Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Women's Studies Databases
1970s-present. Limited full-text collection of journals, magazines, newsletters, regional publications, special reports, and conference proceedings devoted to women's issues and gender issues.
Women's Studies International
Women's studies, including sociology, history, politics, economics, international relations, humanities, business and education. Searchable simultaneously with Academic Search Complete and other EBSCO databases.
Other Useful Databases
Academic Search Complete
Articles in many disciplines, many from scholarly journals; extensive full text.
Dissertations & Theses Global
The world's most comprehensive collection of full-text dissertations and theses.
Offers full text for most of the dissertations added since 1997 and strong retrospective full-text coverage for older graduate works.
A current resource of full-text newspapers, magazines, and journals of the ethnic and minority press, providing researchers access to essential, often overlooked perspectives. Full-text collection of more than 2.5 million articles from over 340 publications.
When using Google Scholar off campus, click "Settings," then "Library Links," and enter "University of Mary Washington". Check the checkboxes, and then click "Save." Now you'll get links to full-text articles.
Humanities & Social Sciences Index Retrospective
Content from 1907-1984.
Offers a broad range of subject coverage in the humanities and social sciences with high-quality indexing of more than 1,300,000 articles in nearly 1,100 periodicals, dating as far back as 1907, as well as citations of over 240,000 book reviews
Humanities Full Text
Includes many of the most important academic journals in the humanities with the full text of articles from over 300 periodicals dating back to 1995, and high-quality indexing for almost 700 journals—of which 470 are peer-reviewed—dating as far back as 1984.
Humanities International Complete
Provides full text of hundreds of journals, books and other published sources from around the world. Includes all data from Humanities International Index (more than 2,300 journals and more than 2.9 million records) plus unique full-text content, much of which is not found in other databases. includes full text for more than 1,200 journals.
Issues & Controversies
In addition to its original articles, Issues & Controversies features breaking news from Reuters®; editorials and opinion pieces from the New York Times, Wall Street Journal, Washington Post, Atlantic, and other major newspapers and magazines; and helpful background information, including the central pro/con arguments, essential primary documents, vital statistics, and chronologies of key events.
Psychology & Behavioral Sciences Collection
Emotional and behavioral characteristics, mental processes, observational and experimental methods, psychiatry.
APA PsycNET (EBSCO)
Includes PsycINFO, PsycARTICLES, and PsycTESTS
Occasional reviews of children's books related to child development / mental health.
Social Sciences Full Text
Gender studies, minority studies, psychology, sociology.
SocINDEX with Full Text
The world's most comprehensive and highest quality sociology research database. Contains full text for more than 860 sociology journals dating back to 1908.
Find an article citation and wonder if we have the journal at UMW Libraries?
Sociology of Education is the journal title in the following article citation:
Ready, D. D. (2010). Socioeconomic disadvantage, school attendance, and early cognitive development: The differential effects of school exposure. Sociology of Education, 83(4), 271-286.
Search the UMW Libraries Journal Finder using the journal title, not the article title.
Use Journal Finder to find which library databases include a journal. Journal Finder will also tell you if we have the journal available in print or on microfilm.