Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
A great way to start your research is by reading overviews and summaries of a potential topic. Reference books, like encyclopedias, dictionaries, and handbooks, provide this type of authoritative information in a very condensed format. Reference books will:
- include helpful introductory information
- contain citations to other sources
- list statistics, dates and facts
- provide reviews, biographies and definitions
Use these materials to give you ideas for a topic, write down relevant facts and keywords, and then search Quest or the library databases to locate additional books and articles.
Vaccinology: An Essential Guide by Vaccinology: An Essential Guide outlines in a clear, practical format the entire vaccine development process, from conceptualization and basic immunological principles through to clinical testing and licensing of vaccines. With an outstanding introduction to the history and practice of vaccinology, it also guides the reader through the basic science relating to host immune responses to pathogens. Covering the safety, regulatory, ethical, and economic and geographical issues that drive vaccine development and trials, it also presents vaccine delivery strategies, novel vaccine platforms (including experimental vaccines and pathogens), antigen development and selection, vaccine modelling, and the development of vaccines against emerging pathogens and agents of bioterror. There are also sections devoted to veterinary vaccines and associated regulatory processes. Vaccinology: An Essential Guide is a perfect tool for designed for undergraduate and graduate microbiologists and immunologists, as well as residents, fellows and trainees of infectious disease and vaccinology. It is also suitable for all those involved in designing and conducting clinical vaccine trials, and is the ideal companion to the larger reference book Vaccinology: Principles and Practice.
Publication Date: 2014
Human Viruses: Diseases, Treatments and Vaccines by This book discusses current evidence on human viruses and provides an extensive coverage of newly emerged viruses and current strategies for treatment. Offering a new perspective in view of the re-emergence of Ebola in African countries and Dengue in India and Pakistan, the contents include chapters on emergence, pathogenicity, epidemiology and vaccine uptake. Human Viruses: Diseases, Treatments and Vaccines: The New Insights discusses a range of viruses from the most common such as Influenza and Hepatitis to Zika, Poliomyelitis and Chikungunya among many others. It is authored by a team of experts on viral disease and will be of immense use to virologists, public health experts and clinicians.
Call Number: RA644.V55 H86 2021
Publication Date: 2021
Textbook of Zoonoses by Textbook of Zoonoses Comprehensive resource covering the aetiology, epidemiology and transmission cycle, clinical symptoms, diagnosis, and prevention and control strategies of the important zoonoses. Zoonoses are the diseases which can spread from animals to humans. This book covers all important zoonoses that are prevalent in today's world. As a modern learning resource, it incorporates recent scientific developments and concepts to give readers a complete overview of each zoonoses. Written by three well-qualified authors in academia, sample topics covered within the book include: Bacterial, viral, parasitic, rickettsial, fungal, prion, and foodborne zoonoses Aetiology and epidemiology of each zoonotic disease Clinical symptoms and diagnosis in animals and humans Treatment options, plus prevention and control strategies CDC classification of zoonotic agents and the WHO's list of 'neglected zoonoses' Written for undergraduate and postgraduate students studying veterinary public health and epidemiology, Textbook of Zoonoses is also a helpful resource for other veterinary and medical professionals interested in public health and epidemiology.
Publication Date: 2022-07-05
Molecular Vaccines (Vol. 1) by This book gives a comprehensive overview to all aspects of global molecular vaccine research. It introduces concepts of vaccine immunology and molecular vaccine development for viral, bacterial, parasitic and fungal infections. Furthermore, the broad field of research and development in molecular cancer vaccines is discussed in detail. This book is a must have for scientists and clinicians interested in new developments in molecular vaccine research and application in infections and cancer.
