Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
APA PsycNET (EBSCO)
Searches PsycINFO, PsycARTICLES, and PsycTESTS simultaneously.
APA PsycINFO (EBSCO)
PsycINFO is an expansive abstracting and indexing database with more than 3 million records devoted to peer-reviewed literature from the 1800s to the present.
APA PsycARTICLES (EBSCO)
PsycARTICLES contains full-text articles from journals published by APA, the Canadian Psychological Association, Hogrefe Publishing Group, and the Educational Publishing Foundation.
APA PsycTESTS (EBSCO)
PsycTESTS is a rich source of structured information about psychological tests and measures reported in scholarly psychological literature, as well as a repository for the content of these test instruments when available.
Psychology & Behavioral Sciences Collection
Emotional and behavioral characteristics, mental processes, observational and experimental methods, psychiatry.
Mental Measurements Yearbook with Tests in Print
Reviews psychological and educational inventories, scales, and other instruments, along with purchasing information; includes all past reviews whether or not test is still available for purchase.
Other Useful Databases
Academic Search Complete
Articles in many disciplines, many from scholarly journals; extensive full text.
Includes Annual Review of Psychology, Annual Review of Clinical Psychology, Annual Review of Developmental Psychology, Annual Review of Neuroscience, Annual Review of Organizational Psychology and Organizational Behavior, and Annual Review of Vision Science.
General Science Full Text
Biology, Medicine, Physiology.
When using Google Scholar off campus, click "Settings," then "Library Links," and enter "University of Mary Washington". Check the checkboxes, and then click "Save." Now you'll get links to full-text articles.
Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition
Scholarly nursing journals, Lexi-PALS Drug Guide, and medical dictionary.
Contains over 20 million citations and abstracts, providing unparalleled access to worldwide biomedical literature. A broad range of medical topics, including psychiatry. Produced by the U.S. National Library of Medicine, MEDLINE contains all records published in Index Medicus and since 2002, most citations previously included in separate NLM specialty databases such as SPACELINE and HISTLINE.
Medline through PubMed
Free online resource.
PubMed® comprises more than 30 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. Citations may include links to full-text content from PubMed Central and publisher web sites.
The APA discontinued PsycCRITIQUES on 12/31/17, but the Center for the History of Psychology at the University of Akron has archived the content and made it publicly available.
Comprises more than 32 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. Citations may include links to full text content from PubMed Central and publisher web sites.
Social Sciences Full Text
Includes psychiatry, psychology, health & medical care, social work.
SocINDEX with Full Text
The world's most comprehensive and highest quality sociology research database. Contains full text for more than 860 sociology journals dating back to 1908.
Scholarly (Peer-Reviewed) or Popular?
Popular, Professional, or Peer-Reviewed?
This table, authored by staff at the UMW Libraries, lists specific characteristics that distinguish scholarly articles from articles found in popular magazines and professional / trade journals.
Find an article citation and wonder if we have the journal at UMW Libraries?
Sociology of Education is the journal title in the following article citation:
Ready, D. D. (2010). Socioeconomic disadvantage, school attendance, and early cognitive development: The differential effects of school exposure. Sociology of Education, 83(4), 271-286.
Search the UMW Libraries Journal Finder using the journal title, not the article title.
Use Journal Finder to find which library databases include a journal. Journal Finder will also tell you if we have the journal available in print or on microfilm.