Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Education Research Complete
Over 1,200 scholarly and professional journals, magazines; comprehensive coverage of topics, including administration, policy, funding, multilingual education, social issues; extensive full text.
Education Full Text
Over 600 scholarly and professional journals, magazines; comprehensive coverage of topics, including instructional methods, literacy standards, special education; extensive full text.
ERIC (Education Resources Information Center)
This version of ERIC is maintained by the Department of Education. It can be freely accessed by the public; usernames and passwords are not required.
This version of ERIC is available as a database from EBSCO, so it can be searched along with Education Research Complete and Education Full Text.
Teacher Reference Center
280 of the most popular teacher and administrator journals and magazines to assist professional educators.
Other Useful Databases
Nexis Uni (LexisNexis Academic)
This is the new platform for LexisNexis Academic. Use Nexis Uni to find state and federal cases and codes related to education.
It can also be used to find newspapers, wire services, broadcast transcripts, and company profiles.
APA PsycNET (EBSCO)
Developmental and educational psychology, gifted and special education, classroom dynamics, academic learning and achievement, and curriculum. PsycNET, from the American Psychological Association, includes PsycARTICLES, PsycINFO, and PsycTESTS.
Psychology & Behavioral Sciences Collection
Emotional and behavioral characteristics, psychology, psychiatry.
Dissertations & Theses Global
The world's most comprehensive collection of full-text dissertations and theses on a variety of topics, including education
Linguistics and Language Behavior Abstracts
The database covers all aspects of the study of language including phonetics, phonology, morphology, syntax and semantics. Includes descriptive, historical, comparative, theoretical and geographical linguistics.
Academic Search Complete
Articles in many disciplines, many from scholarly journals; extensive full text.
OmniFile Full Text Mega Edition
Full-text articles on a wide variety of topics, including education
Find an article citation and wonder if we have the journal at UMW Libraries?
Sociology of Education is the journal title in the following article citation:
Ready, D. D. (2010). Socioeconomic disadvantage, school attendance, and early cognitive development: The differential effects of school exposure. Sociology of Education, 83(4), 271-286.
Search the UMW Libraries Journal Finder using the journal title, not the article title.
Use Journal Finder to find which library databases include a journal. Journal Finder will also tell you if we have the journal available in print or on microfilm.