Publication Date: 2016-08-23
Vaccines by This book is designed to provide easy-to-read and basic information about vaccines for those undertaking a vaccine course or for medical providers seeking to improve their skills. Written by expert medical educators in the areas of infectious diseases, medical microbiology, and pediatrics, this book begins by establishing the fundamentals of vaccines such as what constitutes a vaccine, how they are manufactured and composed, how they are tested for safety and efficacy, and how vaccine recommendations are developed and conveyed to health care providers and their patients. The book then explains the composition, safety profile, effectiveness, and current recommendations for use of every available vaccine, alphabetized by infection. The concluding section illuminates practical concerns every vaccinating clinician experiences, including vaccine confidence and hesitancy, misconceptions, and patient communication. Vaccines: A Clinical Overview and Practical Guide is an excellent learning tool for all students and providers administering vaccines to patients, including infectious disease specialists and other internal medicine subspecialists, pediatricians, geriatricians, as well as all other primary care physicians, nurse practitioners, physician's assistants, and nurses.
Publication Date: 2021-11-02
Encyclopedia of Medical Immunology by Volume Immunodeficiency Diseases in Springer's gold-standard reference work on medical immunology focuses on infectious diseases. In tandem with its three counterpart volumes it offers the most wide-ranging and authoritative repository of knowledge on infectious diseases, with readily accessed contributions by the world's leading authorities on the subject. The encyclopedia covers the material from all angles, with more than 1000 pages of essays on the genetics, physiology, metabolism, pathogenesis and applied microbiology of all known infectious diseases, and includes access to an e-reference work that will include ongoing updates reflecting the latest advances in the field. An outstanding new resource of immense value to a wide range of medical researchers and practitioners, the encyclopedia features a user-friendly subdivision of diseases according to their affective locus in the human body. The sections cover integumentary, skeletal, respiratory, digestive, urinary, and reproductive transmissible pathogens. This high-profile encyclopedia will be an essential addition to academic libraries worldwide.
Publication Date: 2016-03-01
Encyclopedia of Human Genetics and Disease by
Call Number: Reference QH431 .K32 2013
Encyclopedia of Microbiology by Available as an exclusive product with a limited print run, Encyclopedia of Microbiology, 3e, is a comprehensive survey of microbiology, edited by world-class researchers. Each article is written by an expert in that specific domain and includes a glossary, list of abbreviations, defining statement, introduction, further reading and cross-references to other related encyclopedia articles. Written at a level suitable for university undergraduates, the breadth and depth of coverage will appeal beyond undergraduates to professionals and academics in related fields.
Call Number: Reference QR9 .E53 2009
Publication Date: 2009
Emerging Biological Threats by An engaging, nontechnical discussion of the infectious diseases and other biological threats that pose the highest risk to humans, presented in the context of relevant environmental and sociological trends. * Dozens of photographs plus illustrated figures convey important concepts and data * 74 case studies demonstrate the real threat of certain biological agents by focusing on true stories * Provides section-by-section reference lists, including peer-reviewed journals, press releases, books, and websites
Publication Date: 2009
Encyclopedia of Pestilence, Pandemics, and Plagues by
Call Number: Reference RA652 .E535 2008
Publication Date: 2008
Human Animal (FSEM)
The Cambridge Encyclopedia of Human Evolution by The Cambridge Encyclopedia of Human Evolution is a wide-ranging introduction to the human species that places modern humans in evolutionary perspective. Over seventy scholars world-wide have worked on the encyclopedia, covering a range of subjects from genetics, primatology and fossil origins to human biology and ecology, brain function and behaviour, demography and disease. Emphasis is placed throughout on the biological diversity of modern people and the increasing convergence of the fossil and genetic evidence for human evolution that has emerged. Due to the need to look at humankind in the context of our closest relatives, the encyclopedia also pays particular attention to the evolution and ecology of other living primates - lemurs, lorises, tarsiers, monkeys and apes. It deals with the evolution and ecology of human society, as reconstructed from archaeological remains, and from studies of tribal peoples and living primates today. It considers the biology of uniquely human abilities such as language and upright walking, and it reviews the biological future of humankind in the face of modern challenges.
Call Number: REF GN281 .C345 1992
Publication Date: 1992-11-26
Encyclopedia of Evolution by Contains more than 200 entries that span modern evolutionary science and the history of its development. This volume aims to clarifies many common misconceptions about evolution. It also explores questions resulting from studies in evolutionary science.
