Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
This page lists library resources that may be helpful when completing projects for SPAN 101,102, or 201.
Wine: South America
Wines of South America by The most comprehensive guide to the wines of the entire continent, Wines of South America introduces readers to the astounding quality and variety of wines that until recently have been enjoyed, for the most part, only locally. Master Sommelier Evan Goldstein leads wine enthusiasts on an exciting geographical journey across ten countries, describing the wines, grapes, and regions of each. Goldstein begins the tour with a continental overview, discussing the arrival of the vine and wine culture, surveying the range of grapes planted and cultivated, and summarizing the development of modernday viticulture and winemaking. He explores the two giants of the continent, Argentina and Chile, in expansive chapters that cover their unique histories, wine regions, wine styles, prominent grapes, and leading producers. Goldstein covers the evolving industries of Brazil and Uruguay and discusses the modern-day activities in Bolivia, Colombia, Ecuador, Paraguay, Peru, and Venezuela. Up-to-date maps, several engaging photos, and pertinent statistics support each section, which also feature lively profiles of key individuals and wineries that have influenced the development of the craft. A closing chapter is devoted to food in South America, with specific information on wine country dining and leading chefs and restaurants. The author provides practical advice for travelers, an appendix of available resources for learning more about the wines of each region, and lists of 'top 10' wine recommendations for quick reference.
Publication Date: 2014-08-29
The Royal Road: El Camino Real from Mexico City to Santa Fe by
Call Number: F799 .P94 1998
Publication Date: 1998
El Camino Real de Tierra Adentro by
Call Number: F796 .C35 1993
Publication Date: 1992
Los Hiltos & the Visigoths
The Twilight of the Goths by Toledo, former capital of Spain until 1560, is now one of the most monumental of Spanish cities. In Roman times, it was originally a modest tribal township, which was eventually elevated to a national capital by the Visigoths (one of two main branches of the Goths, who along with their cousins, the Ostrogoths in South Russia, were considered barbarians across Europe).
Publication Date: 2013-01-06
Goths in Spain by A study of how the Goths governed their provinces from their victory at Vouillé in 507 until the arrival of the Arabs in Gibralter in 711.
Call Number: DP96 .T48
Publication Date: 1969-01-01
Visigothic Spain 409 - 711 by This history of Spain in the period between the end of Roman rule and the time of the Arab conquest challenges many traditional assumptions about the history of this period. Presents original theories about how the Visigothic kingdom was governed, about law in the kingdom, about the Arab conquest, and about the rise of Spain as an intellectual force. Takes account of new documentary evidence, the latest archaeological findings, and the controversies that these have generated. Combines chronological and thematic approaches to the period. A historiographical introduction looks at the current state of research on the history and archaeology of the Visigothic kingdom.
Publication Date: 2004-05-21
National Anthems of the World by This edition includes the National Anthems of 198 countries including Qatar, Swaziland, Belarus, Bosnia Hercegovina, Eritrea, Macedonia, and Palou. Each anthem is presented with the words in the original language and, where necessary, a transliterated version.
Call Number: M1627 .N269 2006
Publication Date: 2006-10-01
Food Culture in South America by This volume tells the story of the South Americans and their history through a survey of their food culture. Food in the various countries differs in some ways because of cultural heritage, cooking techniques, and geography, here divided into four zones. The traditions of the primary groups--Indians, Europeans, and Africans--and their five centuries of mixing have still resulted in a stable food culture. The foods of the Indians before European contact still play an important role, along with other foods brought by successive immigrant groups. Europeans tried to establish their staples, wheat and wine, with little success. Many dishes, cooking methods, and food habits have survived with little modification since time immemorial. Students and other readers will learn much about the South American foodways in daily life today, with special attention paid to historical perspective and any rural and urban differences. For example, in all the major cultural groups, food preparation and cooking have always been women's work, with the exception of the meat roast (asado) by llaneros and gauchos. The rise of the cooking profession is discussed as well. A fascinating look at the daily meal schedule includes insight in to how the European conquerors imposed their eating habits and encouraged overeating, with the abundance found in the New World. Modern life is shown to affect where people eat, as buying meals, often from street vendors, during the workday has become more of a necessity. The survey includes a discussion of special occasions, including agricultural celebrations and Catholic feasts with indigenous elements. The overview is completed by a chapter on diet and health, covering such topics as botanical knowledge and science and an assessment of the nutritional value of the South American staples. Classic recipes from many of the countries and illustrations complement the narrative.
