Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
A great way to start your research is by reading overviews and summaries of a potential topic. Reference books, like encyclopedias, dictionaries, and handbooks, provide this type of authoritative information in a very condensed format. Reference books will:
- include helpful introductory information
- contain citations to other sources
- list statistics, dates and facts
- provide reviews, biographies and definitions
Don't cite these materials. The reason you don't cite reference books is that they don't provide any original information. They only give you a condensed summary of what other people have said about a topic. Use these materials to give you ideas for a topic, write down relevant facts and keywords, and then search Quest or the library databases to locate books and articles.
Encyclopedia of the World's Nations and Cultures by Encyclopedia of the World's Nations and Cultures comprises an extensive overhaul of the original ""Encyclopedia of the World's Nations"". It provides concise and objective descriptions of the dominant political, economic, social, and cultural systems of the countries of the world. The encyclopedia features 193 country-by-country surveys in 40 separate categories, as well as tables, charts, and lists that are linked with narrative accounts of each nation's peoples, history, government, society, and culture. This edition includes articles on three additional countries and 14 new sections on culture and society with each entry. Both the text and the extensive statistical data have been fully updated. New coverage includes: East Timor; Marshall Islands; and The Federated States of Micronesia. New sections in each entry include: Culture; Entertainment and recreation; Etiquette; Family life; Flora and fauna; Folklore and mythology; Food; Health; A list of modern rulers; Living conditions; Personal appearance; Science and technology; Sports; and Work.
Call Number: REF G63 .K874 2007
Publication Date: 2006-09-01
Encyclopedia of World Geography by World geography is an important topic for everyone. It can be used to study the past but is also crucial to understanding the events and current political conditions of the modern world. ""Encyclopedia of World Geography"" is an authoritative three-volume set profiling everything from the Fulda Gap to the Hudson River. Approximately 750 entries describe pioneers in geography and mapmaking; regions, boundaries, and places; and tools and terminology of geography and cartography. This accessible resource includes appendixes, such as world rankings and a complete world atlas, and almost 200 maps and photographs. Some 100 scholars and experts in the field contributed entries to the text, and a senior academic served as editor. An invaluable reference, ""Encyclopedia of World Geography"" is a complete and comprehensive guide to the history and practice of geography and cartography.
Call Number: REF G63 .E556 2005
Publication Date: 2005-09-01
Encyclopedia of Urban Studies by The United Nations estimates that by 2030, more than two-thirds of the total world population will live in urban areas. Most of this increase will take place not in Europe or in the United States but in the megacities and newly emerging urban regions of what used to be called the developing world. Urban studies is an expansive and growing field, covering many disciplines and professional fields, each with its own schedule of conferences, journals, and publication series. These two volumes address the specific theories, key studies, and important figures that have influenced not just the individual discipline but also the field of urban studies more generally. The Encyclopedia of Urban Studies is intended to present an overview of current work in the field and to serve as a guide for further reading in the field. Key Features Includes important work and traditions from each of the urban disciplines, including urban anthropology, urban economics, urban geography, urban history, urban politics, urban psychology, and urban sociology Addresses both the growth and expansion of urban areas (urbanization) and the nature and quality of urban life (urbanism) Demonstrates the international and interdisciplinary nature of the field with contributions from scholars in many different countries Confronts a number of important issues, ranging from individual problems of poverty to societal problems of provision of adequate housing and social exclusion Provides entries on a number of cities, including those in different historical periods and regions of the world and those that have been important in the development of urban studies Key Themes Disciplinary Approaches in Urban Studies Urban Studies-Topical Areas Urban Issues Urban Planning Urban Theory Urban Transportation Urban C
Call Number: REF HT108.5 .E634 2010
Publication Date: 2009-11-13
Science Fiction (FSEM)
The Science Fiction Handbook by The Science Fiction Handbook offers a comprehensive and accessible survey of one of the literary world's most fascinating genres. Includes separate historical surveys of key subgenres including time-travel narratives, post-apocalyptic and post-disaster narratives and works of utopian and dystopian science fiction Each subgenre survey includes an extensive list of relevant critical readings, recommended novels in the subgenre, and recommended films relevant to the subgenre Features entries on a number of key science fiction authors and extensive discussion of major science fiction novels or sequences Writers and works include Isaac Asimov; Margaret Atwood; George Orwell; Ursula K. Le Guin; The War of the Worlds (1898); Starship Troopers (1959); Mars Trilogy (1993-6); and many more A 'Science Fiction Glossary' completes this indispensable Handbook
Publication Date: 2009-04-27
The Routledge Concise History of Science Fiction by The term 'science fiction' has an established common usage, but close examination reveals that writers, fans, editors, scholars, and publishers often use this word in different ways for different reasons. Exploring how science fiction has emerged through competing versions and the struggle to define its limits, this Concise History: provides an accessible and clear overview of the development of the genre traces the separation of sf from a broader fantastic literature and the simultaneous formation of neighbouring genres, such as fantasy and horror shows the relationship between magazine and paperback traditions in sf publishing is organised by theme and presented chronologically uses text boxes throughout to highlight key works in sf traditions including dystopian, apocalyptic and evolutionary fiction includes a short overview and bullet-pointed conclusion for each chapter. Discussing the place of key works and looking forward to the future of the genre, this book is the ideal starting point both for students and all those seeking a better understanding of science fiction.
