Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Anthropology & Social Sciences Databases and Journals
AnthroSource This link opens in a new window
Publications of the American Anthropological Association, including journals (American Anthropologist, American Ethnologist, and Ethos) and Anthropology News.
Wiley Online Library This link opens in a new window
Includes access to more than 1,600 journals and 19,000 e-books covering a broad range of subjects, including anthropology.
Anthropological Index Online This link opens in a new window
Index of articles in the collection of the Anthropology Library of the British Museum.
Social Sciences Full Text This link opens in a new window
Includes scholarly journals covering subjects in the socials sciences, including anthropology.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Includes scholarly journals from a wide range of disciplines, including anthropology.
All issues, from volume 1, issue 1, are provided for every journal, including all previous and related titles. Each journal has a “moving wall,” defined as a time lag between the most current issue published and the content available on JSTOR. Most archival journals have moving walls of between three and five years, but publishers may elect walls anywhere from zero to 10 years.
SocINDEX with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Contains full text for more than 860 sociology journals dating back to 1908.
Annual Review of Anthropology
The Annual Review of Anthropology, in publication since 1972, covers significant developments in the subfields of Anthropology, including archaeology, biological anthropology, linguistics and communicative practices, regional studies and international anthropology, and sociocultural anthropology.
Find an article citation and wonder if we have the journal at UMW Libraries?
Sociology of Education is the journal title in the following article citation:
Ready, D. D. (2010). Socioeconomic disadvantage, school attendance, and early cognitive development: The differential effects of school exposure. Sociology of Education, 83(4), 271-286.
UMW Libraries Journal Search
Search the UMW Libraries Journal Search using the journal title, not the article title.
Use the Journal Search to find which library databases include a journal. The Journal Search will also tell you whether we have the journal available in print or on microfilm.