Call Number: TX716.A1 L68 2005
Publication Date: 2005-05-30
Food Cultures of the World Encyclopedia [4 Volumes] by From babka to baklava to the groundnut stew of Ghana, food culture can tell us where we've been--and maybe even where we're going. Filled with succinct, yet highly informative entries, the four-volume Food Cultures of the World Encyclopedia covers all of the planet's nation-states, as well as various tribes and marginalized peoples. Thus, in addition to coverage on countries as disparate as France, Ethiopia, and Tibet, there are also entries on Roma Gypsies, the Maori of New Zealand, and the Saami of northern Europe. There is even a section on food in outer space, detailing how and what astronauts eat and how they prepare for space travel as far as diet and nutrition are concerned. Each entry offers information about foodstuffs, meals, cooking methods, recipes, eating out, holidays and celebrations, and health and diet. Vignettes help readers better understand other cultures, while the inclusion of selected recipes lets them recreate dishes from other lands.
Publication Date: 2011-05-25
The Cambridge World History of Food by An undertaking without parallel or precedent, this monumental volume encapsulates much of what is known of the history of food and nutrition. It constitutes a vast and essential chapter in the history of human health and culture. Ranging from the eating habits of our prehistoric ancestors to food-related policy issues we face today, this work covers the full spectrum of foods that have been hunted, gathered, cultivated, and domesticated; their nutritional make-up and uses; and their impact on cultures and demography. It offers a geographical perspective on the history and culture of food and drink and takes up subjects from food fads, prejudices, and taboos to questions of food toxins, additives, labelling, and entitlements. It culminates in a dictionary that identifies and sketches out brief histories of plant foods mentioned in the text - over 1,000 in all - and additionally supplies thousands of common names and synonyms for those foods.
Call Number: Reference TX353 .C255 2000
Publication Date: 1999-07-01
A Taste of Latin America Forget mass-produced tortilla chips and salsa dips. Discover the taste of real and diverse Latin American and Caribbean food by drawing on age-old indigenous recipes with influences from Spain, Portugal and Africa. In addition to 100 authentic and easy-to-follow recipes, cooks will find entertaining stories and literary extracts from novels, diaries and poems.
Call Number: TX716.A1 O7824 1999
Publication Date: 1998-11-01
Saberes con Sabor by Saberes con sabor: Culturas hispánicas a través de la cocina es un manual avanzado que responde al creciente interés por el estudio de las prácticas culinarias y alimenticias de Ibero-América, sin desatender ni la lengua ni la cultura de esas regiones del mundo. Cada capítulo comprende aspectos vinculados con recetas, lengua, arte y teoría. Los estudiantes son expuestos a temas de geografía, historia, literatura, política, economía, religión, música e, incluso, cuestiones de género que estarían implicadas en la elaboración y en el consumo de ciertas comidas. Y, esto, mientras mejoran sus habilidades en temas esenciales y específicos del español. A lo largo del libro, están incorporados materiales de internet --como vínculos para videos, registros sonoros, referencias históricas, sitios web de cocina y contenidos suplementarios para la investigación. Muy útil en cursos universitarios, Saberes con sabor es un recurso original y único de aprendizaje para estudiantes fascinados por los placeres del paladar y, de igual manera, con una genuina pasión por las culturas hispánicas.
Publication Date: 2020-09-13
Ancient Origins of the Mexican Plaza by The plaza has been a defining feature of Mexican urban architecture and culture for at least 4,000 years. Ancient Mesoamericans conducted most of their communal life in outdoor public spaces, and today the plaza is still the public living room in every Mexican neighborhood, town, and city--the place where friends meet, news is shared, and personal and communal rituals and celebrations happen. The site of a community's most important architecture--church, government buildings, and marketplace--the plaza is both sacred and secular space and thus the very heart of the community. This extensively illustrated book traces the evolution of the Mexican plaza from Mesoamerican sacred space to modern public gathering place. The authors led teams of volunteers who measured and documented nearly one hundred traditional Mexican town centers. The resulting plans reveal the layers of Mesoamerican and European history that underlie the contemporary plaza. The authors describe how Mesoamericans designed their ceremonial centers as embodiments of creation myths--the plaza as the primordial sea from which the earth emerged. They discuss how Europeans, even though they sought to eradicate native culture, actually preserved it as they overlaid the Mesoamerican sacred plaza with the Renaissance urban concept of an orthogonal grid with a central open space. The authors also show how the plaza's historic, architectural, social, and economic qualities can contribute to mainstream urban design and architecture today.