Call Number: REF QH360.2 .R53 2007
Publication Date: 2006
The Routledge Handbook of Evolution and Philosophy by In recent years, the relation between contemporary academic philosophy and evolutionary theory has become ever more active, multifaceted, and productive. The connection is a bustling two-way street. In one direction, philosophers of biology make significant contributions to theoretical discussions about the nature of evolution (such as "What is a species?"; "What is reproductive fitness?"; "Does selection operate primarily on genes?"; and "What is an evolutionary function?"). In the other direction, a broader group of philosophers appeal to Darwinian selection in an attempt to illuminate traditional philosophical puzzles (such as "How could a brain-state have representational content?"; "Are moral judgments justified?"; "Why do we enjoy fiction?"; and "Are humans invariably selfish?"). In grappling with these questions, this interdisciplinary collection includes cutting-edge examples from both directions of traffic. The thirty contributions, written exclusively for this volume, are divided into six sections: The Nature of Selection; Evolution and Information; Human Nature; Evolution and Mind; Evolution and Ethics; and Evolution, Aesthetics, and Art. Many of the contributing philosophers and psychologists are international leaders in their fields.
Publication Date: 2017-09-01
Encyclopedia of Human Evolution and Prehistory by Praise for the first edition: "The most up-to-date and wide-ranging encyclopedia work on human evolution available."--American Reference Books Annual "For student, researcher, and teacher...the most complete source of basic information on the subject."--Nature "A comprehensive and authoritative source, filling a unique niche...essential to academic libraries...important for large public libraries." --Booklist/RBB
Publication Date: 2004-11-23
Science and Its Times by Combining essays on people, theories, discoveries and concepts with overviews, primary documents and chronological elements, this reference offers a way to understand the impact of science on the course of human history and how science affects everyday life.
Call Number: REF Q175.46 .S35 2000
Publication Date: 2000-04-07
The Timetables of History by The new fourth revised edition A vast and absorbing resource, the fourth edition of The Timetables of (tm)History spans millennia of human history. Unlike any other reference volume, this book gives a sweeping overview of the making of the contemporary world by mapping out at a glance what was happening simultaneously, from the dawn of history to the present day. With nearly 100 pages of new material, including: -Recent breakthroughs in science and technology -New achievements in the visual arts and music -Milestones in religion, philosophy, and learning -The rise and fall of nations and the emergence of historical figures -Landmarks in the drama of daily life around the world
Call Number: Reference D11 .G78 2005
Publication Date: 2005
American Decades: 1900 - 2009 by Intended as a reference source for American social history, this volume discusses the people, events and ideas of the period 1900-1909. After an introductory overview and chronology, subject chapters follow with subject-specific timelines and alphabetically arranged entries.
Call Number: Reference E169.12 .A42 1994
Bioethics by Is denying a patient medical care ever justified? Should patents on living organisms be permitted? When does "consciousness" begin in human being? Are there circumstances under which people should be sterilized? Questions such as these and others are the basis of assignments, debate topics, and life and death decisions people face everyday. They are aspects of a broad and dynamic field called Bioethics. Bioethics is the where ethics--right and wrong--intersect with biology, medicine, biotechnology, politics, law, religion and philosophy. It encompasses issues of profound importance to students, faculty and laypersons. Yet balanced, objective information--free from business, political or religious agendas--is hard to come by. The encyclopedia used a basic conceptual framework involving 3 clear steps to explore, understand, and address key issues and questions; these are * Identifying applicable moral principles, ideals, or standards; * Assessing current practice or behavior in light of principles; * And suggesting policies or procedures to bring practice into line with principles. With its initial publication in 1978, Bioethics became the first reference to focus solely on a then burgeoning field, in effect helping to define the discipline. Both the first and second (1995) editions won the Dartmouth Medal, and the set remains the standard reference on bioethics for teachers, students, and those in related fields of health care, philosophy, environmentalism, law, and religious studies. The fourth edition offers hundreds of revisions or addenda to entries from previous editions as well as over 100 new or rewritten entries on topics such as key cases in bioethics, the human biome, genetically modified foods, emergency preparedness and response, social justice, sustainability, chemical warfare and torture, among many others. Revised articles will explain the events as well as legislation changes of the past decade. The work is also being expanded to include views of nations and cultures other than the United States on such issues as abortion, medical triage, social responsibility, access to health care, stem cell research, etc. *In nearly 500 entries averaging 4000 words, key concepts and issues in bioethics are explained. *Many subjects--such as abortion, animal rights, genetic testing--are discussed in terms of various perspectives: religious, ethical, policy/law, etc. *Entries will have bibliographies and cross references to other articles; also included will be tables/charts/graphs, a topical outline, an annotated bibliography, an annotated list of legal cases, an annotated filmography, and an index.
