Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
A great way to start your research is by reading overviews and summaries of a potential topic. Reference books, like encyclopedias, dictionaries, and handbooks, provide this type of authoritative information in a very condensed format. Reference books will:
- include helpful introductory information
- contain citations to other sources
- list statistics, dates and facts
- provide reviews, biographies and definitions
Don't cite these materials. The reason you don't cite reference books is that they don't provide any original information. They only give you a condensed summary of what other people have said about a topic. Use these materials to give you ideas for a topic, write down relevant facts and keywords, and then search Quest or the library databases to locate books and articles.
Encyclopedia of Science,Technology and Ethics Should governments and corporations be limited in their electronic monitoring of personal e-mails, library activities, or telephone calls even if it is in the name of national security? Does science have a moral obligation to resist political influence even it is means stalling research? Moral teachings and ethical questions about the creation and use of science and technology have been a part of religious and philosophical traditions from the earliest periods. Science and technology have faced a series of ethical and political challenges throughout much of modern history, from the Enlightenment, through the Industrial Revolution, to the military and ideological conflicts that defined the twentieth century. Today, the challenges are more global in scope and are intensified by terrorists opposed to many dimensions of the scientific and technological world. New fields of ethical reflection -- computer ethics, environmental ethics, communication ethics, genethics - are emerging to deal with the world that science and technology have created. professional ethics of doing science and technology, and the ethical and political issues raised by science and technology in an increasingly complex and global society. This broad coverage supports the numerous courses in applied and professional ethics and policy related to the practice of science and technology in educational. Additionally, it provides a practical introduction to useful knowledge and ideas for both professionals and general readers. The encyclopedia embodies a historically and culturally inclusive approach, with entries on specific religions, linguistic and cultural perspectives, and philosophical positions. This is the first authoritative and comprehensive reference to illuminate the ethical, political, social, and legal issues related to science, engineering, and technology. Transcending disciplinary and cultural boundaries, the encyclopedia focuses on contemporary issues while providing ample historical and philosophical background. world, including terrorism, freedom, democracy, authoritarianism, military ethics, the concept of the just war, building destruction and collapse, and biological and chemical weapons.
Call Number: REF Q175.35 .E53 2005
Publication Date: 2005-07-21
The Handbook of Information and Computer Ethics by This handbook provides an accessible overview of the most important issues in information and computer ethics. It covers: foundational issues and methodological frameworks; theoretical issues affecting property, privacy, anonymity, and security; professional issues and the information-related professions; responsibility issues and risk assessment; regulatory issues and challenges; access and equity issues. Each chapter explains and evaluates the central positions and arguments on the respective issues, and ends with a bibliography that identifies the most important supplements available on the topic.
Publication Date: 2008-05-27
Encyclopedia of Information Ethics and Security by Rapid technological advancement in information processing and management has also created new ethical dilemmas and security challenges facing organizations and societies, while the development of appropriate ethical codes and security measures has failed to keep pace. This makes the education of computer users and professionals crucial. The Encyclopedia of Information Ethics and Security is the original, comprehensive reference source on ethical and security issues relating to the latest technologies. Covering a wide range of themes, this valuable reference tool includes topics such as computer crime, information warfare, privacy, surveillance, intellectual property and education. Over 150 contributors from 19 different countries, more than 700 key terms, their definitions, and 2,000 comprehensive references make this the most inclusive reference source on the topic of information ethics and security. A useful tool for academics, researchers, and educators, this encyclopedia is an invaluable resource for any library.
Publication Date: 2007-05-31
These books in Simpson Library Reference contain biographical information. To identify books that reference a particular individual, start with the database Biography and Genealogy Master Index.
Notable Scientists by This title, an updated and expanded edition of "Notable Twentieth-Century Scientists, includes biographical profiles of nearly 1,600 scientists active in the natural, physical and/or applied sciences since the beginning of the 20th century.
Call Number: REF Q141 .N728 2001
Publication Date: 2000
Encyclopedia of World Scientists by This volume is a comprehensive reference tool for learning about scientists and their work. It includes 500 cross-referenced profiles of well-known scientific greats of history and contemporary scientists whose work is verging on prominence.
Call Number: REF Q141 .O25 2001
Publication Date: 2000-11-01
Notable Women in Mathematics by This volume features substantive biographical essays on 59 women from around the world who have made significant contributions to mathematics from antiquity to the present. Designed for secondary school students and the general public, each profile describes major life events, obstacles faced and overcome, educational and career milestones--including a discussion of mathematical research in non-technical terms--and interests outside of 2 promotics. Although the collection includes historical women, the emphasis is on contemporary mathematicians, many of whom have not been profiled in any previous work. The work also celebrates the contributions of minority women, including 10 African-American, Latina, and Asian mathematicians. Written by practicing mathematicians, teachers and researchers, these profiles give voice to the variety of pathways into mathematics that women have followed and the diversity of areas in which mathematics can work. Many profiles draw on interviews with the subject, and each includes a short list of suggested reading by and about the mathematician. Most mathematicians profiled stress the value, importance, and enjoyment of collaborative research, contradicting the prevailing notion that doing good mathematics requires isolation. This collection provides not only a substantial number of role models for girls interested in a career in mathematics, but also a unique depiction of a field that can offer a lifetime of challenge and enjoyment.
