Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Search Everything with Quest
Quest is the library's discovery tool. It allows you to search across most of the library's databases, electronic resources, as well as the Library's catalog.
Having trouble accessing a database?
Linguistics and Language Behavior Abstracts This link opens in a new window
(1973 to date)
Indexes articles in the language sciences, including the fields of linguistics, phonetics, morphology, semantics, and syntax. Covers more than 1,500 serials, as well as books, book chapters, and dissertations.
MLA International Bibliography with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Covers not only linguistics, but also other language-related topics, such as literary theory or folklore.
Ethnologue: Languages of the World This link opens in a new window
Provides information on more than 7,000 living languages spoken around the world. Browse or search by language name, language family, or country. The Library's standard subscription to Ethnologue does not include access to country digests or premium maps, but contains features not included in the free version (below).
Communication & Mass Media Complete This link opens in a new window
(Coverage varies; mostly 1930s to date)
Provides abstracts of articles (summaries) of nearly 800 journals and includes the full text for more than 450 journals.
Social Sciences Full Text This link opens in a new window
(1983 to date; full text 1995 to date)
Indexes and abstracts more than 625 journals in the fields of psychology, sociology, gender studies, and other disciplinary fields in the social sciences.
SocINDEX with Full Text This link opens in a new window
(1908 to date)
"Offers comprehensive coverage of sociology, encompassing all sub-disciplines and closely related areas of study."
Other Useful Databases
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
(Approximately 1880s to date)
Provides abstracts and full-text articles from more than 10,000 books, scholarly journals, magazines, newspapers, and reference works on a wide variety of topics.
AnthroSource This link opens in a new window
(1888 to date)
Indexes publications of the American Anthropological Association.
Dissertations & Theses Global This link opens in a new window
"Offers full text for most of the dissertations added since 1997 and strong retrospective full text coverage for older graduate works."
Humanities & Social Sciences Index Retrospective This link opens in a new window
Indexes nearly 1,200 periodicals.
Humanities Full Text This link opens in a new window
(Indexing: 1984 to date; select full text: 1995 to date)
Indexes some 600 journals in the humanities.
Humanities International Complete This link opens in a new window
(Coverage varies; approximately 1985 to date)
Provides the full text of hundreds of magazines, journals, books, and other works.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
(Archived publications from the 1800s to the last 1-5 years)
A full-text collection of scholarly journals in a wide variety of disciplines in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences. To focus your search, use the Advanced Search and the "narrow by discipline" and "language" limiters
Project MUSE This link opens in a new window
(Coverage varies; mostly 1995 to date)
Provides online access to more than 400 scholarly journals in the humanities, arts, and social sciences.