Publication Date: 2013-01-16
The Illustrated Encyclopedia of Soccer by Thorough and illustrated reference to the world's most popular sport.
Call Number: Reference GV942.2 .R34 2001
Publication Date: 2002-01-05
World Encyclopedia of Soccer by This book emphasizes historical and geographic facts rather than statistical information. Nearly half the book profiles soccer-playing nations and includes the name and address of the national governing body, the national stadium, the largest stadium, the team colors, and a summary of the game in that countr
Call Number: Reference GV943 .L23 1994
Publication Date: 1993-09-01
Film Directors & Cinema
Fifty Contemporary Film Directors by Fifty Contemporary Film Directors examines the work of some of today's most popular and influential cinematic figures. It provides an accessible overview of each director's contribution to cinema, incorporating a discussion of their career, major works and impact. Revised throughout and with twelve new entries, this second edition is an up-to-date introduction to some of the most prominent film makers of the present day. The directors, from differing backgrounds and working across a range of genres, include: Martin Scorsese Steven Spielberg Sofia Coppola Julie Dash Shane Meadow Michael Moore Peter Jackson Guillermo Del Toro Tim Burton Jackie Chan Ang Lee Pedro Almodóvar. With further reading and a filmography accompanying each entry, this comprehensive guide is indispensable to all those studying contemporary film and will appeal to anyone interested in the key individuals behind modern cinema's greatest achievements.
Publication Date: 2010-10-21
Clásicos Del Cine Mexicano by Esta antología del cine mexicano presenta 31 películas emblemáticas de todas las épocas del cine del país, desde la llamada Época de Oro de los años treinta y cuarenta hasta el cine actual, e incluye tanto obras canónicas de Sergej Eisenstein, Fernando de Fuentes, Alejandro Galindo, Luis Buñuel y Arturo Ripstein como trabajos de realizadores actuales, como Jorge Fons, Alejandro González Iñárritu, Jorge Fons, Alfonso Cuarón y Fernando Eimbcke. El objetivo que se ha perseguido es el de ofrecer el desarrollo histórico del cine mexicano durante 80 años, así como también el de dar a conocer la riqueza de los temas y géneros que caracteriza la producción cinematográfica de México. Al panorama que se ofrece aquí han contribuido renombrados especialistas que realizan un detallado análisis con los contextos políticos, sociales, culturales y estéticos que influyen en las respectivas películas que analizan. El volumen se inicia con la Época de Oro, pasa por las décadas de los setenta y ochenta, marcadas por una profunda crisis económica y artística, sigue con los inicios del nuevo cine independiente de los noventa, y llega, finalmente, a los éxitos internacionales a partir del 2000. Las tendencias y características del cine mexicano se presentan a la luz de varios paradigmas metodológicos e históricos, entre los cuales se hallan la sociología y el psicoanálisis, las ciencias culturales y los estudios de género.
Publication Date: 2016-03-01
Diccionario del cine iberoamericano : España, Portugal y América by The Dictionary of Ibero-American Cinema is an extensive compilation of the protagonists who have forged the history of cinema in Spain, Portugal and the Ibero-American countries. This reference work analyzes in depth everything related to Spanish, Portuguese and Ibero-American cinematography since its inception
Call Number: Reference PN1993.45 .D528 2011
Publication Date: 2011-2012
The Traditional Festivals by This illustrated reference work covers a wide range of festivals that have sacred origins and are, or have been, part of a folk tradition, a world religion, or a major civilization. Traditional Festivals: A Multicultural Encyclopedia travels around the world and across the centuries to uncover an often unexpected richness of meaning in some of the major sacred festivals of the world's religions, the hallowed calendars of ancient civilizations, and the seasonal celebrations of tribal cultures. From Akitu to Yom Kippur, its 150+ entries look at the content and context of these festivals from a number of perspectives (including those relating to theology, anthropology, folklore, and social theory), tracing their historical development and variations across cultures. Readers will get a vivid sense of what each festival means to the people celebrating it; how each captures its culture's beliefs, hopes and fears, founding myths, and redemptive visions; and how each expresses the universal need of humans to connect their lives to a timeless spiritual dimension. More than 150 A-Z entries on the content and context of each festival, tracing its historical development and geographic variations, from Ashura (Islam) to Whitsuntide (Christianity) 70 illustrations of festive rituals including photos of Belgium's Binche Carnival, Japan's Cherry Blossom Festival, and the Zulu Reed Dance Tables of dates for the major feasts in Hinduism, Judaism, Christianity, and Islam, as well as for the Chinese New Year Calendar graph showing at a glance the relative places of all the festivals discussed in the seasonal cycle of a single year
Call Number: Reference GT3925 .R69 2005
Publication Date: 2005-06-29