Call Number: REF QA28 .N68 1998
Publication Date: 1998
Notable Black American Scientists by This reference source provides entries recording the achievements, importance and impacts of the most significant 250 black American scientists throughout time.
Call Number: REF Q141 .N726 1999
Publication Date: 1998
A to Z of Mathematicians by It is difficult to evaluate contemporary mathematicians without the benefit of a retrospective viewpoint, separated by several decades. This A-Z reference covers both the past and present scientists who have significantly contributed to the field of mathematics.
Call Number: REF QA28 .M395 2005
Publication Date: 2005
Encyclopedia of Computer Science and Technology by With breadth and depth of coverage, the Encyclopedia of Computer Science and Technology, Second Edition has a multi-disciplinary scope, drawing together comprehensive coverage of the inter-related aspects of computer science and technology. The topics covered in this encyclopedia include: General and reference Hardware Computer systems organization Networks Software and its engineering Theory of computation Mathematics of computing Information systems Security and privacy Human-centered computing Computing methodologies Applied computing Professional issues Leading figures in the history of computer science The encyclopedia is structured according to the ACM Computing Classification System (CCS), first published in 1988 but subsequently revised in 2012. This classification system is the most comprehensive and is considered the de facto ontological framework for the computing field. The encyclopedia brings together the information and historical context that students, practicing professionals, researchers, and academicians need to have a strong and solid foundation in all aspects of computer science and technology.
Publication Date: 2017-10-02
Computer: A History of the Information Machine by Computer: A History of the Information Machine traces the history of the computer and shows how business and government were the first to explore its unlimited, information-processing potential. Old-fashioned entrepreneurship combined with scientific know-how inspired now famous computer engineers to create the technology that became IBM. Wartime needs drove the giant ENIAC, the first fully electronic computer. Later, the PC enabled modes of computing that liberated people from room-sized, mainframe computers. This third edition provides updated analysis on software and computer networking, including new material on the programming profession, social networking, and mobile computing. It expands its focus on the IT industry with fresh discussion on the rise of Google and Facebook as well as how powerful applications are changing the way we work, consume, learn, and socialize. Computer is an insightful look at the pace of technological advancement and the seamless way computers are integrated into the modern world. Through comprehensive history and accessible writing, Computer is perfect for courses on computer history, technology history, and information and society, as well as a range of courses in the fields of computer science, communications, sociology, and management.
Publication Date: 2016
Encyclopedia of Information Science and Technology by As research advances in computing technology continue to accelerate, so too do the emerging opportunities, issues, and challenges facing individuals, organizations, and societies concerning the utilization and management of technology. This change-driven environment creates a critical need for a comprehensive, up-to-date reference to the full range of concepts, issues, methods, technologies, and trends associated with the field.The Encyclopedia of Information Science and Technology, Second Edition is a matchless compendium of over 750 authoritative, research-based entries/chapters contributed by nearly 1,200 researchers and experts from 60 countries on a complete range of topics that, together, define the contemporary state of knowledge on technology and its organizational, managerial, behavioral, and social implications. This indispensable reference work is also enhanced with thorough definitions of more than 6,000 technical and managerial terms, as well as an exhaustive reference section that directs researchers, scholars, students, and practitioners to more than 17,500 additional sources for further reading and research. An essential addition to any academic library's reference collection, this discipline defining encyclopedia will serve research needs in numerous fields that are affected by the rapid pace and profound impact of technological change.
Publication Date: 2008
Encyclopedia of Computer Science and Technology by Computers play a crucial role in our day-to-day lives. With more than 150 black-and-white photographs and illustrations, ""Encyclopedia of Computer Science and Technology, Revised Edition"" provides a detailed examination of this fascinating field for students and general readers alike. This necessary update boasts more than 50 - per cent new material - a total of more than 550 updated entries, nearly 200 new to this edition, that reflect current information. Helpful appendixes include a chronology of significant events in computing, a listing of achievements in the field, and brief descriptions and contact information for some important organizations in the computer field. Major corporations and organizations in the computer field are now covered, as well as many new biographies. Further reading sections have been revised and expanded with the latest resources.
Call Number: QA76.15 .H43 2009
Publication Date: 2008-11-01
Encyclopedia of Computers and Computer History by
Call Number: REF QA76.15 .E53 2001
Publication Date: 2001-04-01
First Published in 2001. Routledge is an imprint of Taylor & Francis, an informa company.
