Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Why Should I Use Reference Sources?
- include helpful introductory information
- contain citations to other sources
- list statistics, dates and facts
- provide reviews, biographies and definitions
A Reference book is just a starting point that provides an overview of a topic. Don't cite these materials. The reason why we don't cite reference books is that they don't provide any original information. They only give you a condensed summary of what other people have said about a topic. Use these materials to give you ideas for a topic. Write down the relevant facts and keywords so that you can search in Quest or the library databases to locate books and articles for your research.
Available in Simpson Library Reference
Encyclopedia of Geology by This unrivalled, five-volume reference work covers all aspects of geology including earth history, earth materials, surface processes, regional geology, economic geology, engineering geology, petroleum geology, geochemical and mineral exploration, and the history of geology. The techniques of remote sensing and other tools of investigation that have advanced rapidly over the last few decades are described in detail. Encyclopedia of Geology is divided into 340 articles, each covering one aspect of geology. The concepts and theory are explained at a level that allows undergraduates and educated lay people to understand them. The reference has been planned and structured to provide the user with a comprehensive coverage of the core knowledge in each area. It will become the reference of choice for today's geologists and beyond. Also available online via ScienceDirect - featuring extensive browsing, searching, and internal cross-referencing between articles in the work, plus dynamic linking to journal articles and abstract databases, making navigation flexible and easy. For more information, pricing options and availability visit www.info.sciencedirect.com.
Call Number: QE5 .E516 2005
Publication Date: 2004-12-16
Encyclopedia of Sediments and Sedimentary Rocks by This comprehensive, one-volume encyclopedia covers the sedimentological aspects of sediments and sedimentary rocks. It features more than 250 entries by some 180 eminent contributors from all over the world, excellent indices, cross references, and extensive bibliographies.
Call Number: QE471.2 .E53 2003
Publication Date: 2005-10-26
The Practical Encyclopedia of Rocks and Minerals by John Farndon presents this visual guide to the origins, evolution and identification of rocks and minerals, with in-depth profiles of over 300 specimens.
Call Number: QE423 .F37 2006
Publication Date: 2006-03-07
The Water Encyclopedia by "Just do an Internet search." "It's on the Internet" These phrases have quickly become a part of the vernacular. The quintessential book of data relating to water, The Water Encyclopedia: Hydrologic Data and Internet Resources, Third Edition arose from the premise that most of the information provided within this publication could be easily found on the Internet. As the editors and their team of contributors soon discovered, using the Internet for research can be problematic. Too much, too little, and questionable data sets can influence the caliber of your results. The new edition contains more than 1100 tables and 500 figures providing data related to weather, surface water, ground water, water use, water quality, waste water, pollution, and water resource management. The first two chapters are completely new and discuss data management and international data collection. The pollution chapter has grown to contain some 450 plus tables and figures. Wastewater, previously included within the pollution chapter, is presented as a new standalone chapter. Whether you are looking for a specific piece of information or exploring many topics, this edition is a portal to quality facts and data sets. Retaining the elements that made the previous editions bestsellers, the third edition elucidates the many changes within the environmental industry and in water-related issues during the last decade. Prepared by scientists and engineers, the book has been significantly expanded beyond the scope of the second edition. Reflecting changes not only in information but also technology, whenever possible, the text includes an Internet address that guides you to the appropriate source.
Call Number: TC403 .W38 2007
Publication Date: 2007-02-05
Dictionary of Gems and Gemology by The rapid growth of gemological sciences & mineralogy requires a comprehensive dictionary for gemologists, mineralogists, geologists, jewel dealers, industry & hobbyists. This dictionary contains about 16000 entries. The comprehensive definitions are completed by more than 250 diagrams & figures. The author offers a one-stop reference to any matter dealing with gems & gemology.
Call Number: QE392 .M29 2000
Publication Date: 2000-10-01
The History and Use of Our Earth's Chemical Elements by Understanding the Periodic Table of Chemical Elements is critical for success in the chemistry classroom and laboratory. In today's classroom, students not only need to understand the properties of the chemical elements, but how these elements play such an integral role in industry, the earth and the environment, and in modern life. No resource provides a better introduction than Robert Krebs's The History and Use of Our Earth's Chemical Elements. In this thoroughly revised edition, with extensive new examples on the importance of the chemical elements, the elements are examined within their groups, enabling students to make connections between elements of similar structure. In addition, the discovery and history of each element - from those known from ancient times to those created in the modern laboratory - is explained clearly and concisely. Understanding the Periodic Table of Chemical Elements is critical for success in the chemistry classroom and laboratory. In today's classroom, students not only need to understand the properties of the chemical elements, but how these elements play such an integral role in industry, the earth and the environment, and in modern life. No resource provides a better introduction than Robert Krebs's The History and Use of Our Earth's Chemical Elements. In this thoroughly revised edition, with extensive new and updated examples on the use of the chemical elements, the elements are examined within their groups, enabling students to make connections between elements of similar structure. In addition, the discovery and history of each element - from those known from ancient times to those created in the modern laboratory - is explained clearly and concisely. In addition to the handy Guide to the Chemical Elements that comprises the bulk of the work, The History and Use of Our Earth's Chemical Elements includes other useful features: ; Introductory material on the basics of chemistry and the Periodic Table ; Appendices on the discoverers of the chemical elements ; A glossary of words commonly used in chemistry and chemical engineering ; A complete bibliography of useful resources, including websites All of this information makes The History and Use of Our Earth's Chemical Elements the ideal one-volume resource for understanding the importance of the chemical elements.
Call Number: QD466 .K69 2006
Publication Date: 2006-07-30