Electronic Properties ; Magnetic Properties ; Dielectrical and Optical Properties; Surfaces and Interfaces * Materials Science * Physical Chemistry * Energy Research and Environmental Physics * Biophysics and Medical Physics * Geophysics, Meteorology, Space Physics and Aeronautics EAP consists of 23 hardcover volumes arranged alphabetically. A cumulative subject index is published after every three volumes, with a full index accompanying the complete work.
Publication Date: 1993-11-12