Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Databases for Research
Academic Search Complete
(approximately 1880s to date)
Provides abstracts and full-text articles from more than 10,000 books, scholarly journals, magazines, newspapers, and reference works on a wide variety of topics.
American Antiquarian Society (AAS) Historical Periodicals Collection
Provides digital access to more than 6,500 American magazines and journals published between 1691 and 1877. (Because all issues of bound volumes were digitized, some periodicals beyond 1877 are included.)
American Periodicals Series Online
(1741 to 1940)
Provides digitized images of more than 1,000 American magazines, journals, and newspapers.
Humanities Full Text
(indexing: 1984 to date; select full text: 1995 to date)
Indexes some 600 journals in the humanities.
(archived publications from the 1800s to the last 1-5 years).
A full-text collection of scholarly journals in a wide variety of disciplines in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences. To focus your search, use the Advanced Search and the "narrow by discipline" and "language" limiters.
OmniFile Full Text Mega Edition
(1982 to date)
A multidisciplinary database that provides the full text from a variety of the company's full-text databases, including Education, General Science, Humanities, Readers' Guide, Social Sciences, and Business. When available, the full text is included from these databases: Applied Science & Technology, Art, Biological & Agricultural Index, Index to Legal Periodicals & Books, and Library Literature & Information Science. Coverage dates: Indexing, 1982+; Abstracting, 1984+; select full text, 1994+ (start dates for full-text coverage vary from journal to journal within a database).
(coverage varies; mostly 1995 to date)
Provides online access to more than 400 scholarly journals in the humanities, arts, and social sciences.
By clicking on "view by subject" and then de-selecting all of the selected databases, users can pick and choose resources or search by broad categories.
ProQuest Historical Newspapers
Provides full-text and full-image articles for the New York Times, the Washington Post, and the Chicago Tribune. Users can search the newspapers separately or together.
Social Sciences Full Text
(1983 to date; full text 1995 to date).
Indexes and abstracts more than 625 journals in the fields of psychology, sociology, gender studies, and other disciplinary fields in the social sciences.
Primary Source Collections Online
- Digital Public Library of America Discover images, texts, sounds from across the USA
- Eyewitness to History
"History through the eyes of those who lived it." Covers the ancient world to the present.
- Finding Primary Sources
Part of the eHistory page at Ohio State University. Includes letters, historical texts, documents, and oral histories.
- G. Robert Vincent Voice Library
Includes recordings of speeches, oral history interviews, performances, and lectures. See especially the gallery for U.S. Presidents.
- Internet Sites with Primary Sources for U.S. History
A massive collection that includes web pages organized by century, state and region, maps, and newspapers.
From Bowling Green State University Libraries