Religious Rites, Rituals, and Festivals by Many rituals and festivals take place in public, meaning that such expressions of faith are societal as well as individual forms of human behaviour. The similarity in the general patterns of rituals and festivals across cultures and religions is striking. For example, most cultures and religions mark major life-course transitions such as birth, marriage, and death with public ritual expressions, and numerous festivals are tied to food-producing activities such as planting and harvesting. Where religions and societies vary is in the meanings associated with ritual behaviour and the specific forms those behaviours take. The Encyclopedia of Religious Rites, Rituals and Festivalsexplores this complex topic through articles covering the following general categories of information: general concepts and ideas such as communitas, inversion, purity and pollution, and pilgrimages major forms of ritual and festival such as rites of passage, devotional rites, sacrifice, calendrical rites, carnival, and fasting religious rites and festivals of major religions, including Buddhism, Hinduism, Islam, Catholicism and Judaism rites and festivals in cultural regions such as China, sub-Saharan Africa, and the Pacific islands life-cycle rites, including those associated with birth, coming of age, marriage and death specific rites and festivals, such as Divali, Easter, Ramadan, snake handling and Yom Kippur. The Encyclopedia of Religious Rites, Rituals, and Festivalscontains 130 entries contributed and signed by scholars from international universities and institutes, with expertise in such fields as Asian and Pacific studies, archaeology, communication studies, cultural anthropology, cultural studies, international studies, philosophy, psychological anthropology, religious studies, social anthropology, sociology and theology. An unprecedented resource, this new encyclopedia provides in-depth coverage of a vast array of worldwide practices with entries that draw on the latest research available, offering fresh insights while maintaining a connection with established scholarship. The cross-cultural coverage will help foster interfaith understanding as well as present and explain unfamiliar behaviours and rituals.
Call Number: Reference BL31 .E47 2004
Publication Date: 2004-06-25
Holidays and Festivals Index by A companion to Omnigraphics' Holidays, Festivals, and Celebrations of the World Dictionary, this index provides up-to-date information on more than 3,000 observances throughout the world. Holidays and Festivals Index functions as a master index to the Dictionary and more than twenty other standard reference works. It identifies sources on holidays, festivals, celebrations, commemorations, holy days, feasts and fasts, and other observances. Helpful extra features include a section explaining various calendars of the world, summary tables of state and national public holidays, and an annotated bibliography of related texts. Extensive indexes: Chronological, Ethnic and Geographic, Name, and Religion.
Call Number: Reference GT3925 .H65 1995
Publication Date: 1995-05-01
The Encyclopedia of National Dress by This two-volume set presents information and images of the varied clothing and textiles of cultures around the world, allowing readers to better appreciate the richness and diversity of human culture and history. The contributors to Encyclopedia of National Dress: Traditional Clothing around the World examine clothing that is symbolic of the people who live in regions all over the world, providing a historical and geographic perspective that illustrates how people dress and explains the reasons behind the material, design, and style. The encyclopedia features a preface and introduction to its contents. Each entry in the encyclopedia includes a short historical and geographical background for the topic before discussing the clothing of people in that country or region of the world. This work will be of great interest to high school students researching fashion, fashion history, or history as well as to undergraduate students and general readers interested in anthropology, textiles, fashion, ethnology, history, or ethnic dress. Contributions from over 50 experts in their field Dozens of photographs A bibliographic listing of further reading and references with each section
Call Number: Reference GT507 .E535 2013
Publication Date: 2013-04-09
World Clothing and Fashion by Taking a global, multicultural, social, and economic perspective, this work explores the diverse and colourful history of human attire. From prehistoric times to the age of globalization, articles cover the evolution of clothing utility, style, production, and commerce, including accessories (shoes, hats, gloves, handbags, and jewellery) for men, women, and children. Dress for different climates, occupations, recreational activities, religious observances, rites of passages, and other human needs and purposes - from hunting and warfare to sports and space exploration - are examined in depth and detail. Fashion and design trends in diverse historical periods, regions and countries, and social and ethnic groups constitute a major area of coverage, as does the evolution of materials (from animal fur to textiles to synthetic fabrics) and production methods (from sewing and weaving to industrial manufacturing and computer-aided design). Dress as a reflection of social status, intellectual and artistic trends, economic conditions, cultural exchange, and modern media marketing are recurring themes. Influential figures and institutions in fashion design, industry and manufacturing, retail sales, production technologies, and related fields are also covered.
