Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Virginia Newspapers Online
Chronicling America : Virginia Newspapers
Over 65 Virginia newspapers are included in Chronicling America. Number of issues and date ranges vary.
Chronicling America : Fredericksburg Newspapers
Fredericksburg newspapers in Chronicling America include the News, the Ledger, the Free Lance, the Star, the Daily Star, and the Free Lance-Star.
Fredericksburg Newspaper Search
From the UMW Department of Historic Preservation.
A compiled newspaper database has been created to allow for simultaneously searching all the newspapers published in Fredericksburg between 1787 and 1928.
Fredericksburg Research Resources
Developed by the Historic Preservation Department at the University of Mary Washington. Enables users to search such area resources as 19th-century Fredericksburg directories, historic district codes, 18th- and 19th-century newspaper indexes, and local Mutual Assurance Policies and Censuses of Manufacturing Lists.
Free Lance-Star (Fredericksburg) - Online
The online edition of Fredericksburg's daily newspaper includes full-text articles, wire reports, a calendar of events, and other features.
The Free Lance-Star
is indexed in the Nexis Uni
database. It is also covered by ABI/Inform
, where it is part of the McClatchy - Tribune Business News. In addition, see the Fredericksburg Research Resources link above.
Free Lance-Star (Fredericksburg) - Simpson Library
Publication information: September 2, 1926 to present. Continues the Daily Star and the Free-Lance.
Simpson Microfilm AN 2 .F73 F72
Microfilm holdings: September 2, 1926 - February 28, 2018; April 1, 2018 - December 31, 2019
Simpson Stacks 2nd floor, after Z
The library has a number of bound issues in the stacks on the far end of the second floor (near the ThinkLab (225A), the Simpson Classroom (225B), and the elevator). Some individual issues are missing, but the holdings roughly include: January 1945 - December 1953, January 1962; January 1970 - April 1998; June 1998 - December 2010.
Google News Archive
Fredericksburg newspapers from the Google News Archive include the Virginia Herald (1792-1809), the News (1849-1862), the Ledger (1865-1874), the Free Lance (1885-1926), the Star (1898-1900), the Daily Star (1917-1918), and the Free Lance-Star (1920-2006). Holdings are not complete for all years.
Richmond Daily Dispatch, 1860-1865
A digitization of the Richmond Daily Dispatch for the Civil War years.
Provides access to thousands of newspaper articles from newspapers throughout Virginia. Users can both browse (by title and date) and search the collection. This resources is sponsored by the Library of Virginia, whose Virginia Newspaper Project attempts to find, identify, catalog, and preserve American newspapers housed in Virginia libraries.
The Virginia Gazette was the official newspaper of Virginia, printed in Williamsburg from 1736 until 1780. When the capital of Virginia moved to Richmond in 1780, printers transferred their businesses to the new seat of government. Both Dixon & Nicolson and Clarkson & Davis resumed their papers in Richmond.