Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
International Center for Research on Women (ICRW)
Collection of 13,000+ books, reports, fact sheets, and policy briefs on international women/gender issues
UN Women (formerly UNIFEM)
UN Women is the UN organization dedicated to gender equality and the empowerment of women. A global champion for women and girls, UN Women was established to accelerate progress on meeting their needs worldwide.
Women’s Studies Online Resources
From University of Maryland, Baltimore County, professor Joan Korenman, Founding Director of the Center for Women and Information Technology
Associations, Organizations, News, and Blogs
Bibliographies and Periodical Indexes
Feminae: Medieval Women and Gender Index
Searchable, annotated index of articles in more than 600 journals, essays in books, and book reviews about women, sexuality, and gender during the Middle Ages, compiled by academic librarians and scholars
ViVa: A Bibliography of Women’s History in Historical and Women’s Studies Journals
Citations and some annotations for more than 7,000 articles about women’s and gender history published from 1975 to 2003 in English, French, German, Dutch, Danish, Norwegian, and Swedish, and selected from 160 international journals, from the ViVa project of the Netherlands'’s International Institute of Social History (Vrouwengeschiedenis in het Vaktijdschrift or Women's History in Professional Journals)
Because women's studies is an interdisciplinary field, the exact definition of primary sources may vary depending on the focus of one's research. In women's studies, primary sources are often considered to be the documents that speak directly about women and their own experience of their lives. Such documents may be letters, diaries, autobiographies, contemporaneous media accounts of events, or even statistical reports.
Discovering American Women's History Online
Searchable database of primary sources in digitized online collections, compiled by Middle Tennessee State University librarian and women's historian Ken Middleton
Documents from the Women’s Liberation Movement
Small, eclectic, but rich online collection of digitized original documents from the Duke University Special Collections Library, includes images and text of newsletters, news clippings, personal manifestos, conference papers, and other items generally from the radical feminist movement of the late 1960s and early 1970s
Not for Ourselves Alone: The Story of Elizabeth Cady Stanton and Susan B. Anthony
Companion site to the PBS film produced by Ken Burns and Paul Barnes, includes annotated links to seminal documents of 19th century feminism and to digitized documents in other online collections, plus video and sound clips
Women's History Digital Collections (Library of Congress)
View and search a variety of digital collections related to women's history, including the papers of Clara Barton, Elizabeth Cady Stanton, Susan B. Anthony; National American Woman Suffrage Association Records; Photographs from the Records of the National Woman's Party; and more.
Criteria for evaluating reliable websites include:
Remember to evaluate websites carefully before using them for research purposes. If you still aren't sure, feel free to ask a librarian or professor for assistance.
Citing Your Sources
While writing research papers, you may need to:
♦ List your sources in bibliographies or works cited, and
♦ Provide either footnotes or endnotes.
For more help with citations, check this guide out.