Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Many newspapers allow users to search their back issues on the web, usually by keyword, phrase, or name (years of indexing coverage varies from paper to paper). Some newspapers permit researchers to obtain the last two or three weeks' worth of articles at no cost, while others charge for every story, no matter how recent. Although users can usually browse and obtain article citations at no cost, most papers charge for each article that is displayed, printed, or downloaded. Each newspaper has its own search engine, so be sure to read the help screens to learn the correct syntax.
Chronicling America: Historic American Newspapers (Library of Congress)
Accesses newspaper pages from 1789-1963. (Coverage varies by publication) This site also provides bibliographic information (name changes, publication runs, etc.) for American newspapers published from 1690 to date.
Free Newspaper Archives in the U.S.
Links to free national and regional newspaper archives from across the country.
*This site is no longer being updated or maintained. This is a link to an archived version of this website from July 2020, and some included links may be broken.*
Google News Archive Search
A collection of archived newspapers from around the world, alphabetically organized by title.
Historical Newspapers and Indexes on the Internet--USA
This "genealogy research guide" includes indexes and collections, organized by state.
Historical U.S. Newspapers Online (Bowling Green State University Libraries)
"A guide to historical U.S. newspapers that are freely available on the Internet."
National Digital Newspaper Program
This partnership between the National Endowment for the Humanities and the Library of Congress is a "long-term effort to develop an Internet-based, searchable database of U.S. newspapers with descriptive information and select digitization of historic pages."
Provides more than 10,000 links to magazines, newspapers, news services, and broadcast resources from around the world.
Online Historical Newspapers
Includes a link to United States Online Historical Newspapers. Note: Many of the titles listed are subscription-based, though links to readily available resources are also included.
U. S. News Archives on the Web
Links to dozens of U.S. newspaper archives are arranged alphabetically by state.
Wikipedia: List of Online Newspaper Archives
A list of worldwide "free and pay wall blocked digital online newspaper archives." Includes United States and Virginia sections.