Call Number: Reference QH332 .E52 2014
Publication Date: 2014
A Companion to Bioethics by This second edition of A Companion to Bioethics, fully revised and updated to reflect the current issues and developments in the field, covers all the material that the reader needs to thoroughly grasp the ideas and debates involved in bioethics. Thematically organized around an unparalleled range of issues, including discussion of the moral status of embryos and fetuses, new genetics, life and death, resource allocation, organ donations, AIDS, human and animal experimentation, health care, and teaching Now includes new essays on currently controversial topics such as cloning and genetic enhancement Topics are clearly and compellingly presented by internationally renowned bioethicists A detailed index allows the reader to find terms and topics not listed in the titles of the essays themselves
Publication Date: 2009-10-19
Handbook of Global Bioethics by As the first of its kind, this handbook presents state-of-the-art information and analysis concerning the state of affairs in bioethics innbsp;around 40 countries. The country reports point out the most important discussions as well as the emerging topics in the field. Readers can orientate themselves quicklynbsp;with regard tonbsp;the various relevant issues, institutional structures and expertise available in these countries. The authorship of this reference work is truly global as it involves contributions from the best authors with innate knowledge of the bioethics situation in these countries.
Publication Date: 2013-09-13
The Oxford Handbook of Bioethics by Bonnie Steinbock presents The Oxford Handbook of Bioethics - an authoritative, state-of-the-art guide to current issues in bioethics.Thirty-four contributors reflect the interdisciplinarity that is characteristic of bioethics, and its increasingly international character. Thirty topics are covered in original essays written by some of the world's leading figures in the field, as well as by some newer 'up-and-comers'. The essaysaddress both perennial issues, such as the methodology of bioethics, autonomy, justice, death, and moral status, and newer issues, such as biobanking, stem cell research, cloning, pharmacogenomics, and bioterrorism. Other topics concern mental illness and moral agency, the rule of double effect,justice and the elderly, the definition of death, organ transplantation, feminist approaches to commodification of the body, life extension, advance directives, physician-assisted death, abortion, genetic research, population screening, enhancement, research ethics, and the implications of publicand global health for bioethics.Anyone who wants to know how the central debates in bioethics have developed in recent years, and where the debates are going, will want to consult this book. It will be an invaluable resource not only for scholars and graduate students in bioethics, but also for those in philosophy, medicine, law,theology, social science, public policy, and public health who wish to keep abreast of developments in bioethics.