Publication Date: 2011-04-08
A Companion to Science Fiction by A Companion to Science Fiction assembles essays by an international range of scholars which discuss the contexts, themes and methods used by science fiction writers. This Companion conveys the scale and variety of science fiction. Shows how science fiction has been used as a means of debating cultural issues. Essays by an international range of scholars discuss the contexts, themes and methods used by science fiction writers. Addresses general topics, such as the history and origins of the genre, its engagement with science and gender, and national variations of science fiction around the English-speaking world. Maps out connections between science fiction, television, the cinema, virtual reality technology, and other aspects of the culture. Includes a section focusing on major figures, such as H.G. Wells, Arthur C. Clarke, and Ursula Le Guin. Offers close readings of particular novels, from Mary Shelley's Frankenstein to Margaret Atwood's The Handmaid's Tale.
Publication Date: 2008-06-09
The Encyclopedia of Science Fiction by When the first edition of THE ENCYCLOPEDIA OF SCIENCE FICTION was published in 1979, it was immediately hailed as a classic work of reference. Frank Herbert described it as "the most valuable science fiction source book ever written." And Isaac Asimov said, "It will become the Bible for all science fiction fans." This new edition has taken years to prepare & is much more than a simple updating. The world of science fiction in the 1990s is much more complex than it was back in the late 1970s. The advent of game worlds, shared worlds, graphic novels, film & TV spin-offs, technothrillers, virtual reality, survivalist fiction, sci-fi horror novels & fantasy novels with sci-fi centers has necessitated a radical revision & this has allowed the inclusion of related subjects, such as magic realism. This edition contains well over 4,300 entries - a staggering 1,500 more than the original - &, at 1.2 million words, it is nearly half a million words longer than the first edition. This is the indispensable reference work not only for every reader who loves, uses & wishes to know more about science fiction, but for every reader of imaginative fiction at the end of this century.
Call Number: REF PN3433.4 .E53 1993
Publication Date: 1993-05-01
American Decades Series, 1990-1999 by American Decades is a cross-disciplinary source for junior and high school students and teachers, public librarians and general researchers who need a single, consistent reference to document and analyze periods of contemporary American social history. The original 10-volume set covers 1900-1999; the additional Volume 11 covers 2000-2009.
Call Number: REF E169.12 .A42 1994
Publication Date: 2000-11-15
The Nineties in America by The Gulf War, dot-coms, impeachment, grunge, Y2K . . . The Nineties in America examines the iconic personalities and moments of this important decade. It features long overviews and short entries discussing people, books, films, plays, and other important topics representative of that era. Every entry focuses on the topic or person during the 1990s in order to explore what made the decade unique.
Publication Date: 2009-02-01
Earth and Water
Water Encyclopedia, Set by The Water Encyclopedia offers a comprehensive depository of all information relating to the scientific and technological aspects of the world's most important natural resource -- water. The role of water in science, engineering and society requires a one-stop location to find whatever information is available on the cutting edge of the 21st century. This book is a resource for useful public domain data. Its focus is expert narrative on all water-related subjects.
