Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Highly Recommended Sites for Children's and YA Books
Carol Hurst's Children's Literature Site
Provides options to browse by curricular areas, other subjects, and author/illustrator.
Children's Picture Book Database at Miami University
A collection of picture book abstracts searchable by topics, concepts, and skills for building content area reading across all academic subjects. The collection contains abstracts of over 5800 picture books for children, preschool to grade three.
Database of Award Winning Children's Literature
Free database, produced by a reference librarian at California State University, San Bernardino
Covers more than 15,000 books chosen for 164 awards across six English-speaking countries (United States, Canada, Australia, New Zealand, England, and Ireland)
Searchable by criteria including suggested reader age, genre, ethnicity / nationality / gender of protagonist, and historical period.
Recommended Literature: Prekindergarten Through Grade Twelve (Recommended Literature List)
Searchable database of books for children and teens
From the California Department of Education
Worlds of Words
Reviews of international children's and young adult literature.
Hosted by the University of Arizona.
International Children's Digital Library
The ICDL Foundation's goal is to build a collection of books that represents outstanding historical and contemporary books from throughout the world.
The SAG-AFTRA Foundation’s Daytime Emmy-nominated and award-winning children’s literacy website, Storyline Online, streams videos featuring celebrated actors reading children’s books alongside creatively produced illustrations.
Scholastic's Listen and Read: Read-along Books
15 nonfiction read-along books for early learners
Listen and Read activities tell their story through words, images, and sound. You can use these online activities in a variety of ways, from one-on-one instruction using a computer or tablet to class instruction on an interactive whiteboard.
Books by Lexile Level
Lexile Framework for Reading
By MetaMetrics, identify reading material by grade level or lexile score.
Teacher Book Wizard
Use Quick Search to search for reading difficulty and interest level of a specific book title, or use Leveled Search to find a list of books by reading difficulty level. Includes lesson plans, more.
The Fountas and Pinnell Leveled Book List K-8+ by
Call Number: Simpson Stacks LB 1573 .F638 2013
Publication Date: 2013
The Fountas & Pinnell Leveled Book List, K-8+ is the only official print source for accurate leveling of more than 45,000 classic and contemporary books from publishers worldwide.
Collections featuring new and classic titles to support guided reading programs from A to Z.
Offers leveled classroom collections by grade and genre and thematic collections by level including popular series.