Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
A great way to start your research is by reading overviews and summaries of a potential topic. Reference books, like encyclopedias, dictionaries, and handbooks, provide this type of authoritative information in a very condensed format. Reference books will:
- include helpful introductory information
- contain citations to other sources
- list statistics, dates and facts
- provide reviews, biographies and definitions
Don't cite these materials. The reason you don't cite reference books is that they don't provide any original information. They only give you a condensed summary of what other people have said about a topic. Use these materials to give you ideas for a topic, write down relevant facts and keywords, and then search Quest or the library databases to locate books and articles.
Formulae and Tables
CRC Concise Encyclopedia of Mathematics by Upon publication, the first edition of the CRC Concise Encyclopedia of Mathematics received overwhelming accolades for its unparalleled scope, readability, and utility. It soon took its place among the top selling books in the history of Chapman & Hall/CRC, and its popularity continues unabated. Yet also unabated has been the dedication of author Eric Weisstein to collecting, cataloging, and referencing mathematical facts, formulas, and definitions. He has now updated most of the original entries and expanded the Encyclopediato include 1000 additional pages of illustrated entries. The accessibility of the Encyclopediaalong with its broad coverage and economical price make it attractive to the widest possible range of readers and certainly a must for libraries, from the secondary to the professional and research levels. For mathematical definitions, formulas, figures, tabulations, and references, this is simply the most impressive compendium available.
Publication Date: 2002-12-12
Handbook of Mathematical Formulas and Integrals by The updated Handbook is an essential reference for researchers and students in applied mathematics, engineering, and physics. It provides quick access to important formulas, relations, and methods from algebra, trigonometric and exponential functions, combinatorics, probability, matrix theory, calculus and vector calculus, ordinary and partial differential equations, Fourier series, orthogonal polynomials, and Laplace transforms. Many of the entries are based upon the updated sixth edition of Gradshteyn and Ryzhik's Table of Integrals, Series, and Products and other important reference works. The Third Edition has new chapters covering solutions of elliptic, parabolic and hyperbolic equations and qualitative properties of the heat and Laplace equation. Key Features: * Comprehensive coverage of frequently used integrals, functions and fundamental mathematical results * Contents selected and organized to suit the needs of students, scientists, and engineers * Contains tables of Laplace and Fourier transform pairs * New section on numerical approximation * New section on the z-transform * Easy reference system
Publication Date: 2003-11-07
Crc Standard Mathematical Tables and Formulae by With over 6,000 entries, CRC Standard Mathematical Tables and Formulae, 32nd Editioncontinues to provide essential formulas, tables, figures, and descriptions, including many diagrams, group tables, and integrals not available online. This new edition incorporates important topics that are unfamiliar to some readers, such as visual proofs and sequences, and illustrates how mathematical information is interpreted. Material is presented in a multisectional format, with each section containing a valuable collection of fundamental tabular and expository reference material. New to the 32nd Edition A new chapter on Mathematical Formulae from the Sciencesthat contains the most important formulae from a variety of fields, including acoustics, astrophysics, epidemiology, finance, statistical mechanics, and thermodynamics New material on contingency tables, estimators, process capability, runs test, and sample sizes New material on cellular automata, knot theory, music, quaternions, and rational trigonometry Updated and more streamlined tables Retaining the successful format of previous editions, this comprehensive handbook remains an invaluable reference for professionals and students in mathematical and scientific fields.
Call Number: QA47 .M315
Publication Date: 2011-06-22
Scientists, Mathematicians, and Inventors by The first of four volumes in the landmark Lives and Legacies Oryx Press series, Scientists, Mathematicians, and Inventors profiles approximately 200 men and women who changed the world by leaving lasting legacies in their fields. It fills a gap in the biographical reference shelf by offering far more than basic facts about a scientist's life and work_each entry describes not only the immediate effects of the individual's discoveries, but their impact on later scientific findings as well. Each entry contains a timeline listing important dates in the biographee's life as well as a bibliography of the most important works on the subject. A master timeline chronicling major events in scientific exploration and an annotated general bibliography are also included.
Publication Date: 1998-12-02
Notable Women in Mathematics by This volume features substantive biographical essays on 59 women from around the world who have made significant contributions to mathematics from antiquity to the present. Designed for secondary school students and the general public, each profile describes major life events, obstacles faced and overcome, educational and career milestones--including a discussion of mathematical research in non-technical terms--and interests outside of 2 promotics. Although the collection includes historical women, the emphasis is on contemporary mathematicians, many of whom have not been profiled in any previous work. The work also celebrates the contributions of minority women, including 10 African-American, Latina, and Asian mathematicians. Written by practicing mathematicians, teachers and researchers, these profiles give voice to the variety of pathways into mathematics that women have followed and the diversity of areas in which mathematics can work. Many profiles draw on interviews with the subject, and each includes a short list of suggested reading by and about the mathematician. Most mathematicians profiled stress the value, importance, and enjoyment of collaborative research, contradicting the prevailing notion that doing good mathematics requires isolation. This collection provides not only a substantial number of role models for girls interested in a career in mathematics, but also a unique depiction of a field that can offer a lifetime of challenge and enjoyment.
