Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
SocINDEX with Full Text
The world's most comprehensive and highest quality sociology research database. Contains full text for more than 860 sociology journals dating back to 1908.
Social Sciences Full Text
Scholarly articles in the social sciences, including sociology; also includes Environmental Studies, Gender Studies, and Geography.
Find raw data in this online repository of data sets from the Inter-University Consortium for Political and Social Research.
NOTE: you must create a username and password in order to log in and access raw data.
Other Useful Databases
Academic Search Complete
Articles in many disciplines, many from scholarly journals; extensive full text.
Dissertations & Theses Global
The world's most comprehensive collection of full-text dissertations and theses.
Offers full text for most of the dissertations added since 1997 and strong retrospective full-text coverage for older graduate works.
A current resource of full-text newspapers, magazines, and journals of the ethnic and minority press. Also includes the module Ethnic NewsWatch: A History, which provides historical coverage of Native American, African American, and Hispanic American periodicals from 1959-198
National and international newspapers, 1980s to present.
GenderWatch provides researchers with hundreds of thousands of articles on wide-ranging topics like sexuality, religion, societal roles, feminism, masculinity, eating disorders, day care, and the workplace.
All the titles featured in the GenderWatch database offer unique, distinctive voices seldom heard in mainstream media. Sometimes outspoken, always informative, the collection represents multiple viewpoints from a wide variety of publications. From scholarly analysis to popular opinion, GenderWatch encompasses more than three decades of gender studies.
Nexis Uni (LexisNexis Academic)
This is the new platform for LexisNexis Academic. Use it to find newspapers, wire services, broadcast transcripts, company profiles, court cases.
APA PsycINFO (EBSCO)
PsycINFO is an expansive abstracting and indexing database with more than 3 million records devoted to peer-reviewed literature from the 1800s to the present.
Religion & Philosophy Collection
World religions, major denominations, popular and scholarly journals, extensive full text.
Women's Studies International
Women's studies, including sociology, politics.
Accessing Databases from Off-Campus
When accessing databases from off-campus, you will be asked to enter your network ID and password (your UMW email username and password).
If you have difficulties accessing databases, please go to this troubleshooting guide.
Scholarly, Professional, or Popular?
Popular, Professional, or Peer-Reviewed?
This table, authored by staff at the UMW Libraries, lists specific characteristics that distinguish scholarly articles from articles found in popular magazines and professional / trade journals.
Find an article citation and wonder if we have the journal at UMW Libraries?
Sociology of Education is the journal title in the following article citation:
Ready, D. D. (2010). Socioeconomic disadvantage, school attendance, and early cognitive development: The differential effects of school exposure. Sociology of Education, 83(4), 271-286.
Search the UMW Libraries Journal Finder using the journal title, not the article title.
Use Journal Finder to find which library databases include a journal. Journal Finder will also tell you if we have the journal available in print or on microfilm.