Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Book Reviews in Library Databases
Below is a list of library databases that include book reviews.
Most of these databases are searchable via Quest. It's a good idea to do a Quest search first, and then come back to this page if you want to dig deeper.
Each database covers certain years, listed in parentheses. If your book was published in 1980, for example, you will not find a review in Choice, as its coverage only goes back to 1988.
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
(approx. 1880s to today)
Articles from magazines, journals, and newspapers. On the search results page, limit your results to book reviews by clicking "Book Reviews" (under "Source Types").
American Periodicals Series Online This link opens in a new window
(1741 to 1940)
Digitized images of more than 1,000 American magazines and journals.
Choice Reviews Online This link opens in a new window
(1988 to today)
Short scholarly reviews. Written for librarians to read, but anyone can use them.
Gale Literature This link opens in a new window
(approx. 1800 to today)
Click "Reviews & News" to limit your results to book reviews and other news articles.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
(1800s to the last 1-5 years)
Scholarly journals in a wide variety of disciplines. To locate reviews, use the Advanced Search
, and check the box labeled "Reviews" (under "Item Type").
Nexis Uni (LexisNexis Academic) This link opens in a new window
(approx. 1980s to today)
Articles from newspapers, magazines, and other publications. To limit your search to book reviews, click on "All Nexis Uni." In the left column, click on "News." Under "Article Type," check the box for Reviews. Then, type your search in the search box and press Enter.
Newspaper Source Plus This link opens in a new window
(1990s to today)
Hundreds of newspapers, plus transcripts of TV and radio news.
ProQuest Historical Newspapers This link opens in a new window
Includes the New York Times, the Washington Post, and the Chicago Tribune. (See below for years.)
New York Times: ProQuest Historical Newspapers This link opens in a new window
(1851 to within the last several years)
Washington Post: ProQuest Historical Newspapers This link opens in a new window
(1877 to 2004)
Chicago Tribune: ProQuest Historical Newspapers This link opens in a new window
(1849 to 1998)