Call Number: REF QA28 .N68 1998
Publication Date: 1998-05-30
A Brief History of Cryptology and Cryptographic Algorithms by The science of cryptology is made up of two halves. Cryptography is the study of how to create secure systems for communications. Cryptanalysis is the study of how to break those systems. The conflict between these two halves of cryptology is the story of secret writing. For over 2,000 years, the desire to communicate securely and secretly has resulted in the creation of numerous and increasingly complicated systems to protect one's messages. Yet for every system there is a cryptanalyst creating a new technique to break that system. With the advent of computers the cryptographer seems to finally have the upper hand. New mathematically based cryptographic algorithms that use computers for encryption and decryption are so secure that brute-force techniques seem to be the only way to break them - so far. This work traces the history of the conflict between cryptographer and cryptanalyst, explores in some depth the algorithms created to protect messages, and suggests where the field is going in the future.
Publication Date: 2013
Encyclopedia of Cryptography and Security by Springer's Encyclopedia of Cryptography and Security brings the latest and most comprehensive coverage of the topic: Definitive information on cryptography and information security from highly regarded researchers Effective tool for professionals in many fields and researchers of all levels Extensive resource with more than 700 contributions.
Publication Date: 2005
Encyclopedia of Cryptology by The Encyclopedia of Cryptology addresses the basic theoretical concepts and provides a broad overview of the writing, sending, protection, and decrypting of codes and ciphers. This volume also includes biographical sketches, important events in the history of cryptography, and discussions of the practical applications of codes in everyday life. Illustrations, bibliographic references, and cross-references, plus two indexes complement the text. Includes biographical sketches of important figures and events in the history of cryptology Contains illustrations, bibliographic references, cross references, and two indexes
Call Number: Z103 .N344 1997 (Reference)
Publication Date: 1997
History of Cryptography and Cryptanalysis by This accessible textbook presents a fascinating review of cryptography and cryptanalysis across history. The text relates the earliest use of the monoalphabetic cipher in the ancient world, the development of the "unbreakable" Vigenère cipher, and an account of how cryptology entered the arsenal of military intelligence during the American Revolutionary War. Moving on to the American Civil War, the book explains how the Union solved the Vigenère ciphers used by the Confederates, before investigating the development of cipher machines throughout World War I and II. This is then followed by an exploration of cryptology in the computer age, from public-key cryptography and web security, to criminal cyber-attacks and cyber-warfare. Looking to the future, the role of cryptography in the Internet of Things is also discussed, along with the potential impact of quantum computing. Topics and features: presents a history of cryptology from ancient Rome to the present day, with a focus on cryptology in the 20th and 21st centuries; reviews the different types of cryptographic algorithms used to create secret messages, and the various methods for breaking such secret messages; provides engaging examples throughout the book illustrating the use of cryptographic algorithms in different historical periods; describes the notable contributions to cryptology of Herbert Yardley, William and Elizebeth Smith Friedman, Lester Hill, Agnes Meyer Driscoll, and Claude Shannon; concludes with a review of tantalizing unsolved mysteries in cryptology, such as the Voynich Manuscript, the Beale Ciphers, and the Kryptos sculpture.This engaging work is ideal as both a primary text for courses on the history of cryptology, and as a supplementary text for advanced undergraduate courses on computer security. No prior background in mathematics is assumed, beyond what would be encountered in an introductory course on discrete mathematics.
Call Number: Z103 .D66 2018 (REF)
Publication Date: 2018-09-06
Encyclopedia of Big Data Technologies by The Encyclopedia of Big Data Technologies provides researchers, educators, students and industry professionals with a comprehensive authority over the most relevant Big Data Technology concepts. With over 300 articles written by worldwide subject matter experts from both industry and academia, the encyclopedia covers topics such as big data storage systems, NoSQL database, cloud computing, distributed systems, data processing, data management, machine learning and social technologies, data science. Each peer-reviewed, highly structured entry provides the reader with basic terminology, subject overviews, key research results, application examples, future directions, cross references and a bibliography. The entries are expository and tutorial, making this reference a practical resource for students, academics, or professionals. In addition, the distinguished, international editorial board of the encyclopedia consists of well-respected scholars, each developing topics based upon their expertise.
Publication Date: 2019
Encyclopedia of Data Warehousing and Mining by There are more than one billion documents on the Web, with the count continually rising at a pace of over one million new documents per day. As information increases, the motivation and interest in data warehousing and mining research and practice remains high in organizational interest. ""The Encyclopedia of Data Warehousing and Mining, Second Edition"", offers thorough exposure to the issues of importance in the rapidly changing field of data warehousing and mining. This essential reference source informs decision makers, problem solvers, and data mining specialists in business, academia, government, and other settings with over 300 entries on theories, methodologies, functionalities, and applications.
Publication Date: 2008
Encyclopedia of Machine Learning and Data Mining by This authoritative, expanded and updated second edition of Encyclopedia of Machine Learning and Data Mining provides easy access to core information for those seeking entry into any aspect within the broad field of Machine Learning and Data Mining. A paramount work, its 800 entries - about 150 of them newly updated or added - are filled with valuable literature references, providing the reader with a portal to more detailed information on any given topic. Topics for the Encyclopedia of Machine Learning and Data Mining include Learning and Logic, Data Mining, Applications, Text Mining, Statistical Learning, Reinforcement Learning, Pattern Mining, Graph Mining, Relational Mining, Evolutionary Computation, Information Theory, Behavior Cloning, and many others. Topics were selected by a distinguished international advisory board. Each peer-reviewed, highly-structured entry includes a definition, key words, an illustration, applications, a bibliography, and links to related literature. The entries are expository and tutorial, making this reference a practical resource for students, academics, or professionals who employ machine learning and data mining methods in their projects. Machine learning and data mining techniques have countless applications, including data science applications, and this reference is essential for anyone seeking quick access to vital information on the topic.
Publication Date: 2017-03-18