Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
UMW Libraries
Simpson Library | Special Collections

Biology: Find Articles

What does peer-reviewed mean?

When a scholarly article is submitted to a journal, it goes through a process called peer review.  The editor of the journal will send the article to two or more experts in the field.  They will carefully examine the article, including the research methods used and the conclusions the author draws, and they may return the article to the author for clarification and revision.  Many of the library's databases, including Quest, allow you to limit your search to peer-reviewed articles only.  

Interlibrary Loan

If we don't have the item you are looking for...

Request it via Interlibrary Loan and we will borrow it for you from another institution.
It's free and we do all the work for you!

Google Scholar

If you search using Google Scholar, be sure to change the settings to include full text materials from UMW Libraries.

FSEM Articles (Lamphere)

SciTech Collection

The ProQuest SciTech collection provides access to a wide array of journals, electronic books, and other resources across a number of disciplines.   For a broader search, use the SciTech collection. 

For a more focused search, try one of the subject specific subset databases that are part of the SciTech Collection - Plant Sciences, Medline, or Agricultural &  Environmental Sciences.

Subsets of SciTech Collection

Other Recommended Databases

Databases allow you to search thousands of articles from hundreds of journals simultaneously. These databases contain literature in Biological Sciences as well as related disciplines.