The Data Science Handbook by A comprehensive overview of data science covering the analytics, programming, and business skills necessary to master the discipline Finding a good data scientist has been likened to hunting for a unicorn: the required combination of technical skills is simply very hard to find in one person. In addition, good data science is not just rote application of trainable skill sets; it requires the ability to think flexibly about all these areas and understand the connections between them. This book provides a crash course in data science, combining all the necessary skills into a unified discipline. Unlike many analytics books, computer science and software engineering are given extensive coverage since they play such a central role in the daily work of a data scientist. The author also describes classic machine learning algorithms, from their mathematical foundations to real-world applications. Visualization tools are reviewed, and their central importance in data science is highlighted. Classical statistics is addressed to help readers think critically about the interpretation of data and its common pitfalls. The clear communication of technical results, which is perhaps the most undertrained of data science skills, is given its own chapter, and all topics are explained in the context of solving real-world data problems. The book also features: * Extensive sample code and tutorials using Python(tm) along with its technical libraries * Core technologies of "Big Data," including their strengths and limitations and how they can be used to solve real-world problems * Coverage of the practical realities of the tools, keeping theory to a minimum; however, when theory is presented, it is done in an intuitive way to encourage critical thinking and creativity * A wide variety of case studies from industry * Practical advice on the realities of being a data scientist today, including the overall workflow, where time is spent, the types of datasets worked on, and the skill sets needed The Data Science Handbook is an ideal resource for data analysis methodology and big data software tools. The book is appropriate for people who want to practice data science, but lack the required skill sets. This includes software professionals who need to better understand analytics and statisticians who need to understand software. Modern data science is a unified discipline, and it is presented as such. This book is also an appropriate reference for researchers and entry-level graduate students who need to learn real-world analytics and expand their skill set. FIELD CADY is the data scientist at the Allen Institute for Artificial Intelligence, where he develops tools that use machine learning to mine scientific literature. He has also worked at Google and several Big Data startups. He has a BS in physics and math from Stanford University, and an MS in computer science from Carnegie Mellon.
Publication Date: 2017-02-28
Artificial Intelligence (FSEM)
Encyclopedia of Biometrics by This encyclopedia provides a comprehensive reference to topics in biometrics including concepts, modalities, algorithms, devices, systems, security, performance testing, applications and standardization. With an A-Z format and over 1400 entries, it provides easy access to relevant information on all aspects of biometrics for those seeking entry into this broad field. Entries are written by experts in biometrics and related fields. Each entry includes a definition, key words, list of synonyms, list of related entries, illustration(s), applications and a bibliography. Most entries include useful literature references providing the reader with a portal to more detailed information. Comprehensive and tutorial, the Encyclopedia of Biometrics, 2nd Edition is a practical resource for experts in the field and professionals interested in aspects of biometrics.
Publication Date: 2015-07-05
Encyclopedia of Artificial Intelligence by Numerous real-life problems so complex as to be virtually insoluble by means of traditional computer science techniquescan now be approached effectively with artificial intelligence techniques. Recently, artificial intelligencetechnologies have evolved at a rapid pace, raising significant challenges to the effort to stay current.The Encyclopedia of Artificial Intelligence is a comprehensive and in-depth reference to the most recent developmentsin the field covering theoretical developments, techniques, technologies, and applications of systems usingintelligent characteristics for adaptability, automation learning, classification, prediction, and even artistic creation,among others. Authored by over 400 of the world's leading experts from more than 40 countries, this commandingreference of 237 articles is essential to any research library's technology holdings.
Publication Date: 2008-07-31
Human Computer Interaction
The Handbook of the Psychology of Communication Technology by The Handbook of the Psychology of Communication Technology offers an unparalleled source for seminal and cutting-edge research on the psychological aspects of communicating with and via emergent media technologies, with leading scholars providing insights that advance our knowledge on human-technology interactions. * A uniquely focused review of extensive research on technology and digital media from a psychological perspective * Authoritative chapters by leading scholars studying psychological aspects of communication technologies * Covers all forms of media from Smartphones to Robotics, from Social Media to Virtual Reality * Explores the psychology behind our use and abuse of modern communication technologies * New theories and empirical findings about ways in which our lives are transformed by digital media
Publication Date: 2015
Handbook of Human-Computer Interaction by Hardbound. This completely revised edition, of the Handbook of Human-Computer Interaction, of which 80% of the content is new, reflects the developments in the field since the publication of the first edition in 1988. The handbook is concerned with principles for design of the Human-Computer Interface, and has both academic and practical purposes. It is intended to summarize the research and provide recommendations for how the information can be used by designers of computer systems. The volume may also be used as a reference for teaching and research. Professionals who are involved in design of HCI will find this volume indispensable, including: computer scientists, cognitive scientists, experimental psychologists, human factors professionals, interface designers, systems engineers, managers and executives working with systems development. Much of the information in the handbook may also be generalized to apply to areas outside the traditional f
Publication Date: 1997-08-18
Berkshire Encyclopedia of Human-Computer Interaction by This rich two-volume reference presents the history and current state of research for a broad range of topics. Written by experts in the field, the articles are lengthy; but the content is directed toward educated general readers and will be useful to undergraduate students. The broad themes of methods, challenges, interfaces, components, breakthro
Call Number: REF QA76.9.H85 B46 2004
Publication Date: 2005-01-01
Handbook of Human Factors in Web Design by The Handbook of Human Factors in Web Design & covers basic human factors issues relating to screen design, input devices, and information organization and processing, as well as addresses newer features which will become prominent in the next generation of Web technologies. These include multimodal interfaces, wireless capabilities, and agents t
Publication Date: 2011-04-25