Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
UMW Libraries
Simpson Library | Special Collections

Zotero

Zotero is software that helps you create citations and bibliographies. It's free and easy to use.

Viewing documents

After you've saved an item to your library, you'll probably want to refer back to it later. For most electronic documents, such as articles, webpages, and e-books, you can view the full text by double-clicking the title in your Zotero library.

The Locate button

If double-clicking the title doesn't work, try the Locate button, which gives you a menu of options for automatically locating the full text.

Screenshot of the Locate button in Zotero
The Locate button

 

The Locate button includes an option called "Library Lookup" that automatically searches for an article's full text in your library's electronic databases. To use the Library Lookup feature, you first need to give Zotero the URL to search the UMW Libraries databases. This URL is called a "resolver."

The UMW Libraries resolver is http://umw-primo.hosted.exlibrisgroup.com/openurl/01UMW/01UMW_SP.

 

How to set up the Library Lookup feature:

  1. Open Zotero.
  2. From the Edit menu, choose Preferences.
  3. In the Preferences dialog box, click the Advanced tab.
  4. On the Advanced Preferences page, paste the UMW Libraries resolver into the box labeled "Resolver."
  5. Click "OK" to save your preferences.


Screenshot of the Zotero preferences page, showing the Advanced Preferences tab and the UMW resolver link