Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Children's Literature Databases
Use these databases to find book reviews; books by age group, reading level, content, and more.
For more book review databases, see also: UMW Libraries' guide to finding Book Reviews.
Literature Resource Center
For reviews of children's books, narrow content type to Reviews & News; document type to Book Reviews; target audience to Children's and Children's-Upper Elementary.
Database of Award Winning Children's Literature
Free database, produced by a reference librarian at California State University, San Bernardino
Covers more than 15,000 books chosen for 164 awards across six English-speaking countries (United States, Canada, Australia, New Zealand, England, and Ireland)
Searchable by criteria including suggested reader age, genre, ethnicity / nationality / gender of protagonist, and historical period.
Other Useful Databases
Use these databases to search for articles about: children's literature in general, specific authors and illustrators, use of literature in the classroom, and critical analyses of children's literature.
Looking for a specific journal?
Search our Journal Finder for any journal title.
Reading Teacher is the journal title in the following article citation:
McNair, J. C. (2010). "Classic African American children's literature." Reading Teacher 64(2), 96-105.