Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
UMW Campus Newspapers (and Other Mary Washington Publications)
UMW Bullet and Blue & Gray Press
Mary Washington's campus newspaper, The Bullet, was first published in 1921. It ceased publication at the end of the 1923-24 academic year but began again in 1927. Unfortunately, none of the 1921, 1924, or 1927 issues have been located. The Bullet changed its name to The Blue & Gray Press with the September 4, 2014, issue (volume 88, issue 1).
Current issues of The Blue & Gray Press are shelved in Simpson Library's Current Periodicals area on the first floor. Microfilmed issues of the campus newspaper are in the gray microfilm cabinets on Simpson' first floor (LH 1 .M3 B84). Paper issues (1922 to date) are available in Simpson Library' Special Collections and University Archives (room 217).
The Bullet : Eagle Explorer
Provides access to The Bullet in digitized form from 1922 to 2014.
The Blue & Gray Press : Online Archive
September 2014 - present
Continuation of The Bullet following the 2014 title change.
Browse the online archive of the print version of the Blue & Gray Press from 2014 to present.
Provides access to The Bullet, in addition to a variety of other UMW publications including The Battlefield (the yearbook), Mary Washington academic course catalogs, alumni magazines, The Epaulet and Aubade literature and arts magazines, and student handbooks.
Other Campus Newspapers
Collegiate Chronicle Collection
Part of the University of Illinois' Digitial Newspaper Collection, this site "presents U.S. college newspapers from different regions and time periods."
A "Campus Papers" section on this page furnishes access to selected college and university newspapers in the United States and abroad.