Call Number: Reference GT507 .S6 2013
Publication Date: 2013-11-30
Latin American Fashion Reader by Latin American fashion's recent gain in popularity can be seen most obviously in mass-market ranges throughout the industrialized West. From the tango-inspired dress of Argentina and guerrilla chic in downtown Buenos Aires to swimwear on Copacabana Beach and the rainbow that adorns Mayan women, Latin America has long been a source of inspiration for designers throughout the world. Until now, however, the pivotal role played by dress in this region has surprisingly been overlooked. This book is a long overdue assessment of Latin America's influence on global fashion. The authors examine the significance of textiles and dress to Latin American culture and the reasons behind it from fashion history to popular culture and the (re)making of traditional garments, such as the poncho, the guayabera and maguey-fiber sandals. This book also considers fashion icons such as Frida Kahlo and Eva Peron, women who have been worshipped and transformed into marketable symbols of exoticism and passion, as well as the key role that dress played in their rise to celebrity on the international stage. Providing a first and definitive overview of Latin American fashion, this book is essential reading for anyone interested in Latin American cultural studies or fashion history. Winner of the 2006 Arthur P. Whitaker Prize, awarded by the Middle Atlantic Council of Latin American Studies
Call Number: GT623 .L38 2005
Publication Date: 2005-03-01
Historic Cities of the Americas by With rare maps, prints, and photographs, this unique volume explores the dramatic history of the Americas through the birth and development of the hemisphere's great cities. Written by award-winning author David F. Marley, Historic Cities of the Americas covers the hard-to-find information of these cities' earliest years, including the unique aspects of each region's economy and demography, such as the growth of local mining, trade, or industry. The chronological layout, aided by the numerous maps and photographs, reveals the exceptional changes, relocations, destruction, and transformations these cities endured to become the metropolises they are today. Historic Cities of the Americas provides over 70 extensively detailed entries covering the foundation and evolution of the most significant urban areas in the western hemisphere. Critically researched, this work offers a rare look into the times prior to Christopher Columbus' arrival in 1492 and explores the common difficulties overcome by these European-conquered or -founded cities as they flourished into some of the most influential locations in the world. Over 70 richly detailed entries on the most colorful, important cities of the New World, from Quebec City, Boston, and San Francisco in the Northern Hemisphere, to Buenos Aires, Cuzco, and Bahia in the Southern Four geographical sections (the Caribbean, Mexico and Central America, North America, and South America), enabling the reader to easily locate information Hundreds of rare, historically significant antique maps, prints, and photographs, enhancing both the value and appearance of the book A very extensive bibliography, providing users with easy access to many hard-to-find materials
Call Number: Reference HT121 .M37 2005
Publication Date: 2005-09-12
Los Barrios Antiguos
Plazas and Barrios by In recent years the travel industry has promoted trips to cultural landscapes that contain great historical and symbolic landmarks, and Latin American towns and cities are anything but isolated from this trend. Many historic city centers in Latin America have been preserved intact from the colonial era and today may serve institutional, commercial, or residential needs. Now economic forces from outside the region have created a demand for the preservation of historically "authentic" districts. This book explores how heritage tourism and globalization are reshaping the Latin American centro histórico, analyzing the transformation of the urban core from town plaza to historic center in nine cities: Bogotá, Colombia; Buenos Aires, Argentina; Cartagena, Colombia; Cuenca, Ecuador; Havana, Cuba; Montevideo, Uruguay; Puebla, Mexico; Quito, Ecuador; and Trinidad, Cuba. It tells how these pressures, combined with the advantage of a downtown location, have raised the potential of redeveloping these inner city areas but have also created the dilemma of how to restore and conserve them while responding to new economic imperatives. In an eclectic and interdisciplinary study, Joseph Scarpaci documents changes in far-flung corners of the Latin American metropolis using a broad palette of tools: urban morphology profiles, an original land-use survey of 30,000 doorways in nine historic districts, numerous photographs, and a review of the political, economic, and globalizing forces at work in historic districts. He examines urban change as reflected in architectural styles, neighborhood growth and decline, real estate markets, and local politics in order to show the long reach of globalization and modernity. Plazas and Barrios spans all of Spanish-speaking America to address the socio-political dimensions of urban change. It offers a means for understanding the tensions between the modern and traditional aspects of the built environment in each city and provides a key resource for geographers, urban planners, architectural historians, and all concerned with the implications of the emerging global economy.