Call Number: REF TD345 .L393 2005
Publication Date: 2005-06-13
Our Earth's Changing Land by
Call Number: REF GF90 .O87 2006
Publication Date: 2005
Encyclopedia of Caves and Karst Science by The Encyclopedia of Caves and Karst Science contains 350 alphabetically arranged entries. The topics include cave and karst geoscience, cave archaeology and human use of caves, art in caves, hydrology and groundwater, cave and karst history, and conservation and management. The Encyclopedia isnbsp;extensively illustrated with photographs, maps, diagrams, and tables, and has thematic content lists and a comprehensive index to facilitate searching and browsing. nbsp;
Publication Date: 2003
CIA World Factbook
Provides information on the history, people, government, economy, geography, communications, transportation, military, and transnational issues for 267 world entities.
Geographic Names Information System (GNIS)
Developed by U.S. Geological Survey. GNIS is the official repository of domestic geographic names data.
GEOnet Names Server
The official repository of foreign place-name decisions approved by the U.S. Board on Geographic Names.
The New Oxford Book of Food Plants by The Oxford Book of Food Plants is a beautifully illustrated compendium of facts about the plants we grow in our gardens and use in our cooking. Gorgeous botanical illustrations are accompanied by accessible yet authoritative descriptions of each plant, along with fascinating historicaldetails and nutritive values.This is a new edition of a classic book -- fully updated with the latest nutritional research, as well as beautiful new plates and descriptions of many exotic edible plants that have only recently found their way into our markets and onto our kitchen tables -- it is a must-have for anyone who lovesgood food, cooking, and gardening.
Call Number: eBook
Publication Date: 2009
Encyclopedia of Food and Agricultural Ethics This Encyclopedia offers a definitive source on issues pertaining to the full range of topics in the important new area of food and agricultural ethics. It includes summaries of historical approaches, current scholarship, social movements, and new trends from the standpoint of the ethical notions that have shaped them. It combines detailed analyses of specific topics such as the role of antibiotics in animal production, the Green Revolution, and alternative methods of organic farming, with longer entries that summarize general areas of scholarship and explore ways that they are related. Renewed debate, discussion and inquiry into food and agricultural topics have become a hallmark of the turn toward more sustainable policies and lifestyles in the 21st century. Attention has turned to the goals and ethical rationale behind production, distribution and consumption of food, as well as to non-food uses of cultivated biomass and the products of animal husbandry. These wide-ranging debates encompass questions in human nutrition, animal rights and the environmental impacts of aquaculture and agricultural production. Each of these and related topics is both technically complex and involves an - often implicit - ethical dimension. Other topics include methods for integrating ethics into scientific and technical research programs or development projects, the role of intensive agriculture and biotechnology in addressing persistent world hunger and the role of crops, forests and engineered organisms in making a transition to renewable, carbon-neutral sources of energy. The Encyclopedia of Food and Agricultural Ethics proves an indispensible reference point for future research and writing on topics in agriculture and food ethics for decades to come.
Call Number: eBook
Publication Date: 2014
Food Cultures of the World Encyclopedia - Europe by This comprehensive reference work introduces food culture from more than 150 countries and cultures around the world--including some from remote and unexpected peoples and places. * Entries covering over 150 countries and cultures from around the world * More than 100 expert contributors * Vignettes * An index that facilitates cross-cultural comparison
Call Number: eBook
Publication Date: 2011
The Cambridge World History of Food by This two-volume set is an excellent starting point for your research project! The set contains articles on particular crops, e.g. “Tomatoes” or “Coconuts.” Each article describes the history of a crop from its domestication to the present day. Some articles include numerical data about agriculture or nutrition. All articles have lengthy bibliographies.
Call Number: REF TX353 .C255 2000
Publication Date: 1999
Encyclopedia of Food and Culture A three-volume set, similar to the The Cambridge World History of Food, but with a greater focus on society and culture. In addition to articles about particular crops, this book also includes articles such as “Barbeque,” “Comfort Food,” “Food Archaeology,” “Greenhouse Horticulture,” “Marketing of Food,” “Organic Food,” and “Salad.”
Call Number: REF GT 2850 .E53 2003
Publication Date: 2002