Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Newspapers in Library Databases
These databases are listed in (approximately) chronological order. Databases containing the oldest content are at the top; databases containing the newest content are at the bottom.
Early American Newspapers, Series 1 (1690-1876) & Series 2 (1758-1900)
(1690 to 1922)
This collection, hosted on the America's Historical Newspapers platform, contains more than 290 significant 18th- and 19th-century newspapers from every region of the United States.
The Virginia Gazette (1736-1780), the South Carolina Gazette (1732-1780), the Pennsylvania Gazette (1728-1800), Godey's Lady's Book (1830-1898), the Liberator (1831-1865), and assorted other publications, including Civil War-era newspapers, 19th-century African American newspapers, and American county histories (to 1900).
American Periodicals Series Online
(1741 to 1900)
Digitized images of more than 1,000 American magazines, journals, and newspapers.
HarpWeek: The Civil War Era and Reconstruction I and II
Full-text access to 21 years of Harper's Weekly, a leading 19th-century illustrated newspaper.
ProQuest Historical Newspapers
Provides full-text and full-image articles for the New York Times, the Washington Post, and the Chicago Tribune. Users can search the newspapers separately or together.
(1960 to date)
Full-text articles from newspapers, magazines, and journals of the ethnic, minority, and native press.
(1970s to today)
Magazines, newspapers, news wires, and reports from around the world.
Nexis Uni (LexisNexis Academic)
(1980s to today)
Full-text articles from newspapers and magazines, and transcripts of television and radio broadcasts.
Newspaper Source Plus
(1990s to today)
Full-text articles from more than 400 U.S. newspapers, especially newspapers from smaller cities and towns. This database also contains television and radio news transcripts.