Publication Date: 2004-12-01
Building Colonial Cities of God by This book examines the unexpectedly important role of mendicant orders in New Spain's cities during the seventeenth and eighteenth centuries and how their devotional programs shaped urban culture.
Publication Date: 2012
Encyclopedia of Earthquakes and Volcanoes by Although many books on earthquakes and volcanoes have been published, this is the first in an A-to-Z format that offers a full overview of these two spectacular natural phenomena.
Call Number: Reference QE521 .R58 2001
Publication Date: 2001
Literature and Authors
Encyclopedia of Hispanic American Literature by Hispanic-American literature has a venerable history and has dramatically increased in importance and popularity in today's literary circles. ""Encyclopedia of Hispanic-American Literature"" is a comprehensive new encyclopedia covering authors and works that are an integral part of the high school and college literary canon, as well as those that are historically significant and gaining a reputation. This comprehensive one-volume resource contains approximately 250 entries on some of the most popular Hispanic-American authors and their works.Coverage includes: Isabel Allende, Julia Alvarez, Rudolfo Anaya, Bless Me, Ultima, Chicano literature, Junot Diaz, Dominican American literature, El Bronx Remembered, Cristina Garcia, Oscar Hijuelos, Hispanic American journalism, How the Garcia Girls Lost Their Accents, The Mambo Kings Play Songs of Love, Jose Marti, Pat Mora, Nuyorican Poets Cafe, Richard Rodriguez, and more.
Call Number: Reference PS153.H56 R36 2008
Publication Date: 2008-11-30
The Cambridge History of Latina/o American Literature by The Cambridge History of Latina/o American Literature emphasizes the importance of understanding Latina/o literature not simply as a US ethnic phenomenon but more broadly as an important element of a trans-American literary imagination. Engaging with the dynamics of migration, linguistic and cultural translation, and the uneven distribution of resources across the Americas that characterize Latina/o literature, the essays in this History provide a critical overview of key texts, authors, themes, and contexts as discussed by leading scholars in the field. This book demonstrates the relevance of Latina/o literature for a world defined by the migration of people, commodities, and cultural expressions.
Call Number: Reference PQ7081.A1 C353 2018
Publication Date: 2018-02-22
Notable Latino Writers by Novelists, poets, playwrights and short-story writers The description ""Latino"" is often limited to those born in the United States of Spanish-speaking parents, or who have migrated to the United States from a Spanish-language country Salem uses the term ""Latino"" in its larger sense, to refer to authors living in the Americas who speak - or descend from those who spoke - any romance language, as well as those of Latin American descent living in the United States, who often may speak only English. The term is deliberately inclusive, allowing coverage here of many Latin American authors (such as the Brazilian Jorge Amado, the Colombian Gabriel Garcia Marquez, or the Peruvian/Chilean Isabel Allende) whose works have been routinely translated into English and studied as part of the Latino heritage. The term also, of course, includes U.S.-born writers of Latino descent - Mexican American, Puerto Rican, Cuban and Cuban American, Dominican American, from Julia Alvarez to Richard Rodriguez to Gary Soto. CONTENTS Notable Latino Writers compiles 120 essays on great novelists, poets, playwrights and short-story writers of the Western Hemisphere who are considered ""Latino"" in the broad sense of the term. Literature covered includes works originally written in English and those Spanish and Portuguese works that have been translated into English. For each there is a comprehensive overview of the author's biography and literary career as well as ready-reference listings of their major works in all genres. FORMAT Each essay opens with a brief quotation from the author accompanied in most cases by a photograph or portrait; the author's nationality or ethnicity and major genre are identified. A full listing of birth and death dates and places follows, plus chronological listings of the author's works by genre: Foreign-language (original) title first if appropriate, then date of publication, then English title-in-publication and its date. The text of each essay introduces the author with a pronunciation for his or her name, a brief biographical sketch and a synopsis of the literary career. At the end of every essay is an up-to-date annotated bibliography, ""Learn More,"" which suggests secondary sources for further study.
Call Number: Reference PS153.H56 N68 2006
Publication Date: 2005-10-31