Publication Date: 2009-04-15
Encyclopedia of Science,Technology and Ethics Should governments and corporations be limited in their electronic monitoring of personal e-mails, library activities, or telephone calls even if it is in the name of national security? Does science have a moral obligation to resist political influence even it is means stalling research? Moral teachings and ethical questions about the creation and use of science and technology have been a part of religious and philosophical traditions from the earliest periods. Science and technology have faced a series of ethical and political challenges throughout much of modern history, from the Enlightenment, through the Industrial Revolution, to the military and ideological conflicts that defined the twentieth century. Today, the challenges are more global in scope and are intensified by terrorists opposed to many dimensions of the scientific and technological world. New fields of ethical reflection -- computer ethics, environmental ethics, communication ethics, genethics - are emerging to deal with the world that science and technology have created. professional ethics of doing science and technology, and the ethical and political issues raised by science and technology in an increasingly complex and global society. This broad coverage supports the numerous courses in applied and professional ethics and policy related to the practice of science and technology in educational. Additionally, it provides a practical introduction to useful knowledge and ideas for both professionals and general readers. The encyclopedia embodies a historically and culturally inclusive approach, with entries on specific religions, linguistic and cultural perspectives, and philosophical positions. This is the first authoritative and comprehensive reference to illuminate the ethical, political, social, and legal issues related to science, engineering, and technology. Transcending disciplinary and cultural boundaries, the encyclopedia focuses on contemporary issues while providing ample historical and philosophical background. world, including terrorism, freedom, democracy, authoritarianism, military ethics, the concept of the just war, building destruction and collapse, and biological and chemical weapons.
Call Number: REF Q175.35 .E53 2005
Publication Date: 2005-07-21
Current Concepts in Forensic Entomology by Forensic Entomology deals with the use of insects and other arthropods in medico legal investigations. We are sure that many people know this or a similar definition, maybe even already read a scientific or popular book dealing with this topic. So, do we really need another book on Forensic Entomology? The answer is 13, 29, 31, 38, and 61. These are not some golden bingo numbers, but an excerpt of the increasing amount of annual publications in the current decade dealing with Forensic Entomology. Comparing them with 89 articles which were published d- ing the 1990s it illustrates the growing interest in this very special intersection of Forensic Science and Entomology and clearly underlines the statement: Yes, we need this book because Forensic Entomology is on the move with so many new things happening every year. One of the most attractive features of Forensic Entomology is that it is multid- ciplinary. There is almost no branch in natural science which cannot find its field of activity here. The chapters included in this book highlight this variety of researches and would like to give the impetus for future work, improving the dev- opment of Forensic Entomology, which is clearly needed by the scientific com- nity. On its way to the courtrooms of the world this discipline needs a sound and serious scientific background to receive the acceptance it deserves.
Call Number: Reference RA1063.45 .C87 2010
Publication Date: 2010-02-04
Encyclopedia of Insects by Awarded Best Reference by the New York Public Library (2004), Outstanding Academic Title by CHOICE (2003), and AAP/PSP 2003 Best Single Volume Reference/Sciences by Association of American Publishers' Professional Scholarly Publishing Division, the first edition of Encyclopedia of Insects was acclaimed as the most comprehensive work devoted to insects. Covering all aspects of insect anatomy, physiology, evolution, behavior, reproduction, ecology, and disease, as well as issues of exploitation, conservation, and management, this book sets the standard in entomology. The second edition of this reference will continue the tradition by providing the most comprehensive, useful, and up-to-date resource for professionals. Expanded sections in forensic entomology, biotechnology and Drosphila, reflect the full update of over 300 topics. Articles contributed by over 260 high profile and internationally recognized entomologists provide definitive facts regarding all insects from ants, beetles, and butterflies to yellow jackets, zoraptera, and zygentoma.
Publication Date: 2009
The Science of Forensic Entomology by The Science of Forensic Entomology builds a foundation of biological and entomological knowledge that equips the student to be able to understand and resolve questions concerning the presence of specific insects at a crime scene, in which the answers require deductive reasoning, seasoned observation, reconstruction and experimentation--features required of all disciplines that have hypothesis testing at its core.nbsp; Each chapter addresses topics that delve into the underlying biological principles and concepts relevant to the insect biology that forms the bases for using insects in matters of legal importance. The book is more than an introduction to forensic entomology as it offers in depth coverage of non-traditional topics, including the biology of maggot masses, temperature tolerances of necrophagous insects; chemical attraction and communication; reproductive strategies of necrophagous flies; archaeoentomology, and use of insects in modern warfare (terrorism). As such it will enable advanced undergraduate and postgraduate students the opportunity to gain a sound knowledge of the principles, concepts and methodologies necessary to use insects and other arthropods in a wide range of legal matters.
Publication Date: 2013-11-25